Articles tagged "Michael Crichton"

Happy Early #BookBday (4/17/17 Edition)

Since we’ll be off to the Texas Library Association conference tomorrow, we wanted to wish an early #BookBday to these new titles:

ARARAT by Christopher Golden
New York Times bestselling author Golden’s supernatural thriller about a mountain adventure that quickly turns into a horrific nightmare of biblical proportions. “The whole is more than the sum of its parts in this exceptional supernatural thriller from bestseller Golden. While the contours of the story line will be familiar to genre fans, Golden makes them feel fresh through solid prose, effective characterizations, and a willingness not to pull any plot punches.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

2016 Macavity Award Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday, lovely librarians! First, some awards news: we have 6 nominees for the 2016 Macavity Awards!

Best Mystery
LITTLE BLACK LIES by Sharon Bolton

Best First Mystery
THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Best Critical/Biographical
A IS FOR ARSENIC: The Poisons of Agatha Christie by Kathryn Harkup
THE LOST DETECTIVE: Becoming Dashiell Hammett by Nathan Ward

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award
THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins
TOM & LUCKY (and George & Cokey Flo) by C. Joseph Greaves

Now for some new mysteries hitting shelves this month:

WIDOWMAKER by Paul Doiron
A June 2016 LibraryReads pick! In this riveting new novel from Edgar finalist Doiron, Game Warden Mike Bowditch is on the trail of a ruthless vigilante amid the snow-covered mountains of Maine. “The suspense is strong and the action is well rendered. WIDOWMAKER will go down well with armchair outdoorsfolk, especially fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.” — Booklist

PRESSURE by Brian Keane
A free diver is called in to investigate a seismological event in the Indian Ocean when events take a deadly turn and she and her crew must fight the monsters in the depths and those ashore. “Don’t just suggest to horror readers—although Keene does include a few fun insider references for genre fans. This is a perfect beach read for fans of Michael Crichton, Mira Grant, or Preston and Child—if you dare to take this book anywhere near an open body of water.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

css.php