Articles tagged "ORNAMENTS OF DEATH"

Happy 3rd Birthday LibraryReads!

libraryreads-logo-square-150x150LibraryReads turns THREE this month! We’re so grateful for your support of the program that we’re giving away 3 super prize packs of Macmillan’s 2016 LibraryReads picks to date!

September 2016
#5 DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton (Minotaur)
#10 THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders (Bloomsbury)

August 2016
#1 A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny (Minotaur)
#8 BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by B.A. Paris (SMP)
#10 DIE LIKE AN EAGLE by Donna Andrews (Minotaur)

July 2016
#4 AMONG THE WICKED by Linda Castillo (Minotaur)
#6 TRULY MADLY GUILTY by Liane Moriarty (Flatiron)
#7 ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker (SMP)

June 2016
#10 WIDOWMAKER by Paul Doiron (Minotaur)

May 2016
#7 REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart (SMP)
#8 CITY OF THE LOST by Kelley Armstrong (Minotaur)

April 2016
#7 EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire (Tor.com)

January 2016
#7 THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth (SMP)
#8 ORNAMENTS OF DEATH by Jane Cleland (Minotaur)

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: LibraryReads 3) by Sunday, Sept. 18. Make sure to include your library’s mailing address to be placed in the random drawing. Read on for the fine print. Good luck!

UPDATE 9/21: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winners:

Lisa Brooks, Ladera Ranch Library, Ladera Ranch CA
Heather Love Beverley
, Cook Park Library, Libertyville IL
Kim Haddox
, Amarillo Public Library, Amarillo TX
readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: November 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Nov16LRcollageDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the November 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due September 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

TO CAPTURE WHAT WE CANNOT KEEP by Beatrice Colin
Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young widow and an engineer who, despite constraints of class and wealth, fall in love. “Hauntingly melancholic in places, Colin’s story moves like wisps of fog through Parisian streets, capturing moments of both gaiety and tragedy. This exquisitely written, shadowy historical novel will appeal to a wide variety of readers, including fans of the Belle Époque.” — Library Journal, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “To Capture What We Cannot Keep.”*

THIS HOUSE IS MINE by Dörte Hansen
A bestseller in Germany, Hansen’s debut novel is about two strong-willed and very different women who have a connection around a special old house: Vera, a refugee who arrived from East Prussia in 1945, and her niece Anne, who shows up at the house 60 years later with her small son. “Hansen makes this story about the process of healing affecting, real, and memorable.” — Publishers Weekly

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

NORMAL by Warren Ellis
In this provocative near-future techno-thriller, a foresight strategist (a.k.a.: people who think about geoengineering and smart cities and ways to evade Our Coming Doom) arrives at Normal Head in the wilds of Oregon to unplug and recover, when a patient goes missing from his locked bedroom, leaving nothing but a pile of insects in his wake. “A crackling, funny, and frightening horror story from a unique voice in genre lit.” — Kirkus Reviews

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE INHERITANCE by Charles Finch
“In the 10th installment of this Victorian-era series, a Member of Parliament–turned–private detective gets the chance to solve a 30-year-old mystery that involves his boyhood friend. Finch impressively raises the stakes of this tale between tea settings, and his character development is top-notch.” — Kirkus Reviews

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

UNDER THE MIDNIGHT SUN by Keigo Higashino
Two starred reviews! From acclaimed international bestseller and LibraryReads author Higashino comes a compelling story of a twenty-year-old murder, two teenagers linked by the crime, and a detective’s obsession to finally uncover the truth. “Edgar-nominated Higashino revisits the dangerous codependence of bonds forged in murder with this complex, elegant psychological thriller. A starkly rendered portrayal of modern Japanese culture that will draw fans of fellow Japanese thriller master Natsuo Kirino’s novels and the haunting Scandinavian tales of Karin Fossum.” — Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

THE THINGS WE KEEP & ORNAMENTS OF DEATH are January 2016 LibraryReads Picks

libraryreads logo squareFANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the January 2016 LibraryReads list!

Coming in at #7 is THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth. Librarians across the country are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.” — Library Journal, starred review


https://twitter.com/MarianLiberryan/status/651495050132762625

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/3/15 Edition)

Follow a super sleuth in each of these mysteries on shelves now:

HARBOUR STREET by Ann Cleeves
Two stars for Cleeves’s latest entry in her D.I. Vera Stanhope series. “The fatal stabbing of 70-year-old Margaret Krukowski on a train car filled with Christmas shoppers propels British author Cleeves’s excellent sixth mystery featuring Northumbrian Det. Insp. Vera Stanhope. You don’t have to be a fan of the TV show Vera, now filming its fifth season, to enjoy this top-notch police procedural.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

TIME OF DEPARTURE by Douglas Schofield
Two starred reviews for this debut mystery with a surprising twist, featuring a young state prosecutor investigating a series of murders dating back to the 1970s, and a mysterious ex cop who knows way too much about her. “Don’t expect to get any sleep if you start this novel tonight.” — Library Journal, starred review

“[An] engrossing debut with a Twilight Zone twist… It’s a tribute to criminal lawyer Schofield’s persuasive powers that his characters, procedural elements, and atmosphere are convincing enough to keep those pages turning without logic getting in the way.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

RIOT MOST UNCOUTH by Daniel Friedman
“Thriller Award–finalist Friedman (DON’T EVER LOOK BACK) succeeds in making his unique blend of humor, crime, and an unusual protagonist work in the first of a new series starring the famous Romantic poet [Lord Byron]. Besides adroitly placing the major plot twists, Friedman manages to make one of the most obnoxious leads in recent memory oddly endearing and even sympathetic.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
readmoreremove

ALA Annual 2015 – Sunday Events

Sunday is usually a day of rest, but not at ALA Annual 2015! Come visit us in the Macmillan (adult) booth #1009 and attend all of our fabulous events today:

Literary Tastes
8:00-10:00am
Moscone Convention Center | West Exhibit Hall, 1st Floor

Listen to some of the year’s best authors, including Ashley Weaver (DEATH WEARS A MASK) discuss their works and the craft of writing at this panel sponsored by RUSA. Light refreshments will be served, followed by a book signing.

YA Author Coffee Klatch
9:00-10:00am
Marriott Marquis San Francisco | Yerba Buena Salon 07
Ticketed event, space is limited

Enjoy coffee and meet with YALSA’s award winning authors, including Stephanie Kuehn (DELICATE MONSTERS)! This informal coffee klatch will give you an opportunity to meet authors who have appeared on one of YALSA’s six annual selected lists or have received one of YALSA’s five literary awards. Librarians will sit at a table and every 3 or 4 minutes, a new author will arrive at your table to talk about their upcoming books!

Tickets are $25. Details and purchasing information available here. readmoreremove

ALA Annual 2015 – Friday Events

Hooray, today’s the first day of ALA Annual 2015! Come to the Macmillan (adult) booth #1009 to say hello and if you’re there at 5:30pm sharp, Jane Cleland and Kelli Stanley will be signing complimentary copies of their newest books, ORNAMENTS OF DEATH and CITY OF GHOSTS, respectively.

Check back for daily digests and keep up with the action on Twitter, hashtag #alaac15!

 

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2015 (Booth #1009)

ALA15-SF header

We’re happy to leave our hearts in San Francisco with you fine librarians next month at ALA Annual! Stop by the Macmillan (adult) booth #1009 and attend all of the fabulous events on our schedule below (RSVP ASAP)!
Friday, June 26

In-booth signing with Jane Cleland & Kelli Stanley
5:30-7:00pm
Moscone Convention Center | Booth #1009

Jane Cleland and Kelli Stanley will be signing complimentary copies of ORNAMENTS OF DEATH and CITY OF GHOSTS.

Saturday, June 27

The AAP’s Book-A-Licious Breakfast
8:30-10:00am
Marriott Marquis San Francisco | Golden Gate B
RSVP required, space is limited

Join bestselling author Brigid Schulte (OVERWHELMED: Work, Love, and Play When No One Has the Time) for breakfast and book-talk.

Details and RSVP here
by June 19.

In-booth signing with Catherine Linka
9:00-10:00am
Moscone Convention Center | Booth #1009

Catherine Linka will be signing complimentary copies of A GIRL UNDONE.


“Zombies, and Vampires, and Spooks — Oh My!” with Catherine Linka and Stephanie Kuehn

10:30-11:30am
Moscone Convention Center | Room 125 (N)

Sponsored by United for Libraries and moderated by Library Journal‘s Barbara Hoffert, this panel includes YA authors Catherine Linka (A GIRL UNDONE) and Stephanie Kuehn (DELICATE MONSTERS).


“Three’s Company: We’ll be Waiting For You”
: The Best in Adult Books from Virginia Stanley, HarperCollins; Talia Sherer, Macmillan; and Chris Vaccari, Sterling

1:30-2:30pm
Moscone Convention Center | Book Buzz Theater (behind aisle 3900, near booth 3931)

Join Talia “the terror” Sherer as she presents her favorite Fall 2015 adult titles from Macmillan alongside the hilarious Virginia Stanley and always-entertaining Chris Vaccari!
readmoreremove

css.php