Articles tagged "Nicholas Sparks"

For Your Consideration: June 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the June 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due April 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

KNIFE CREEK by Paul Doiron
In this new edge-of-your-seat thriller from Edgar finalist and LibraryReads author Paul Doiron, Mike Bowditch delves into a long buried investigation to uncover a dangerous secret. “Mike Bowditch back stirring things up in KNIFE CREEK. @pauldoiron writes one of the best mystery series around.” — Janet Lockhart, Collection Development Librarian, Wake County Public Library, Raleigh NC

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
The second book in the Wayward Children series, following the April 2016 LibraryReads pick, EVERY HEART A DOORWAY! This standalone dark novel suitable for adult and young adult readers of urban fantasy explores what happened to Jack and Jill before they tumbled into Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. Thrust into a world of monsters and mad scientists, the twin girls find something they thought they’d never experience: choice. “McGuire’s exquisitely written fairy tale is about the choices that can alter the course of a life forever, lost innocence, and what it is to love and be loved.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE FORTUNE TELLER by Gwendolyn Womack
From the award-winning author of THE MEMORY PAINTER comes a sweeping and suspenseful tale of fate and fortune about an antiquities appraiser at a Manhattan auction house who discovers a manuscript written in the time of Cleopatra, that references a priceless tarot deck and a two-thousand-year-old secret. “THE FORTUNE TELLER by Womack filled with brave women, books, libraries, and mystical qualities, easy rec for librarians and readers!” — Andrienne Cruz, Adult Services Librarian, Azusa City Library, Azusa CA

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Happy Belated #BookBday (1/20/16)

We’re a day late to wish these new releases happy #BookBday, but it’s only to keep the party going!

THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth
A January 2016 LibraryReads pick and a February 2016 Indie Next pick! Librarians across the country are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.” — Library Journal, starred review

WHAT BELONGS TO YOU by Garth Greenwell
A Kirkus Reviews’ Most Anticipated Book of 2016! Two stars for this literary debut about an American expat living in Bulgaria and the young gay hustler his life intersects with. “This is a project of rare discernment and beauty, and it is not to be missed. A luminous, searing exploration of desire, alienation, and the powerful tattoo of the past.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
readmoreremove

THE THINGS WE KEEP & ORNAMENTS OF DEATH are January 2016 LibraryReads Picks

libraryreads logo squareFANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the January 2016 LibraryReads list!

Coming in at #7 is THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth. Librarians across the country are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.” — Library Journal, starred review


https://twitter.com/MarianLiberryan/status/651495050132762625

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: December 2015 AND January 2016 LibraryReads Titles

The 2015 Favorite of Favorites voting is happening now, but it’s never too early to download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the combined December 2015/January 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due November 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth
Librarians are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Reading this gave me the same feeling as when I first read Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK.” — Robin Beerbower, EarlyWord
“Loved THE THINGS WE KEEP about early onset dementia… Realistically imagined.” — Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington NJ

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss or request a print galley

ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
Two starred reviews! Evan Smoak, a.k.a The Nowhere Man, is a legendary figure with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. But now, someone with similar skills and training is on Evan’s tail with one mission: find and eliminate him. “Knowing that this is the start of a series reduces tension only a sliver in this hi-tech, nonstop thriller. Hurwitz, known for this kind of adrenaline-producing fiction, adds enough humanity to the action to make this is a standout, and readers should get in at the start. As if a big print run and marketing plans weren’t enough, screen rights have already been sold, with Hurwitz doing the screenplay and Bradley Cooper as producer and possible star.” — Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss or request a print galley

ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders
From the editor in chief of io9.com, a stunning novel about the end of the world—and the beginning of our future. “Clever and wonderfully weird… Fans of genre fiction will be delighted by Patricia and Laurence’s story, and Anders’s smart, matter-of-fact prose will appeal to a mainstream audience as well.” — Publishers Weekly

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

RIOT MOST UNCOUTH
by Daniel Friedman

Thriller Award–finalist Friedman (DON’T EVER LOOK BACK) succeeds in making his unique blend of humor, crime, and an unusual protagonist work in the first of a new series starring the famous Romantic poet [Lord Byron]. Besides adroitly placing the major plot twists, Friedman manages to make one of the most obnoxious leads in recent memory oddly endearing and even sympathetic.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss readmoreremove

THE THINGS WE KEEP Giveaway

D Things We Keep 2*Sniffle, honk* Excuse us while we wipe away the ugly-cry mess on our faces after reading THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth.

We love—and I mean, LOVE—this book. Even Baby Daniel loves this book (mostly how it tastes). We’ll let EarlyWord’s Robin Beerbower tell you why:

“If you…have leftover tissues, put them to good use by reading Sally Hepworth’s THE THINGS WE KEEP. Marika Zemke from Commerce Township Public Library stayed up all night to finish this moving story of a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. Marika said ‘What follows is a story about all types of love…romantic love, mother/daughter love, compassionate love and more.’ I’ll add reading this gave me the same feeling as when I first read Nicholas Sparks’ THE NOTEBOOK.

We want you to love THE THINGS WE KEEP, too, so we’re giving away ARCs to adult librarians currently employed in the U.S.!*

To request a copy, please email library@macmillanusa.com from your library-issued email account with the subject line “The Things We Keep” and make sure to include your library’s mailing address.

Now grab those tissues and get reading! Remember, if you love it, it’s never too early to nominate it for LibraryReads!
readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: October LibraryReads titles

Download, read, and nominate our favorite titles now for the October 2014* LibraryReads list!
*Nominations are due September 1

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
Pulitzer Prize-winning author “Robinson has created a tour de force” (Booklist, starred review) with the final volume in her Gilead trilogy, LILA. It’s already received two starred reviews and has a major media line-up.

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

FULL MEASURE by T. Jefferson Parker
Parker, a three-time Edgar Award winner, delivers an exceptional, insightful, and contemporary stand-alone literary novel. Fans of the author’s crime novels and Tim O’Brien’s war novels will enjoy this story, which highlights the impact of war on a community. In addition, Steinbeck fans will appreciate the description of the setting and intricate plot.” Library Journal, starred review

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
We love this Golden Age–style debut from librarian Weaver featuring a spunky heiress, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday at an exquisite seaside resort, and a MURDER. Bryant Library’s Janet Schneider loved it too: “Great beach reading. Sort of a Dorothy L Sayers/Downton Abbey combo.”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS by Keith Donohue
If you were at Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog you heard Picador’s publisher Stephen Morrison talk about this creepy horror novel about a young boy whose drawings of monsters take on a life of their own. Dominique Jenkins of Penguin Library Marketing is OBSESSED: “Have you guys read THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS? Holy WOW!”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

THE SILENT SISTER by Diane Chamberlain
A longtime best-selling author who got even wider attention with last year’s NECESSARY LIES, Chamberlain returns with the story of a sister’s shocking discovery. Riley McPherson had always been told that her sister committed suicide, but when she cleans out her deceased father’s house, she discovers that Lisa is alive and hiding under an assumed identity. What dark events led to Riley’s having ‘a silent sister’?” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

readmoreremove

css.php