Articles tagged "nonfiction"

Nonfiction Round-Up (1/16/19)

Aging doesn’t have to be scary! Today’s Nonfiction Round-Up is here to help guide your patrons through the process:

DOWNHILL FROM HERE: Retirement Insecurity in the Age of Inequality by Katherine S. Newman
A sharp examination of the looming financial catastrophe of retirement in America. “Strongly recommended for policymakers, business and nonprofit leaders, and general readers concerned (and who isn’t?) about their retirement.”–Library Journal, starred review

WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age by Mary Pipher
Two starred reviews!
From the New York Times bestselling author of REVIVING OPHELIA, a guide to wisdom, authenticity, and bliss for women as they age. “While a must-read for its target audience of women moving into old age, Pipher’s engaging book is an ought-to-read for their daughters and sons as well, as it sets forth the universal message that ‘happiness is a choice and a set of skills.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

SUPER MEGA Stars On Stars On Stars On Stars (1/11/19)

Forecast calls for a meteor shower! Make room on your shelves for our many STARS.

Fiction:

THE NOWHERE CHILD by Christian White
“White’s tightly woven debut thriller has already won the Victorian Premier Literary Award in Australia; its arrival Stateside comes highly recommended.”–Library Journal, starred review

“The impatient may be tempted to skip ahead, but they shouldn’t. Thriller fans will want to savor every crumb of evidence and catch every clue. White is definitely a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi
[T]he writing (exquisite) and the observations (cuttingly accurate) make Choi’s latest both wrenching and one-of-a-kind. Never sentimental; always thrillingly alive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Fiercely intelligent, impeccably written, and observed with searing insight, this novel is destined to be a classic.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (1/9/19)

Life-saving dogs, easy recipes, historical conspiracies, influential queens, labor uprisings, and the roots of the American criminal justice system–check out today’s nonfiction picks!

HERO DOGS: How a Pack of Rescues, Rejects, and Strays Became America’s Greatest Disaster-Search Partners by Wilma Melville with Paul Lobo
The incredible memoir of how Wilma Melville turned a band of shelter dogs into one of America’s foremost disaster-response assets in catastrophes from 9/11 to Katrina. “It makes for a harrowing, often heartbreaking, yet inspirational tale as Melville eloquently explores the small victories and wrenching losses of the dogs’ much-needed work.”–Publishers Weekly

5 INGREDIENTS: Quick & Easy Food by Jamie Oliver
Maximum flavor with minimum fuss, lots of nutritious options, and loads of epic inspiration from one of the bestselling cookbook authors of all time.

readmoreremove

Adult Books for Teens

Booklist and School Library Journal have deemed these adult books to be great for teens . . . and we agree!

SHE WAS THE QUIET ONE by Michele Campbell
Also available in audio
When twin sisters Rose and Bel Enright enroll in The Odell School, a prestigious New Hampshire boarding school, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. But the sisters could not be more different. The school brings out a rivalry between them that few ever knew existed. And the school itself has a dark underbelly: of privileged kids running unchecked and uninhibited; of rituals and traditions that are more sinister than they seem; of wealth and entitlement that can only lead to disaster.

“Teens who love to read about intrigue at boarding school will like this, too.”
Booklist, YA Interest

“This fast-paced tale will be great for teens who enjoy dark mysteries.” —School Library Journal

WOMAN WORLD by Aminder Dhaliwal
When a birth defect wipes out the planet’s entire population of men, Woman World rises out of society’s ashes. Dhaliwal’s infectiously funny Instagram comic follows the rebuilding process, tracking a group of women who have rallied together under the flag of “Beyonce’s Thighs.” For the most part, Woman World’s residents are focused on their struggles with unrequited love and anxiety, not to mention that whole “survival of humanity” thing.

“The focus on relationships and the lighthearted humor will be a big draw for teens.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

December 2018 Bestsellers and Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for December 2018:

Bestsellers
THE DIVERSITY DELUSION: How Race and Gender Pandering Corrupt the University and Undermine Our Culture by Heather Mac Donald 
THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah 
KILLING THE SS: The Hunt for the Worst War Criminals in History by Bill O’Reilly 
KINGDOM OF THE BLIND: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny 
THE MAMBA MENTALITY: How I Play by Kobe Bryant 
MILKMAN by Anna Burns 
NINE PERFECT STRANGERS by Liane Moriarty 
OF BLOOD AND BONE: Chronicles of The One, Book 2 by Nora Roberts 

Recent Releases
THE END OF THE END OF THE EARTH: Essays by Jonathan Franzen 
HEARTS OF THE MISSING: A Mystery by Carol Potenza 
RADIANT SHIMMERING LIGHT by Sarah Selecky 

2019 PEN America Literary Award Longlist

The 2019 PEN Literary Awards longlist includes 14 Macmillan titles! WOO HOO!

PEN/ROBERT W. BINGHAM PRIZE FOR DEBUT FICTION
A LUCKY MAN: Stories by Jamel Brinkley 
HALF GODS by Akil Kumarasamy 

PEN OPEN BOOK AWARD
BROTHER by David Chariandy 
EYE LEVEL: Poems by Jenny Xie 

PEN TRANSLATION PRIZE
NEVADA DAYS by Bernardo Atxaga 
CODEX 1962: A Trilogy by Sjón 

PEN AWARD FOR POETRY IN TRANSLATION
ASYMMETRY: Poems by Adam Zagajewski 

PEN/DIAMONSTEIN-SPIELVOGEL AWARD FOR THE ART OF THE ESSAY
WE CAN’T BREATHE: On Black Lives, White Lies, and the Art of Survival by Jabari Asim 
IMPOSSIBLE OWLS: Essays by Brian Phillips 

PEN/BOGRAD WELD PRIZE FOR BIOGRAPHY
INVISIBLE: The Forgotten Story of the Black Woman Lawyer Who Took Down America’s Most Powerful Mobster by Stephen L. Carter 

PEN/JOHN KENNETH GALBRAITH AWARD FOR NONFICTION
ONE PERSON, NO VOTE: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy by Carol Anderson 
THE FIELD OF BLOOD: Violence in Congress and the Road to Civil War by Joanne B. Freeman 
AMITY AND PROSPERITY: One Family and the Fracturing of America by Eliza Griswold 

PEN/ESPN AWARD FOR LITERARY SPORTS WRITING
THE CIRCUIT: A Tennis Odyssey by Rowan Ricardo Phillips 

True Crime = Book Candy for Readers

Back in November, Publishers Weekly expounded on the popularity of true crime and highlighted their favorite titles in the genre. Here are their Macmillan picks:

STAY SEXY AND DON’T GET MURDERED: The Definitive How-To Guide by Karen Kilgariff and Georgia Hardstark 
The highly anticipated dual memoir by the beloved hosts of the #1 hit podcast My Favorite Murder as they delve into their own pasts, true crime stories, and beyond to discuss meaningful cultural and societal issues with fierce empathy and unapologetic frankness.

THE LAZARUS FILES: A Cold Case Investigation by Matthew McGough 
A deeply-reported, riveting account of a cold case murder in Los Angeles, unsolved until DNA evidence implicated a shocking suspect – a female detective within the LAPD’s own ranks.

AN UNEXPLAINED DEATH: The True Story of a Body at the Belvedere by Mikita Brottman 
An obsessive investigation into a mysterious death at the Belvedere–a once-grand hotel–and a poignant, gripping meditation on suicide and voyeurism. “In addition to the crime element, Brottman adds an alluring layer to the narrative by interrogating her own preoccupation with death and suicide. The result is a page-turning look at the darker impulses of the human psyche.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Looking for further true crime reading? Check out Mikita Brottman’s true crime favorites.

Booklist’s 2018 Editors’ Choice Picks

Booklist has revealed their editors’ top picks of the year’s outstanding books for public library collections, including 3 Macmillan titles:

IN EXTREMIS: The Life and Death of the War Correspondent Marie Colvin by Lindsey Hilsum 
Four starred reviews! 
Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 
The inspiring and devastating biography of Marie Colvin, the foremost war reporter of her generation, who was killed in Syria in 2012.

THE SUN DOES SHINE: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row by Anthony Ray Hinton 
Three starred reviews! 
Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 
A Chicago Public Library Best of 2018 
A powerful, revealing story of hope, love, justice, and the power of reading by a man who spent thirty years on death row for a crime he didn’t commit.

THE GIFT OF OUR WOUNDS: A Sikh and a Former White Supremacist Find Forgiveness After Hate by Arno Michaelis and Pardeep Singh Kaleka 
The powerful story of a friendship between two men–one Sikh and one skinhead–that resulted in an outpouring of love and a mission to fight against hate. “[B]oth Kaleka’s chronicling of the day of the shooting and Michaelis’ frank recounting of his former attitudes and acts make for heartbreaking reading, but their work together is inspiring and gives readers hope that the next generation can do much to heal America’s great divide.”–Booklist, starred review

#BookBday (12/11/18)

Location, location, location–from Cold War Cuba to frenzied modern London, join us on an international tour for today’s #pubday celebration.

THIS IS CUBA: An American Journalist Under Castro’s Shadow by David Ariosto 
An exploration of Cuba’s Cold War mindset and a people in the throes of transition, with tales of run-ins with spies, secret backrooms, and empty grocery shelves. “Ariosto’s insights are plentiful, and amid erratically evolving Cuba-U.S. relations, such personal perspectives…provide the best portals to mutual understanding.”Booklist

IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY by Guy Gunaratne 
A crackling debut novel–a snapshot of London’s diverse, frenzied corners–that was inspired by the real-life murder of a British Army soldier by religious fanatics and the rampant burning of mosques that ensued. “Gunaratne’s polyvocal tale, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, etches a rich picture of contemporary London and the recurring, historically rooted racial tensions that dominate it.”Booklist

css.php