Articles tagged "murder"

Thriller Thursday (12/05/19)

A Victorian detective on the hunt for a missing Oxford academic + a factory mystery with murder and a bad-tempered donkey + Teddy Roosevelt’s near death assassination or accident? + a private investigator hired by the number one suspect + a thriller author on the run in Alaska + a gripping murder case in an isolated New England town = this week’s #ThrillerThursday!

LAETITIA RODD AND THE CASE OF THE WANDERING SCHOLAR by Kate Saunders

2 starred reviews!

“[Saunders] is marvelous at working in what life was like in 1851 England through telling details…Throughout it all, Laetitia, practical and canny, makes a marvelous companion.”–Booklist, starred review

“Saunders’s exquisite prose and patient storytelling build a convincing Victorian voice, while Mrs. Rodd’s shrewd, energetic narration adds further appeal to the rich depiction of 19th-century landscapes and attitudes.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (11/21/19)

A librarian sleuth on a murder investigation + the lies that fester when witnesses stay silent = today’s #ThrillerThursday.

MURDER OFF THE PAGE: A 42nd Street Library Mystery by Con Lehane

“[F]ans and new readers will enjoy solving Ambler’s latest puzzle along with him. An apt choice for bibliophiles and those who like a New York City setting.”–Booklist

IMPOSSIBLE CAUSES by Julie Mayhew

“[A]uthor Mayhew (THE BIG LIE) makes her adult debut with an atmospheric thriller…Mayhew delivers some memorably creepy moments.”–Publishers Weekly

#ThrillerThursday (11/07/19)

Searching for a boy in the worst of a Vermont winter, a Gilded Age Manhattan murder, and secret societies filled with wine + murder–all in this #ThrillerThursday.

BLIND SEARCH: A Mercy Carr Mystery by Paula Munier

“There’s so much to praise here: Munier’s deep knowledge of the culture of hunting (especially the bow-and-arrow variety); her brisk, incisive characterizations; the way she maintains a taut line of suspense throughout; and, best of all, her portrayals of wounded yet still courageous pairs of humans and dogs. A not-to-be-missed K-9 mystery.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Forthcoming #FridayReads: BEHELD

For this #FridayReads, we travel to colonial Plymouth, Massachusetts, where the town’s first murder is shaking the fledging colony to its core, in TaraShea Nesbit’s BEHELD.

It begins with a killing. Ten years after the Mayflower struck shore on rocky, unfamiliar soil, Plymouth is not the land its residents had imagined. Seemingly established on a dream of religious freedom, the town is led by fervent Puritans who prevent the Anglican residents from worshiping as they choose. The Billingtons—Anglicans, outsiders, and rebels—have just about had enough, and that’s when a stranger arrives.

Suspenseful and literary, BEHELD is about a murder and a trial, but it’s also about the motivations—personal and political—that cause people to act in unsavory ways. Whose stories get told over time, who gets believed—and, subsequently, who gets punished? BEHELD is an intimate, personal portrait of love, motherhood, and friendship, and an exploration of what people lose and what they struggle to maintain.

Download an e-galley of BEHELD from Edelweiss here.

Thriller Thursday (10/17/19)

A new Sherlock Holmes adventure, a Christmas cozy, and a 1950s British beach town murder = this week’s Thriller Thursday.

THE ADVENTURE OF THE PECULIAR PROTOCOLS: Adapted from the Journals of John H. Watson, M.D. by Nicholas Meyer

Two starred reviews!

“Meyer cleverly plays with his audience’s expectations, noting at the outset that the case was one of Holmes’s rare failures. Sherlockians will hope for a shorter wait for his next pastiche.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Holmes enthusiasts will relish this well-crafted novel.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (10/10)

Witchcraft and murder at a boarding school + a WWII military thriller = this week’s Thriller Thursday.

THE FURIES by Katie Lowe

“Murder and witchcraft mix with a heady cocktail of drugs, booze, and revenge in this elegant, pitch-perfect coming-of-age story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE NUGGET by P. T. Deutermann

“Deutermann, long a master of military thrillers, is at the top of his game here.”–Booklist

Thriller Thursday (10/03/19)

It’s a Thriller Thursday that’s not to miss with an alternate universe thriller, a Christmas tale with a detective + a puppy, and beers + murders.

EMPIRE OF LIES by Raymond Khoury

“Superior and plausible worldbuilding matches an ingeniously imaginative conceit. This ranks as a classic of the genre.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

DACHSHUND THROUGH THE SNOW: An Andy Carpenter Mystery by David Rosenfelt

“A strong plot, likable characters, and plenty of wry humor keep the pages turning. Dog lovers won’t want to miss this one.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/15/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to chilling debuts and returning sleuths:

SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney
Also available in audio
A March 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of Bustle’s “2018 Debuts You Need in Your TBR Pile!” My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I’m in a coma. 2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. So opens this brilliant psychological thriller by former BBC news producer, Alice Feeney. “…a serpentine tale of betrayal, madness, and murder. Feeney is definitely a writer to watch.” — Publishers Weekly

THIS IS HOW IT ENDS by Eva Dolan
There’s plenty of intrigue, sex, and drugs in this fast-paced mystery, set against a backdrop of gentrifying London, from the writer of the Zigic and Ferreira crime series. “In this stand-alone, her ability to write a complex and nuanced psychological thriller is clearly manifest. Recommend to fans of social realism in crime fiction, from Georges Simenon straight on through to Dennis Lehane.” — Booklist, starred review

FADE TO BLACK by David Rosenfelt
Also available in audio
In the thrilling sequel to BLACKOUT from David Rosenfelt, policeman Doug Brock helps a fellow victim of amnesia untangle a murder case and discovers he may not be as distant as he thinks. “…[T]he tingly, sinister mood gives readers plenty to enjoy.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Stars for THE SUN DOES SHINE

What would you do if you were sent to death row for a crime you didn’t commit? What would you do if you were finally exonerated and released 30 years later?

This happened to Anthony Ray Hinton, who in 1985, was arrested and charged with two counts of capital murder in Alabama. An incompetent defense attorney and a different system of justice for a poor black man in the South put Hinton on Death Row at Holman State Prison, until civil rights attorney and bestselling author of JUST MERCY, Bryan Stevenson, helped Hinton win his release in 2015.

Hinton shares his story in THE SUN DOES SHINE: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row (with a foreword by Stevenson), an extraordinary testament to the power of hope and love sustained through the darkest times, and ultimately justice. THE SUN DOES SHINE has two starred reviews:

“His memoir…is a troubling, moving, and ultimately exalting journey…. With a huge print run, Hinton’s incredible story and social-justice star Stevenson, who wrote the foreword, will draw major attention.” — Booklist, starred review

“Intense… Hinton’s life is one of inspiration, which he wonderfully relays here in bitingly honest prose.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (1/11/18 Edition)

It may be cold outside, but these five thrillers are guaranteed to warm you up!

THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks & Sarah Pekkanen
A January 2018 LibraryReads and Indie Next pick with two starred reviews and big movie news! A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. “Readers who were enthralled by B.A. Paris’s BEHIND CLOSED DOORS and Gillian Flynn’s GONE GIRL will love the skewed psychology and shifting perspectives of this domestic thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
A January 2018 Indie Next pick with THREE starred reviews! The author of BLACK CHALK, an NPR Best Book of the Year optioned for film by Ron Howard, returns with a thriller about Patrick, Matthew, and Hannah, who are bound together in a love triangle held tighter by one seemingly senseless but decidedly criminal act that has devastating results 26 years later. “Mesmerizing and impossible to put down, this novel demands full attention, full empathy, and full responsibility; in return it offers poignant insight into human fragility and resilience.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

JUST BETWEEN US by Rebecca Drake
Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger. “This tale of deceit begins with our favorite premise [and] winds its roller-coaster plot around our tendency to see exactly what we are looking for—while our little lies take on dangerous lives of their own.” — Oprah.com

STRANGERS by Ursula Archer & Arno Strobel
A shocking thriller that explores what happens when mysterious foul play causes a woman not to recognize or remember her fiancé, but forces the couple to trust each other and fight the odds. “Nuanced characters, a complex plot, and a skillfully woven alternating narrative drive the story toward a denouement that shocks….” — Publishers Weekly

DARKNESS SING ME A SONG by David Housewright
The Edgar Award-winning Holland Taylor series returns with a case of murder resulting from tragic, twisted drama in an extremely wealthy family. “The knots are many and messy, and Holland shows he has the wit and character to untangle them.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

css.php