Articles tagged "Philadelphia Inquirer"

Happy #BookBday (7/10/18 Edition)

Literary fiction, romance, and humor—this #BookBday has it all!

IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel
A July 2018 Indie Next pick! A bravura debut story collection in the vein of Aziz Ansari and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about love, family, success, and the experience of being brown in America today. “A melancholic pleasure with a sense of humor.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SUICIDE CLUB by Rachel Heng
One of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! In this exceptional, page-turning debut, set in near future New York City—where the pursuit of immortality is all-consuming—Lea must choose between her estranged father and her chance to live forever. “Fans of modern speculative fiction and readers who love stories that warn us to be careful what we wish for will be enthralled by Heng’s highly imaginative debut, which deftly asks, ‘What does it really mean to be alive?’” — Library Journal, starred review

I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
Also available in audio
“Novelist Scottoline and daughter Serritella team up for the eighth in a series of entertaining mother-daughter humor books, combining entries in their ‘Chick Wit’ column for the Philadelphia Inquirer and new material. This summer beach read—which is indeed ‘like a glass of rosé, between two covers’—is sure to cheer readers spanning the generations but will be of particular appeal to mothers and daughters.” — Publishers Weekly

THE SUBWAY GIRLS by Susie Orman Schnall
From the author of THE BALANCE PROJECT comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect. “Schnall nicely shows that women have always wanted to balance family and a career, and that it’s never been easy.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

We heart Lisa Scottoline!

WritersDigest-LisaScottolineArticleIf you’ve been lucky enough to meet her, you know why we love Lisa Scottoline. She’s HILARIOUS, yet incredibly down-to-earth, a super talented writer, and very outspoken about how her books belong to several different genres.

Lisa is the cover story of the October 2014 issue of Writer’s Digest (on stands now)!

She talks about early success with her Rosato & Associates series, yet didn’t want to be known as “the female John Grisham.” That led her to write standalone novels about emotional justice, including LOOK AGAIN, and most recently, KEEP QUIET.

Meanwhile, she’s relaunched her bestselling Rosato series with last fall’s ACCUSED (BETRAYED is the new Rosato book due out November 25) and has written several essay collections with her daughter Francesca Serritella based on their Philadelphia Inquirer columns. Their most recent book, HAVE A NICE GUILT TRIP, was a People Magazine pick.

Lisa also gives great advice to aspiring writers:

“The world is really tough on people who want to be writers, and there’s precious little support for it. You have to nurture this dream. I visualize it as a candle. You’re the person in the movie walking around in the dark scary house, and you have the candle in the little dish, and you have to protect it with your hand. It can blow out very easily. And the world is not going to help you hold the candle. You’ve got to protect the candle.
readmoreremove

css.php