Articles tagged "MCD"

PW’s Writers to Watch Fall 2018: Anticipated Debuts

Publishers Weekly‘s most anticipated debuts of Fall 2018 include these three Macmillan standouts:

THE GOLDEN STATE by Lydia Kiesling
In Lydia Kiesling’s THE GOLDEN STATE (MCD, Sept.), a mother goes with her toddler to a region of northeast California in the grips of a secessionist movement. Before settling on that subject, however, Kiesling says she “wanted to write a bureaucracy novel, which is a huge formal challenge.” She scrapped it but sees a connection between administrative work and child rearing. “Motherhood is its own form of boredom,” she notes.

Kiesling’s thrilling handling of that boredom attracted her editor, Emily Bell. “I was first drawn into THE GOLDEN STATE by the pacing and energy of the writing—to create such mighty momentum in a book that’s grappling with the tedium of motherhood is enormously impressive to me,” Bell says.

SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore
The first draft of Wayétu Moore’s SHE WOULD BE KING (Graywolf, Sept.), a magical realist account of the founding of Liberia, was twice the length and more fantastical than the final version. “So, there was an alien narrator,” Moore says, laughing. “I recognized that I was asking a lot of the reader, so I cut it in half and toned down the magical realism/fantasy/sci-fi elements.”

Ranging across a Virginia plantation, Jamaica, and Liberia, the novel follows three characters, each of whom is blessed with a supernatural gift and whose paths converge in the burgeoning republic. “Liberia was this beautiful experiment about what would happen if you bring people together from Africa and the Caribbean and America,” says Moore, who with her sister cofounded One Moore Book, a publishing nonprofit seeking to “create more books for those underrepresented readers who are most vulnerable.” readmoreremove

OUR KIND OF CRUELTY is a May 2018 LibraryReads Pick!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Araminta Hall’s OUR KIND OF CRUELTY is the #7 pick on the May 2018 LibraryReads list!

Verity + Mike sitting in a tree C.R.A.V.I.N.G. First comes (a twisted kind of) love, then comes marriage (to another man), then comes murder? “Hall brings the unreliable narrator to new heights in this disturbing narrative…. For fans of Nabokov’s LOLITA, Highsmith’s Ripley tales, or Christine Mangan’s recently published first novel, TANGERINE.” — Booklist

 

Click to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook

Available from MCD/FSG and Macmillan Audio on May 8.

See the complete May 2018 list at LibraryReads.org.

Stars for Sloane!

We adore Sloane Crosley‘s brand-new essay collection, LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE, and reviewers do, too!

Named a “Most Anticipated Book of 2018” by Entertainment Weekly, In Style, Glamour, Elle, Cosmopolitan, Buzzfeed, and more!

***THREE STARRED REVIEWS***

“A marvel… The latest collection from the Manhattan-based essayist suggests she can write engagingly about nearly anything… All [the essays] work on multiple levels and all are sharply written, as Crosley continues to extend her impressive range.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Crosley is exceedingly clever and has a witticism for all occasions, but it is her willingness to confront some of life’s darker corners with honesty and vulnerability that elevates this collection.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Laugh-out-loud funny seems too trite a phrase for a writer whose takes are so addictively original and unexpected, but it’s also true: dear readers, you will laugh. Whether 2 or 20 pages in length, Crosley’s essays are complete and stop-you-in-your-tracks clever….” Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Cover Reveal for Robin Sloan’s New Book

Dearest librarians, if you loved MR. PENUMBRA’S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE then you won’t want to miss Robin Sloan’s new book, SOURDOUGH!

Behold, the incredible cover! And Robin Sloan wants to tell you a little more about the book, too.

SOURDOUGH will be available September 5, 2017 from MCD/FSG and Macmillan Audio. readmoreremove

css.php