Articles tagged "Miriam Toews"

NYPL Summer 2019 Adult Staff Picks

Get out your beach chair and sunglasses, it’s time for NYPL’s Summer 2019 Adult Staff picks!

ECHO NORTH by Joanna Ruth Meyer
IN WEST MILLS by De’Shawn Charles Winslow
THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth
NO VISIBLE BRUISES: What We Don’t Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us by Rachel Louise Snyder
OUTLINE by Rachel Cusk
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
SEVERANCE by Ling Ma
WOMEN TALKING by Miriam Toews

#PubDay (4/2/19)

Two LibraryReads picks and a New Yorker cartoonist celebrate their #bookbirthday today!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April LibraryReads and Indie Next Pick!

“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Macmillan Dominates with FOUR April LibraryReads Picks!

Exciting new, folks! The votes are in, and you lovely librarians chose FOUR Macmillan titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

Author of LibraryReads pick THE THINGS WE KEEP
“A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: April 2019 Indie Next List

The April 2019 Indie Next List includes FIVE Macmillan titles!

WOMEN TALKING by Miriam Toews

Three starred reviews!
“[A] sharp blade of a novel…. Toews’ eviscerating fictionalization of this incendiary reality focuses not on the violence but, rather, on the keen, subversive intelligence of the Mennonite women, their philosophical casts of mind, clashing personalities, and deep concerns about family and faith.”–Booklist, starred review

“[A]n inspiring and unforgettable novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An exquisite critique of patriarchal culture…. Stunningly original and altogether arresting.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: April 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite April 2019 titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due March 1! 

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

April Indie Next Pick!

“Smart, lovely, yet socially awkward Annika avoids the tumult of the crowd, preferring the kind of quiet discipline she finds in chess. That’s how she meets outgoing Jonathan, beating him at his first game when he joins the chess club. Soon they are planning their lives together, but they are separated by tragedy and meet again years later. She’s a librarian (of course), he’s a divorced Wall Street genius, and maybe their love has withstood what they’ve endured. Big promo, much love; from the New York Times best-selling author of ONE THE ISLAND.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi

Three starred reviews!

“[T]he writing (exquisite) and the observations (cuttingly accurate) make Choi’s latest both wrenching and one-of-a-kind. Never sentimental; always thrillingly alive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Fiercely intelligent, impeccably written, and observed with searing insight, this novel is destined to be a classic.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Three Stars for WOMEN TALKING

Everyone’s talking about WOMEN TALKING! Miriam Toews’ incredible story of eight women in a remote Mennonite colony has received THREE starred reviews!

[A] sharp blade of a novel…. Toews’ eviscerating fictionalization of this incendiary reality focuses not on the violence but, rather, on the keen, subversive intelligence of the Mennonite women, their philosophical casts of mind, clashing personalities, and deep concerns about family and faith.”Booklist, starred review

“[A]n inspiring and unforgettable novel.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“An exquisite critique of patriarchal culture…. Stunningly original and altogether arresting.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

PW Spring 2019 Announcements

Publishers Weekly has chosen the stand-out books from the coming months for their 2019 Spring Announcements, and there are 81 Macmillan titles you’ll need to save room for on your shelves!

Business & Economics

THE BILLIONAIRE BOONDOGGLE: How Our Politicians Let Corporations and Bigwigs Steal Our Money and Jobs by Pat Garofalo (a Top 10 pick)
INVEST FOR GOOD: Increasing Your Personal Well-Being While Changing the World by Mark Mobius, Carlos Von Hardenberg, and Greg Konieczny (a Top 10 pick)
BIG BUSINESS: A Love Letter to an American Anti-Hero by Tyler Cowen
HOW TO WIN IN A WINNER-TAKE-ALL WORLD: Career Management in the Twenty-First Century by Neil Irwin
WIN OR DIE: Leadership Secrets from ‘Game of Thrones’ by Bruce Craven

Comics & Graphic Novels

HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers (a Top 10 pick)
OFF SEASON by James Sturm (a Top 10 pick)
WHY DON’T YOU WRITE MY EULOGY NOW SO I CAN CORRECT IT?: A Mother’s Suggestions by Patricia Marx and Roz Chast
GRASS by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim, trans. by Janet Hong
CHRONIN VOLUME 1: The Knife at Your Back by Alison Wilgus

readmoreremove

Most Downloaded E-Galleys on Edelweiss!

Whether it’s ridiculous wait times on the heaviest travel day of the year or chilling on the couch recovering from your food coma, you’re going to need a book or two to keep you entertained over the next few days.

We’re proud to present some of our most downloaded egalleys of the year for your reading pleasure! Fantasy, thriller, lit fic, and women’s fiction–we’ve got something for everyone, so download one now and find out what everyone else is loving.

THE PRIORY OF THE ORANGE TREE by Samantha Shannon 
“Shannon (THE BONE SEASON) satisfyingly fills this massive standalone epic fantasy with court intrigue, travel through dangerous lands, fantastical religions, blood, love, and rhetoric…. a very capable epic fantasy.Publishers Weekly

IN AN ABSENT DREAM by Seanan McGuire 
“McGuire’s fourth in the ‘Wayward Children’ series takes the concepts of fairness and common sense and twists them through the doorways of a portal fantasy with an amazing landscape and characters. Lyrical prose cuts with an honesty of losing childhood innocence that eases the heartache that sometimes accompanies coming of age.”Library Journal, starred review

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen 
Three starred reviews!
“For those who relished the creepy stalking in Hendricks and Pekkanen’s THE WIFE BETWEEN US, this unnerving tale will have them rethinking what secrets are safe to share and if morals and ethics really matter when protecting the ones you love.”           Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

css.php