Articles tagged "novel"

New Titles for the NEA Big Read Library

Each year the National Endowment for the Arts gathers new books to add to their NEA Big Read library, which is chock-full of titles sure to inspire fun opportunities and discussions for your community-wide reading programs. Today, the NEA Big Read committee announced six new books that will now be included, and we have three titles that made the list!

BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer

THE PAPERBARK SHOE by Goldie Goldbloom

ADVICE FROM THE LIGHTS by Stephanie (previously Stephen) Burt

readmoreremove

June 2018 Nonfiction

Add these June nonfiction titles to your library’s shelves today:

THE THIRD BANK OF THE RIVER: Power and Survival in the Twenty-First Century Amazon by Chris Feliciano Arnold
A veteran journalist traces the war over the Amazon as activists, locals, and indigenous tribes struggle to save the jungle from the threat of loggers, drug lords, and corrupt politicians. “A saddening, maddening story that draws much-needed attention to crime without punishment in a remote—but not invisible—part of the world.” —Kirkus Reviews

WHAT TRUTH SOUNDS LIKE: Robert F Kennedy, James Baldwin, and Our unfinished Conversation About Race in America by Michael Eric Dyson
Also available in audio
A stunning follow up to TEARS WE CANNOT STOP, WHAT TRUTH SOUNDS LIKE is another timely exploration of America’s tortured racial politics. This book exists at the tense intersection of the conflict between politics and prophecy—of whether we embrace political resolution or moral redemption to fix our fractured racial landscape. “After providing the backstories and historical context of the participants, Dyson offers contemporary examples of public figures who struggle for equality. The result is a moving ode to the potentiality of American social progress.” —Booklist, starred review

WHAT WOULD THE GREAT ECONOMISTS DO?: How Twelve Brilliant Minds Would Solve Today’s Biggest Problems by Linda Yueh
A timely exploration of the life and work of world-changing thinkers—from Adam Smith to John Maynard Keynes—and how their ideas would solve the great economic problems we face today. “Few economics books are able to address major problems, present leading and sometimes conflicting theories, and be accessible to the casual reader. Yueh takes current issues affecting today’s economy and attacks them through the eyes of a dozen leading economists, from the historic to the contemporary, clearly applying their work to modern problems.” —Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Kirkus’s Most Anticipated Books of 2017 Thus Far

Kirkus Reviews shared their Most Anticipated Books of 2017 Thus Far, including these two Macmillan titles:

TEARS WE CANNOT STOP by Michael Eric Dyson
“The provocateur-scholar returns to the pulpit to deliver a hard-hitting sermon on the racial divide, directed specifically to a white congregation. The readership Dyson addresses may not fully be convinced, but it can hardly remain unmoved by his fiery prose.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster
“Auster’s first novel in seven years is nothing if not ambitious: a four-part invention, more than 800 pages, that follows the life (or lives) of Archie Ferguson. With this novel, Auster reminds us that not just life, but also narrative is always conditional, that it only appears inevitable after the fact.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Stars for THE WIVES OF LOS ALAMOS

Remember when we told you about Tarashea Nesbit's THE WIVES OF LOS ALAMOS? You know, the one told in the collective voices of the wives of the men who created the atom bomb (think THE GIRLS OF ATOMIC CITY meets THE ASTRONAUT WIVES' CLUB, only fiction)? Well, it turns out there's even more great news about this incredible debut novel:

Barnes & Noble named it one of their Spring 2014 Discover Great New Writers Selections!

The ABA selected it for their Spring 2014 Indies Introduce program (meaning, they think it's one of the ten best Adult titles of the season)!

It's a March 2014 Indie Next selection!

It's received two starred reviews with more glowing praise to come:

"The author’s writing—by turns touching, confiding, and matter-of-fact—perfectly captures the commonalities of the hive mind while also emphasizing the little things that make each wife dissimilar from the pack. Engrossing, dense, and believable." Publishers Weekly, starred review

"That this novel about the lives of women whose husbands worked at Los Alamos during WWII achieves with no real plot and no real main character is astounding. Through their lives and, eventually, their varied reactions to the dropping of the first atomic bombs on Japan, Nesbit brings alive questions of war and power that dog us to this day." Booklist, starred review

"Recommended both for its important subject matter and for the author’s vivid storytelling.” Library Journal

Keep an eye out for reviews to come in O Magazine, More Magazine, Glamour, the Chicago Tribune, the Boston Globe and many more!  

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: WHERE THE MOON ISN’T

MaxShelf-WhereTheMoonIsnt
"'I'll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother,' Matthew says, 'His name's Simon. I think you'll like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he'll be dead. And he was never the same after that.'"

Where the Moon Isn'tToday's Maximum Shelf features one of our favorite debut novels of the season: WHERE THE MOON ISN'T by Nathan Filer. Recently named a November Indie Next selection, this story about two brothers—one who goes missing and the other who doesn't quite come back—is inspired by the author's experience as a psychiatric nurse.

"Equal parts family drama, mystery, coming-of-age and meditation on mental illness, Nathan Filer's unusual and haunting novel, WHERE THE MOON ISN'T, defies easy categorization. Whereas many genre-bending novels tend to overreach, this one succeeds on every level, most notably with its affecting protagonist. Though unnerving, this unique window into a mental illness that is so often misunderstood and misrepresented is both interesting and enlightening." — Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review and interview with Nathan Filer on Shelf-Awareness.com.

NetGalley logoStart reading now! Email library@macmillanusa.com (subject line: WHERE THE MOON ISN'T) to get pre-approved to download a review copy from NetGalley.


Praise for
WHERE THE MOON ISN'T:

"VERDICT: In this very assured debut, performance poet and mental-health nurse Filer shows that he knows what he's writing about. It should prove catnip to book group participants (especially those who loved Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time) and will appeal to anyone looking for a serious (but not ponderous) story that's impossible to put down." Library Journal, starred review

"A haunting story about how to mourn when the source of your grief will never go away” — Kirkus Reviews

“...deeply affecting and insightful in its account of mental illness." — Booklist


WHERE THE MOON ISN'T
will be available from St. Martin's Press on November 5. 

readmoreremove

Monday Fun Day with ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS

Happy Monday friends! We've got a treat for you today–it's a success story. Who doesn't love those?

Once We Were Brothers ad

By day Ronald H. Balson is a trial attorney in Chicago, but by night (or the weekend, or whenever he has time), he writes. His practice took him around the globe and seeing villages in Poland inspired his debut novel, ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS, which he self-published. With virtually no marketing or publicity, it steadily built word-of-mouth acclaim (the average Goodreads rating is 4-1/2 stars) until an eagle-eyed editor at St. Martin's Press snapped it up.

ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS is a heart-wrenching story about two boys, as close as can be without blood relation, who find themselves on opposite sides of the Holocaust as they struggle to survive in war-torn Poland. Sixty years later, their lives collide in a quest for redemption. The result is an enthralling tale of love, survival, and triumph of the human spirit, perfect for fans of SARAH'S KEY by Tatiana de Rosnay. 

"This novel is uplifting and moving, intelligently written and featuring historically accurate context and an unusual insight into human character and motivations. Highly recommended for all readers." – Library Journal, starred review

"...readers will be riveted by this novel’s central question: Will justice long delayed be denied?" – Kirkus Reviews

"Many will enjoy this gripping novel for its narrative drive and its emotional storytelling." – Booklist

readmoreremove

css.php