Articles tagged "military thriller"

Thriller Thursday (8/23/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to a LibraryReads debut, two series favorites, and a naval adventure!

THE OTHER WOMAN by Sandie Jones
Also available in audio
An August 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. “Pammie is every young woman’s worst nightmare: a mean mother-in-law (on steroids) in this addictive debut thriller. Readers’ pulses will race as they anticipate how she might strike next and be completely knocked off balance by the shocking ending. ” — Library Journal, starred review

BONE ON BONE by Julia Keller
THREE starred reviews! In the next powerful mystery from Julia Keller, West Virginia prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins continues to unravel her town’s ties to crime and drug abuse. “Keller can spin a mystery plot with the best of them, but it’s her full-bodied characters and the regard they have for one another that really sets her crime fiction apart: a bride’s back-of-the-hand caress of her new husband’s cheek, and his response, is a moment that will linger in memory long after the crime is solved.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

2017 Bram Stoker Award Nominees (& Winners!)

We have 4 nominees (AND 2 WINNERS!!!) for the 2017 Bram Stoker Awards!

Superior Achievement in a Novel Award
ARARAT by Christopher Golden – WINNER!

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction
MAPPING THE INTERIOR by Stephen Graham Jones – WINNER!
AGENTS OF DREAMLAND by Caitlin R. Kiernan

Superior Achievement in an Anthology Award
NIGHTS OF THE LIVING DEAD: An Anthology by Jonathan Maberry and George A. Romero

The winners will be announced on March 3, 2018 during StokerCon™.

Now for a super-sized bunch of #ThrillerThursday reads:

FORCE OF NATURE by Jane Harper
A February 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Elle‘s “Best Books to Read This Winter!” When a whistleblower goes missing on a corporate team-building hike, Agent Aaron Falk must uncover secrets and betrayals among friends to find out what happened in this new thriller from the New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author of THE DRY. “…[Harper] manages to match her debut’s intensity with another riveting, tension-driven thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners.” — Booklist, starred review

THE LEGACY by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Two starred reviews! “This complex, character-driven procedural, the first in a new series from Sigurdardóttir, whose recent efforts have been supernatural-tinged thrillers, is powerfully rooted in buried secrets of childhood trauma. Recommended for fans of Tana French and Camilla Läckberg.” — Booklist, starred review

A DANGEROUS CROSSING by Ausma Zehanat Khan
Two starred reviews! “This fourth in the series is a complex global thriller lifted to bar-raising heights by Khan’s thoughtful (and timely) exploration of the tragedies and dangers that refugees face.” — Booklist, starred review

THIS FALLEN PREY by Kelley Armstrong
In the third installment of bestselling author Armstrong’s Rockton thriller series (CITY OF THE LOST was a May 2016 LibraryReads pick), Casey Duncan must discover who inside the off-the-grid town is acting as a dangerous criminal’s accomplice. “The third Rockton novel is perhaps the best yet. A crisply written thriller that keeps readers guessing….” — Booklist

GIRL UNKNOWN by Karen Perry
When a young woman appears in David Connolly’s university office and says, “I think you might be my father,” the Connollys may have a chance to expand their family and how much they can love—or they may be making themselves vulnerable to menace. “Writing duo Karen Gillece and Paul Perry’s second novel (after THE INNOCENT SLEEP, 2014), is must-read literary suspense, with dueling character perspectives and sly twists forming a gut-wrenching exploration of trust, manipulation, and obsession.” — Booklist, starred review

THE PLEA by Steve Cavanagh
Two starred reviews! In this sequel to THE DEFENSE, con-artist-turned-lawyer Eddie Flynn has an innocent client, a guilty wife, and only a few days to save them both. “This is perfect for anyone who likes a locked-room mystery wrapped inside a legal thriller on steroids.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Groundhog Day Thriller Thursday!

groundhogthrillerthursgroundhogdayIt’s Groundhog Day! Punxsutawney Phil saw his shadow this morning, which means six more weeks of winter. Good thing we’ve got lots of great mysteries & thrillers to keep your pulse pounding during these cold days and nights:

BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
A January 2017 LibraryReads pick and a February 2017 Indie Next pick! “Pinborough, an accomplished author of horror, mysteries, dark fantasy, and psychological suspense, has drawn on all her gifts to tell her latest story, a masterpiece of suspense centered on a bad marriage. Give this intense book to patrons freely, but especially target those who are fatigued with the current spate of female-driven psychological suspense. It will be enough to shake things up for them (it even has a hashtag campaign, #WTFThatEnding).” Booklist, starred review

FEVER IN THE DARK by Ellen Hart
The 21st book in the Jane Lawless series from future-MWA Grand Master Ellen Hart! A video gone viral brings unwelcome attention to a newly married lesbian couple with dark secrets in their past. “Hart was inspired this time to write a tightly plotted, exceptionally engrossing mystery, one of the strongest in a popular series.”
Booklist

SNOWBLIND by Ragnar Jonasson
“The 2008 financial crash provides the backdrop for Jonasson’s sterling debut, a tale of past and present revenge, which combines the power of extreme climate and geography with penetrating psychological analysis. The action builds to a shattering climax.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

PILL CITY: How Two Honor Roll Students Foiled the Feds and Built a Drug Empire by Kevin Deutsch
Veteran crime reporter Deutsch goes undercover to investigate how two honor-roll high school students with $100 became the tech-entrepreneurs of the opiate trade during the Baltimore riots. “Deutsch lets the authentic and powerful voices of those involved reveal the ruthless tactics employed to dominate the illegal drug markets and the equally dramatic efforts by law enforcement to curtail and repair their damage. …[It] issues a siren call for societal changes. ” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: November 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Nov16LRcollageDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the November 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due September 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

TO CAPTURE WHAT WE CANNOT KEEP by Beatrice Colin
Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young widow and an engineer who, despite constraints of class and wealth, fall in love. “Hauntingly melancholic in places, Colin’s story moves like wisps of fog through Parisian streets, capturing moments of both gaiety and tragedy. This exquisitely written, shadowy historical novel will appeal to a wide variety of readers, including fans of the Belle Époque.” — Library Journal, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “To Capture What We Cannot Keep.”*

THIS HOUSE IS MINE by Dörte Hansen
A bestseller in Germany, Hansen’s debut novel is about two strong-willed and very different women who have a connection around a special old house: Vera, a refugee who arrived from East Prussia in 1945, and her niece Anne, who shows up at the house 60 years later with her small son. “Hansen makes this story about the process of healing affecting, real, and memorable.” — Publishers Weekly

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

NORMAL by Warren Ellis
In this provocative near-future techno-thriller, a foresight strategist (a.k.a.: people who think about geoengineering and smart cities and ways to evade Our Coming Doom) arrives at Normal Head in the wilds of Oregon to unplug and recover, when a patient goes missing from his locked bedroom, leaving nothing but a pile of insects in his wake. “A crackling, funny, and frightening horror story from a unique voice in genre lit.” — Kirkus Reviews

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE INHERITANCE by Charles Finch
“In the 10th installment of this Victorian-era series, a Member of Parliament–turned–private detective gets the chance to solve a 30-year-old mystery that involves his boyhood friend. Finch impressively raises the stakes of this tale between tea settings, and his character development is top-notch.” — Kirkus Reviews

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

UNDER THE MIDNIGHT SUN by Keigo Higashino
Two starred reviews! From acclaimed international bestseller and LibraryReads author Higashino comes a compelling story of a twenty-year-old murder, two teenagers linked by the crime, and a detective’s obsession to finally uncover the truth. “Edgar-nominated Higashino revisits the dangerous codependence of bonds forged in murder with this complex, elegant psychological thriller. A starkly rendered portrayal of modern Japanese culture that will draw fans of fellow Japanese thriller master Natsuo Kirino’s novels and the haunting Scandinavian tales of Karin Fossum.” — Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

css.php