Articles tagged "Once We Were Brothers"

Thriller Thursday (9/8/16 Edition)

thrillerthurs-9-8-16Happy #ThrillerThursday to series regulars and new mysteries:

THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart
THREE starred reviews! “Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

BECAUSE I’M WATCHING by Christina Dodd
THREE starred reviews! “Dodd continues her flawless pivoting from romance to suspense with the third book in her riveting series set in the small Washington town of Virtue Falls. Scary, sexy, and smartly written, BECAUSE I’M WATCHING is Dodd at the top of her game.” — Booklist, starred review

KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. Balson
A saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to fulfill a promise, return to Poland and find two sisters lost during World War II. “Readers who crave more books like Balson’s ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS and Kristin Hannah’s best-selling THE NIGHTINGALE will be enthralled by KAROLINA’S TWINS.”
Booklist, starred review

STRIPPED BARE by Shannon Baker
Featured in a recent Library Journal mystery spotlight, STRIPPED BARE stars Kate Fox, a female Walt Longmire in Nebraska’s cattle country, who must find the person who shot her cheating husband, the county sheriff. “Baker’s writing evokes the beauty of the Nebraska Sandhills, and her colorful cast of secondary characters adds a depth of charm. Devotees of Craig Johnson’s ‘Walt Longmire’ series and fans of Judy Clemens are sure to appreciate this title.” — Library Journal, starred review & September 2016 Pick of the Month  readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: September 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the September 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
The new standalone novel from the LibraryReads author of LITTLE BLACK LIES!
A criminal defense attorney with a reputation for getting the wrongly convicted exonerated is drawn into the machinations of a serial killer who claims innocence. “Bolton has created a page-turner of a story with a surprise ending.” — Elizabeth Kanouse, Denville Public Library, Denville, NJ on LITTLE BLACK LIES

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Daisy in Chains” and include your library’s mailing address.*

CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein
This debut collection of speculative short fiction for our tech-savvy era is an ABA Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce selection. “[Weinstein’s] stories look like SF but read like literary fiction. Calling all fans of Margaret Atwood and Emily St. John Mandel.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders
Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.” Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Secrets of Wishtide.”*

KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. Balson
A saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to fulfill a promise, return to Poland and find two sisters lost during World War II. “Readers who crave more books like Balsam’s ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS and Kristin Hannah’s best-selling THE NIGHTINGALE will be enthralled by KAROLINA’S TWINS.”
Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart
“Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Hart, in a twist on the classic British county manor mystery, adds her characteristic elegantly crafted atmosphere and keen eye for character and writes with an ease and an assurance that makes it feel like this is her twenty-second book, not just her second.” — Gregg Winsor, Johnson County Public Library, Overland Park KS

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “White Mirror” and include your library’s mailing address.*

MAD ENCHANTMENT: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies by Ross King
A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick with THREE starred reviews! “Best-selling King consummately meshes biography with art history as he turns the creation of one resounding masterpiece into a portal onto the artist’s life. Never before has the full drama and significance of Monet’s magnificent Water Lilies been conveyed with such knowledge and perception, empathy and wonder.” — Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Mad Enchantment.”*
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/17/15 Edition)

Cozy treats and big thrills await you this #ThrillerThursday:

SHANGHAI REDEMPTION by Qiu Xiaolong
THREE stars for the 9th Inspector Chen Cao mystery, where he learns just how difficult it is to be an honest cop in a corrupt police state. “Atmospheric and rich in details about life in communist China, Qiu’s incisive portrait of a corrupt system is brilliant.” — Library Journal, starred review

COME HELL OR HIGHBALL by Maia Chance
Chance’s “flawless” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) first in a 1920s cozy series introduces New York socialite Lola Woodby, a recent high-society widow desperate for cash who winds up as a suspect in more than one murder. “This light and frothy historical by the author of the ‘Fairy Tale Fatal’ series introduces a delightfully sweet protagonist who is nicely paired with the tough-as-nails Berta. Cozy fans who are fond of Alice Duncan, Deborah Woodworth, and Ashley Weaver will want to add Chance’s mystery to their to-read pile.” — Library Journal

DISHING THE DIRT by M.C. Beaton
Agatha Raisin is back for her 26th mystery, and finds that she must prove her own innocence when a local therapist turns up dead. “Fans of traditional English mysteries who appreciate oddball sleuths will be rewarded.” — Publishers Weekly
readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: September 2015 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the September 2015* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2015 deadlines.

BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT by Damon Tweedy
A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz & “Shout ‘n Share” selection!An arresting memoir that personalizes the enduring racial divide in contemporary American medicine. In this unsparingly honest chronicle, Tweedy cohesively illuminates the experiences of black doctors and black patients and reiterates the need for improved understanding of racial differences within global medical communities.” — Kirkus Reviews

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN by Elsa Hart
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! A stunning, lyrical debut mystery in which an exiled librarian traveling through the 18th-century Chinese/Tibetan borderlands must learn the truth about a Jesuit priest’s death before the Emperor arrives.

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! #1 New York Times bestselling author Jenny Lawson (“The Bloggess”) examines her own experience with severe depression and a host of other conditions, and explains how it has led her to live life in the fullest in this hilarious memoir. “Kudos to Lawson for being a flagrant and witty spokesperson for this dark subject matter.” — Kirkus Reviews

Galleys are available at ALA Annual 2015 in San Francisco (Macmillan Adult booth #1009).

THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! In this extraordinary, pulse-pounding debut, Saul Black takes us deep into the mind of a psychopath, and into the troubled heart of the woman determined to stop him.

Download a copdownload review copy edelweissy from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Friday FREE (Sampler) Day!

 

Did you know our friends at St. Martin's Press love librarians? 

It's true. They care about you SO much that they created a sampler featuring excerpts from 20 of their favorite Fall 2013 titles. It's a calorie-free buffet for #librariansonly!

Click here to download your copy.

Monday Fun Day with ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS

Happy Monday friends! We've got a treat for you today–it's a success story. Who doesn't love those?

Once We Were Brothers ad

By day Ronald H. Balson is a trial attorney in Chicago, but by night (or the weekend, or whenever he has time), he writes. His practice took him around the globe and seeing villages in Poland inspired his debut novel, ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS, which he self-published. With virtually no marketing or publicity, it steadily built word-of-mouth acclaim (the average Goodreads rating is 4-1/2 stars) until an eagle-eyed editor at St. Martin's Press snapped it up.

ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS is a heart-wrenching story about two boys, as close as can be without blood relation, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust as they struggle to survive in war-torn Poland. Sixty years later, their lives collide in a quest for redemption. The result is an enthralling tale of love, survival, and triumph of the human spirit, perfect for fans of SARAH'S KEY by Tatiana de Rosnay. 

"This novel is uplifting and moving, intelligently written and featuring historically accurate context and an unusual insight into human character and motivations. Highly recommended for all readers." – Library Journal, starred review

"...readers will be riveted by this novel’s central question: Will justice long delayed be denied?" – Kirkus Reviews

"Many will enjoy this gripping novel for its narrative drive and its emotional storytelling." – Booklist

readmoreremove

css.php