Articles tagged "nonfiction"

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019

The trees are green, the sun is warm, and I know I’m getting ready for some good beach reading! Enter, Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019!

Staff Picks
THE REDEMPTION OF TIME: A Three-Body Problem Novel by Baoshu
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers

Fiction
IN WEST MILLS by De’Shawn Charles Winslow
THE ORGANS OF SENSE by Adam Ehrlich Sachs

Mystery/Thriller
THE BURNING CHAMBERS by Kate Mosse
THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh
THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

SF/Fantasy/Horror
MIDDLEGAME by Seanan McGuire

Comics
KING OF KING COURT by Travis Dandro

Nonfiction
DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
MR. KNOW-IT-ALL: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder by John Waters
THE VINYL FRONTIER: The Story of the Voyager Golden Record by Jonathan Scott

What to Wear with Tanisha C. Ford (DRESSED IN DREAMS)

Tanisha C. Ford’s DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion takes you on a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet. Because we love a good fashion/literary crossover, we asked Tanisha to share her favorite fashion-related books and the outfit each one inspired her to wear!


THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas

​Starr, the book’s protagonist loves old school hip hop music and fashion—including her favorite pair of Retro Space Jams XI Air Jordans. Its homage to 80s and 90s hip hop culture makes me think of my favorite rap girl group of the day: Salt-n-Pepa, who made ripped jeans, bamboo earrings, and crisp white sneakers a thing!

Outfit: A pair of ripped fitted jeans; white tank top; funky pair of black peep-toe stiletto booties; doorknocker earrings

readmoreremove

Starred Review Round-Up (4/26/19)

Calling all collection development librarians! These books all received multiple starred reviews!

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair

“The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga

“A sympathetic portrait of Mexican-American feminism (both in mother and daughter) delivered in a poignant, beautifully written way.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Moraga’s captivating and perceptive memoir successfully conveys her belief that ‘we are as much of a place as we are of a people.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Drop-In Alert: TOUCHED BY THE SUN by Carly Simon

Music lovers! Jackie O lovers! Female friendship lovers! FSG will be publishing Carly Simon’s new memoir, TOUCHED BY THE SUN, this Fall, detailing an ordinary friendship between two extraordinary women.

A chance encounter at a summer party on Martha’s Vineyard blossomed into an improbable but enduring friendship. Carly Simon and Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis made an unlikely pair—Carly, a free and artistic spirit still reeling from her recent divorce, searching for meaning, new love, and an anchor; and Jackie, one of the most celebrated, meticulous, unknowable women in American history. Nonetheless, over the next decade their lives merged in inextricable and complex ways, and they forged a connection deeper than either could ever have foreseen. The time they spent together—lingering lunches and creative collaborations, nights out on the town and movie dates—brought a welcome lightness and comfort to their days, but their conversations often veered into more profound territory as they helped each other navigate the shifting waters of life lived, publicly, in the wake of great love and great loss.

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (4/24/19)

A call for female empowerment, the importance of moral journalism, navigation as a foundation of humanity, and an undiscovered lost civilization–welcome to today’s nonfiction round-up!

THE MOMENT OF LIFT: How Empowering Women Changes the World by Melinda Gates

“At a time when beneficial globalization is being threatened by nationalism, and women’s rights are in danger of being rolled back to nineteenth-century norms, Gates offers urgent reminders of why it’s necessary to help women everywhere achieve their full potential.”–Booklist, starred review

MR. STRAIGHT ARROW: The Career of John Hersey, Author of Hiroshima by Jeremy Treglown

“Treglown’s meticulous, richly interpretative reevaluation revitalizes our appreciation for the intensity, volume, variety, daring, and ‘moral imagination’ of Hersey’s work, and for how essential and transformative writing can be when it’s strong, brave, conscientious.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Three Stars for MY PARENTS: AN INTRODUCTION / THIS DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU

Aleksandar Hemon’s two-book-in-one MY PARENTS: AN INTRODUCTION / THIS DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU has received THREE starred reviews!

“Two very different memoirs within the same cover address memory, identity, history, and mortality from different perspectives… An incisive combination of literature that addresses the function of literature and memories that explore the meaning of memory.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Sometimes lively and sensual, sometimes bleakly ruminative, Hemon’s recollections unite his dazzling prose style with a captivating personal narrative.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The dynamics between Hemon’s tribute to his parents…and his episodic coming-of-age memoir enhance the impact of each as his perspective widens, narrows, and widens again, allowing him to trace the ripple effects of traumatic loss and displacement. Here, too, are bracing candor, gruff tenderness, righteous anger, and political astuteness, all conveyed with Hemon’s signature intensity, mordant wit, and creative bite.”–Booklist, starred review

Nonfiction Round-Up (4/17/19)

Conspiracy theories, immigration, and a call to arms–welcome to this week’s nonfiction round-up!

REPUBLIC OF LIES: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power by Anna Merlan

“Quick to condemn racist, anti-Semitic, homophobic, and anti-Muslim bias, the author supports her writing with excellent supporting documentation. An engaging and valuable explication of one of the most confusing and complex topics in today’s society.”–Library Journal

THE DEATH AND LIFE OF AIDA HERNANDEZ: A Border Story by Aaron Bobrow-Strain

Two starred reviews!
Check out more read-alikes from Booklist.

“In this caring and unforgettable borderland saga, Bobrow-Strain reveals the profound personal toll of the immigration crisis.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

AMITY AND PROSPERITY is a Pulitzer Prize Winner!

The 2019 Pulitzer Prize Winners have been announced, and AMITY AND PROSPERITY: One Family and the Fracturing of America by Eliza Griswold takes the win in General Nonfiction!

In AMITY AND PROSPERITY, the prizewinning poet and journalist Eliza Griswold tells the story of the energy boom’s impact on a small town at the edge of Appalachia and one woman’s transformation from a struggling single parent to an unlikely activist.

NYT Notable Book of 2018
NYT Critics’ Top Book of 2018

“An important addition to the emerging genre of works about fracking and its environmental and human costs. This will find large audiences among concerned citizens and warrants the attention of public officials as well as fans of J.D. Vance’s HILLBILLY ELEGY.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Griswold’s empathetic yet analytical account of Haney’s indefatigable role as advocate for justice is a thorough and thoroughly blood-pressure-raising account of the greed and fraud embedded in the environmentally ruinous natural-gas industry. As honest and unvarnished an account of the human cost of corporate corruption as one will find.”–Booklist, starred review

Starred Review Round-Up

A historical mystery, a magical re-imagining, and an exploration of domestic violence all received 2 starred reviews!

DEATH OF A NEW AMERICAN by Mariah Fredericks (author of Library Journal Best Book of the Year and Edgar Award nominee, A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE)

“With an astute amateur sleuth whose evaluation of the roles and positions of women is a crucial element, and a topical story line that emphasizes the immigrant experience and women’s lives, this title comes highly recommended“–Library Journal, starred review, Pick of the Month

Fredericks has a sharp eye for the complexities of human nature and how even good people are capable of committing terrible deeds to protect the ones they love. This is a touching portrait of early-20th-century New York in all its glory and ugliness.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (4/10/19)

Today’s nonfiction round-up uncovers the fast-paced world of high-end catering and argues for big business!

HOTBOX: Inside Catering, the Food World’s Riskiest Business by Matt and Ted Lee

Check out the New York Times profile on brothers + authors Matt and Ted.

“Veteran cookbook authors Matt and Lee take a behind-the-scenes look at the stressful world of high-end catering… The personalities involved, as well as the sumptuous foods described, are presented in delicious detail… The authors do a great job at taking readers behind the scenes of a hectic profession many might take for granted.”–Library Journal

BIG BUSINESS: A Love Letter to an American Anti-Hero by Tyler Cowen

“Cowen writes conversationally, making for relatively fast reading about these timely and complex economic issues ranging from globalization, social media, and national politics. Readers seeking information about the relationship between the government and businesses and the role of free enterprise in labor economics and in politics will find many insights in Cowen’s arguments.”–Booklist

css.php