Articles tagged "Patrick Taylor"

October 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases (10/26/18)

Here are our top titles for October 2018:

Bestsellers:

THE DEAD RINGER by M.C. Beaton

THE DICHOTOMY OF LEADERSHIP: Balancing the Challenges of Extreme Ownership to Lead and Win  by Jocko Willink and Leif Babin

THE DREAM DAUGHTER by Diane Chamberlain (October LibraryReads pick!)

THE FLAME: Poems Notebooks Lyrics Drawings by Leonard Cohen

FULL DISCLOSURE by Stormy Daniels

IMPOSSIBLE OWLS: Essays by Brian Phillips

THE RAVENMASTER: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London by Christopher Skaife

readmoreremove

Luck ‘o the Irish Giveaway

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

AnneStPaddyDay16-crop

One librarian will have the luck ‘o the Irish and win this prize pack of titles including:

THE ELOQUENCE OF THE DEAD by Conor Brady (mystery)
IRISH FARMERS by Ciara Ryan (humor/animals/shirtless Irish men)
I NEVER KNEW THAT ABOUT IRELAND by Christopher Winn (travel/trivia)
AN IRISH DOCTOR IN LOVE AND AT SEA by Patrick Taylor (audiobook)

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Irish books) by Thursday, March 31. Make sure to include your library’s mailing address to be placed in the random drawing.*

Good luck! 

UPDATE 4/1: This giveaway is now closed & Becky Greer of Tampa-Hillsborough Public Library in Ruskin FL has the luck ‘o the Irish!

readmoreremove

2015 Audie Awards Finalists

Terrific news: our friends at Macmillan Audio have 22 finalists in the 2015 Audie Awards!

Business/Educational
TALK LIKE TED by Carmine Gallo, read by Carmine Gallo

Classic
THE ODYSSEY by Homer, translated by Robert Fitzgerald, read by Dan Stevens

Fantasy
WORDS OF RADIANCE by Brandon Sanderson, read by Michael Kramer and Kate Reading

History/Biography
ENDURING COURAGE by John F. Ross, read by Edward Herrmann

Inspirational/Faith-Based Fiction
THE CHRISTMAS LIGHT by Donna VanLiere, read by Donna VanLiere

Judges’ Award: Science & Technology
THE COPERNICUS COMPLEX by Caleb Scharf, read by Caleb Scharf

Literary Fiction
THE PATRICK MELROSE NOVELS by Edward St. Aubyn, read by Alex Jennings

Mystery
THE DEAD WILL TELL by Linda Castillo, read by Kathleen McInerney
MALICE by Keigo Higashino, read by Jeff Woodman

Narration by the Author or Authors
A FIGHTING CHANCE by Elizabeth Warren, read by Elizabeth Warren
WHAT I KNOW FOR SURE by Oprah Winfrey, read by Oprah Winfrey

Non-Fiction
BEING MORTAL by Atul Gawande, read by Robert Petkoff
DEEP DOWN DARK by Hector Tobar, read by Henry Leyva

Personal Development
WHAT I KNOW FOR SURE by Oprah Winfrey, read by Oprah Winfrey

Short Stories/Collections
THE ASSASSINATION OF MARGARET THATCHER by Hilary Mantel, read by Jane Carr
THE WILY O’REILLY: Irish Country Stories by Patrick Taylor, read by John Keating

Solo Narration – Male
THE OTHER STORY by Tatiana de Rosnay, read by Simon Vance
RADIANCE OF TOMORROW by Ishmael Beah, read by Dion Graham

Winners will be announced at the Audie Awards Gala in New York City on May 28. See the full list of nominees here.

 

Happy #BookBday (10/14/14 Edition)

What a lovely day for a #BookBday! Today we celebrate:

ON THE EDGE by Edward St. Aubyn
Shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Award and one of Kirkus‘s Most Anticipated Fall Novels, St. Aubyn’s take on one man’s search for enlightenment as a cure to modern malaise is “razor sharp and maniacally clever.” — Publishers Weekly

THE FIRELIGHT GIRLS by Kaya McLaren
The past and present collide as three generations of women and men work to save the summer camp of their youth in this heartwarming novel. “McLaren’s novel presents a sweet, touching view of the evolution of love and friendships. For readers who enjoy Kristin Hannah or Luanne Rice.” — Library Journal
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (2/4/14 Edition)

What a lovely day for a Book Birthday! Today we wish Happy #BookBday to:

THE BOOK OF JONAH by Joshua Max Feldman
Feldman puts a modern spin on his retelling of the ancient tale, whisking his Jonah–a successful Manhattan lawyer–around the globe from Las Vegas to Amsterdam. "Feldman is clever in his use of the Jonah story, and his novel is of the same strange and enigmatic quality as the original." – Kirkus Reviews

MARSHLANDS by Matthew Olshan
In his first novel for adults, Olshan reveals the story of a prisoner who was formerly a doctor in a culture virtually snuffed out under Saddam Hussein. "Although it is easy and appropriate to take this novel as stark commentary on U.S. involvement in Iraq, its most powerful moments explore a much deeper and more abstract ambivalence about tribalism and its allure." – Booklist, starred review

STRANGE BODIES by Marcel Theroux
Theroux's weird and wonderful novel that poses questions about identity, authenticity, and what it means to be truly human has three starred pre-publication reviews, such as this one from Library Journal: “Truly enthralling... Philip K. Dick’s THE TRANSMIGRATION OF TIMOTHY ARCHER meets Stephanie Meyer’s THE HOST in this very highly recommended work.” 

THE WILY O'REILLY by Patrick Taylor
Taylor tells the origin story of Dr. Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly through warm and wryly amusing vignettes as the good doctor tends to the colourful and eccentric residents of Ballybucklebo. "Readers unfamiliar with the good doctor’s personal antics and medical adventures will be delighted to make his acquaintance, and old friends will settle in for a comfortable visit." – Booklist

css.php