Articles tagged "Nick Hornby"

Happy #BookBday (5/1/18 Edition)

Look at these outstanding new releases, perfect for every patron:

MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
A May 2018 Indie Next pick and one of PW’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks with two starred reviews! “The subject of the new novel from Heti is neither birth nor child-rearing, but the question of whether to want a child, which the unnamed narrator calls ‘the greatest secret I keep from myself’…. This lively, exhilaratingly smart, and deliberately, appropriately frustrating affair asks difficult questions about women’s responsibilities and desires, and society’s expectations.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE: Earthsinger Chronicles, Book One by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick with two starred reviews! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “This debut…shines a bright light into epic fantasy. Battle-scarred lands and peoples, ancient powers at war, star-crossed loves and hints of racial and refugee themes give this a solid place on library shelves.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (9/6/16 Edition)

It’s official — we’re in big book season! Happy #BookBday to:

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016 & Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall with THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE STORY OF A BRIEF MARRIAGE by Anuk Arudpragasam
One of Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall! A magnificent and unflinching debut novel set over the course of one day near the end of the Sri Lankan Civil War, as a newly-married couple explores the possibility of intimacy in a place of profound trauma. “Dinesh finds beauty in the worst of situations, which contributes to making this debut deeply moving and hopeful.”
Publishers Weekly

A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS by Keith Stuart
In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft. “Stuart writes with powerful, plainspoken emotion, beautifully illuminating not only the challenges that come with an autistic child, but also the unexpected moments of grace. This is a luminous portrait of the world and the relationship that a father and son build together.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

css.php