Articles tagged "memoir"

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/09)

A memoir of growing up in and leaving the Westboro Baptist Church, inspiration from Habitat for Humanity’s CEO, a rescue dog that saves other beloved pets, the story of marriage equality from a civil rights activist, the history of rock structures around the world, and the unification of European countries and cities–all in today’s nonfiction round-up.

UNFOLLOW: A Memoir of Loving and Leaving the Westboro Baptist Church by Megan Phelps-Roper

A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2019

“For anyone interested in the power of rhetoric, belief, and family, Phelps-Roper’s powerful, empathetic memoir will be a must-read.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: November 2019 Indie Next List

Macmillan nabs the #1 pick on the November 2019 Indie Next List!

#1 Pick: IN THE DREAM HOUSE: A Memoir by Carmen Maria Machado

A Fall 2019 Library Journal Editors’ Pick + PW Big Indie Book + a 2020 Carnegie Award Longlister + 3 starred reviews!

“A fiercely honest, imaginatively written, and necessary memoir from one our great young writers.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Highly recommended to fans of Machado’s fiction and to anyone interested in LGBTQ memoir, domestic abuse, or chilling and precise examinations of human relationships at their worst.”–Booklist, starred review

“Machado has written an affecting, chilling memoir about domestic abuse.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/02/19)

Forming habits…answered, the memoir of an immigrant family’s American Dream, learning the science of reading people’s faces, and a spooky addition to Augusten Burrough’s collection of memoirs. Check it all out in today’s #nonfiction round-up

GOOD HABITS, BAD HABITS: The Science of Making Positive Changes That Stick by Wendy Wood

“Wood’s research and perspective on the malleability of habits will bring hope to any reader looking to create long-term behavioral change.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

HERE WE ARE: American Dreams, American Nightmares by Aarti Namdev Shahani

“This thought-provoking and thoroughly engrossing memoir offers the story of Shahani’s experience, as well as those of other families who, though they did not find the American Dream, nevertheless found home.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Congrats to Our 2020 Carnegie Award Longlist Titles

The longlist for the ninth annual Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction has just been announced, and Macmillan has seven titles in the running!

Nonfiction

LOSING EARTH: A Recent History by Nathaniel Rich
ELDERHOOD: Redefining Aging, Transforming Medicine, Reimagining Life by Louise Aronson
IN THE DREAM HOUSE: A Memoir by Carmen Maria Machado

Fiction

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
THE GRAMMARIANS by Cathleen Schine
THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake
LANNY by Max Porter

The six-title shortist will be announced on November 4, and winners revealed during the ALA Midwinter conference on January 26.

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

“YAs will be struck by the ways Ana’s coming-of-age is complicated by family needs and immigration realities.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (9/25/19)

A comedic guide to all things Judaism, the life of Israel’s founder, the high school years of indie-pop icons, a young woman’s Holocaust diary, and getting to know a Supreme Court justice… all in this week’s #nonfiction round-up.

A FIELD GUIDE TO JEWISH PEOPLE: Who They Are, Where They Come From, What to Feed Them…and Much More. Maybe Too Much More by Dave Barry, Adam Mansbach, and Alan Zweibel

“Following their previous collaboration, this is another zany book for Jews and those who love them.”–Kirkus Reviews

A STATE AT ANY COST: The Life of David Ben-Gurion by Tom Segev

“Scholars and devoted readers of political history, notably of the Middle East, will turn to Segev’s majestic analysis of this pivotal leader for decades to come.”--Library Journal

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (9/18/19)

A fresh look on climate change, a poet’s take on illness in contemporary America, an illustrated guide to American history, and the memoir of America’s most famous whistleblower… welcome to this week’s nonfiction round-up!

PERMANENT RECORD by Edward Snowden

“Snowden’s many admirers will find his saga both captivating and inspiring.”–Publishers Weekly

WE ARE THE WEATHER: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast by Jonathan Safran Foer

“In his desire to convince others to take action, Foer raises the philosophical bar, which is, perhaps, the most effective way of fomenting sincere and long-lasting commitment to this life-threatening crisis.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: October 2019 Indie Next List

The October 2019 Indie Next List features THREE Macmillan titles!

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

A Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews Most Anticipated + FOUR starred reviews!

“Fantasy readers, particularly those who love ghosts, will hungrily devour this novel.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Demand alone would necessitate purchasing multiple copies in all formats, but this is genuinely terrific.”–Library Journal, starred review

“With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Atmospheric…Part mystery, part story of a young woman finding purpose in a dark world.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: UNCANNY VALLEY (9/4/19)

Today’s Maximum Shelf pick is Anna Wiener’s page-turning account of her time in Silicon Valley, UNCANNY VALLEY: A Memoir.

In her mid-twenties, at the height of tech industry idealism, Anna Wiener—stuck, broke, and looking for meaning in her work, like any good millennial—left a job in book publishing for the promise of the new digital economy. She moved from New York to San Francisco, where she landed at a big-data startup in the heart of the Silicon Valley bubble: a world of surreal extravagance, dubious success, and fresh-faced entrepreneurs hell-bent on domination, glory, and, of course, progress.

Anna arrived during a massive cultural shift, as the tech industry rapidly transformed into a locus of wealth and power rivaling Wall Street. But amid the company ski vacations and in-office speakeasies, boyish camaraderie and ride-or-die corporate fealty, a new Silicon Valley began to emerge: one in far over its head, one that enriched itself at the expense of the idyllic future it claimed to be building.

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (8/14/19)

Nazi resistance, a musical master, neurodiversity, a portrait of a scientist, and a graphic memoir… welcome to today’s nonfiction round-up!

LIVES RECLAIMED: A Story of Rescue and Resistance in Nazi Germany by Mark Roseman

2 starred reviews!

“…Bund members could aid only a few imperiled Jews, and the compromises they were forced to make raise compelling moral issues not easily resolved.”–Booklist, starred review

“…Roseman writes a gripping narrative documenting the lives of the people who helped others and those who benefited from their actions. Highly recommended.”–Library Journal, starred review

TEXAS FLOOD: The Inside Story of Stevie Ray Vaughan by Alan Paul and Andy Aledort

2 starred reviews!

“Fans will be thrilled with this intelligent, informative, and enlightening biography of the guitar great.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Vaughan deserved this book, and, as it should, the content will stay with readers long after the last note has sounded.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php