Articles tagged "Neil Gaiman"

Teen Talk Tuesday (2/21/17 Edition)

It’s time for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya, starting now/4pm EST)! Before you tell us about your must-read YA books, we’ve got some news & resources for you:

Stephanie Garber’s CARAVAL is the #1 pick on the Spring 2017 Kids’ Indie Next List! Also on the list? A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi. School Library Journal also gave a sneak peek at their must-read titles for Spring 2017, including three of our books.

There’s still time to sign up for the following events:
Booklist‘s Spring 2017 YA Announcements webinar on Tuesday, February 28
AAP Children’s & YA Tri-State Book Buzz 
on Wednesday, March 1 in NYC
School Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog on Wednesday, May 31 in NYC
If you can’t attend any of those events, it’s OK—we’ll post the titles we discussed on the blog after they happen.

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18
Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

NEIL GAIMAN’S MR. HERO COMPLETE COMICS VOL. 2 by James Vance, illustrated by Ted Slampyak
Also available in trade paperback. The Mr. Hero saga concludes as Jennifer Hale finally uncovers the mysterious past of the Newmatic Man! readmoreremove

Happy Halloween 2016!

halloween2016-editHappy Halloween! Talia “Terror Cat” Sherer and “Anna Banana” share their spooky reads to celebrate the day:

THE MOTION OF PUPPETS by Keith Donohue
An October 2016 LibraryReads pick! This new horror novel from the bestselling author of the LibraryReads pick THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS (which has been optioned for film) is a chilling tale of romance and enchantment set in a Québec toy shop, patterned after the Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice. “Intricately plotted, absorbing, and suspenseful, this is a moving, modern story set in what feels like a fairy-tale world but is actually terrifyingly realistic.” — Booklist, starred review

SHIRLEY JACKSON’S “THE LOTTERY”: The Authorized Graphic Adaptation by Miles Hyman
Available simultaneously in trade paperback
Two starred reviews! Published in time for Jackson’s centennial, this graphic adaptation masterfully reimagines her iconic story with a striking visual narrative created by her grandson, Miles Hyman. “A stunning graphic adaptation of a chilling classic.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE FAMILY PLOT by Cherie Priest
“In Priest’s gothic haunted-house story, workers at failing architectural salvage company are given a once-in-a-lifetime chance to reverse their fortunes, if they can survive the ghosts plaguing the property. Priest spices up a standard haunting with an irresistible premise focused on the “hidden treasure” aspect of salvage work. Highly recommended for fans of contemporary ghost stories.” — Booklist, starred review

THE GRAVEYARD APARTMENT by Mariko Koike
A terrifying tale of a young family who moves into an apartment building next to a graveyard, and the horrors that are unleashed upon them. “The haunting itself is well done and scary. The atmosphere and anticipation build perfectly to create an apartment building one would be quite hesitant to live in. Fans of classic ghost stories, such as THE HAUNTING OF HILL HOUSE, will appreciate the subtle chills.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (8/30/16 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to an old favorite and a new talent:

A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny
The #1 August 2016 LibraryReads pick (read Barbara Hoffert’s Library Journal interview with Penny), a September 2016 Indie Next pick, a BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick, and FOUR STARRED REVIEWS! “The lyrical 12th entry in bestseller Penny’s remarkable series, which has won multiple Agatha awards, finds former Chief Insp. Armand Gamache coming out of retirement to clean up the corrupt Süreté Academy du Québec. This complex novel deals with universal themes of compassion, weakness in the face of temptation, forgiveness, and the danger of falling into despair and cynicism over apparently insurmountable evils.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

CURIODDITY by Paul Jenkins
New York Times bestselling graphic novel and video game writer Paul Jenkins debuts with a novel that’s a cross between Neil Gaiman’s NEVERWHERE and Robin Sloan’s MR. PENUBRA’S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE. “Fast pacing, clever writing, and total commitment to absurdity make for an entertaining read.” — Booklist

Teen Talk Tuesday (6/21/16 Edition)

Hey hey YA Librarians! We can’t wait to chat with y’all later today during Early Word YA Galley Chat (starts at 5pm EST, hashtag: #ewgcya) about this month’s new teen and YA-OK adult titles.
Also, did you see Entertainment Weekly‘s exclusive cover reveal & excerpt for Roshani Chokshi’s new book, A CROWN OF WISHES?! #swoon

AMERICAN GIRLS by Allison Umminger
THREE STARRED REVIEWS & a Booklist Read ‘n Rave selection! “Setting her tale against the glittery, gritty backdrop of modern-day Los Angeles, the author deftly weaves together multiple story strands to create a razor-sharp commentary on our culture, observed with keen wit from the perspective of one honest and complex American girl. An insightful, original take on the coming-of-age story, this novel plumbs the depths of American culture to arrive at a poignant emotional truth.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

YOU KNOW ME WELL by Nina LaCour & David Levithan
A powerfully moving story about navigating the joys and heartaches of first love, told in alternating viewpoints through a friendship forged over the course of one fateful pride week in San Francisco. “Popular authors LaCour and Levithan tell their heartfelt story seamlessly in chapters that alternate between Mark’s and Kate’s respective points of view and invite readers’ emotional engagement with these two empathetic teens.” — Booklist

738 DAYS by Stacey Kade
A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick! A young, washed up Hollywood star and a former kidnapping victim form an alliance to revamp his image, but their simple arrangement becomes more complicated when the past resurfaces. “Skillfully weaving Chase’s troubled history into the story, Kade drops just the right amount of humor into the mix of regret, shame, determination, and love.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

LAST NIGHT A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives by Liesa Mignogna
A “Good Morning America” Summer 2016 Must-Read BookAn anthology of essays exploring the origins of bestselling and award-winning authors’ relationships to their favorite superheroes. “This is a collection with a lot of heart and variety; each piece takes the premise in a different direction and unveils in compelling ways why these superheroes are so revered. Soul-searching teens will find these essays ruminating on familiar cultural touchstones particularly illuminating.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Roundup

These new & forthcoming science fiction & fantasy titles will transport you to another world:

SPELLS OF BLOOD AND KIN by Claire Humphrey
“Human warmth underlies this exciting and furiously paced fable of fur, fangs, and family. Emphasizing intricate family dynamics alongside shape-changing and magic, Humphrey’s debut merges victim and victimizer, reality and the occult. This paranormal tale stands out even in its very crowded field.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE BIG SHEEP by Robert Kroese
Sherlock meets Blade Runner in this novel that explores society’s fascination with celebrity in a futuristic dystopic LA, with a genetically modified sheep in the center of it all. “Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Douglas Adams’s ‘Dirk Gently’ novels will find things to love in Kroese’s latest.” — Library Journal, starred review

TIME SIEGE by Wesley Chu
“In this engrossing sequel to TIME SALVAGER, Chu continues a futuristic saga that pits fugitive time traveler James Griffin-Mars and his allies, who seek to rescue a ravaged Earth from utter destruction, against Valta, the megacorporation that rules the galaxies. The story’s intricate plotting, breathtaking battles, and hefty doses of cruelty, betrayal, sacrifice, courage, and hope culminate in a cliff-hanger that will leave readers longing for the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

INFOMOCRACY by Malka Older
Little Brother meets The West Wing in this “sparkling debut”* high-tech political cyberthriller about a global information monopoly attempting to prevent election sabotage and world war. “This intriguing thought experiment is perfectly timed to leave readers pondering the meaning of voting and representative government in the run-up to the 2016 elections.” — *Publishers Weekly

LAST NIGHT A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives by Liesa Mignogna
An anthology of essays exploring the origins of bestselling and award-winning authors’ relationships to their favorite superheroes. “This is a collection with a lot of heart and variety; each piece takes the premise in a different direction and unveils in compelling ways why these superheroes are so revered.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Graphic Novel Roundup

Beat the mid-week slump with these great graphic novels:

KILLING & DYING by Adrian Tomine
A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2015 and an Entertainment Weekly Fall Books pick! A woman who looks like an internet porn star, a man who keeps breaking into his former home, a stuttering girl who wants to be a stand-up comic; Tomine’s graphic story collection is an emotional meditation on mortality, family, and the creative life.

STEP ASIDE, POPS by Kate Beaton
A Publishers Weekly Fall 2015 Comics & Graphic Novels Top 10 pick! Beaton’s first collection was a sensation, and these comics are equally droll, brainy, and sometimes devastating. Her broadsides against clueless chauvinism are especially dead on.

NEIL GAIMAN’S TEKNOPHAGE by Rick Veitch & Bryan Talbot
Back in print after 20 years years and collected in one volume for the first time (also available in hardcover)! From The Phage Building, located on the planet Kahlighoul, The Teknophage, a 65 million year old reptile, plots and plans the expansion of his intergalactic empire. However, when he turns his sights towards Kahlighoul’s sister planet, Earth, the Teknophage encounters a source of resistance that he did not expect. readmoreremove

css.php