Articles tagged "Maximum Shelf Awareness selection"

Happy #BookBday (11/29/16 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to three great new reads:

NORMAL by Warren Ellis
LR iconA November 2016 LibraryReads pick & December 2016 Indie Next pick! In this provocative near-future techno-thriller, a foresight strategist (a.k.a.: people who think about geoengineering and smart cities and ways to evade Our Coming Doom) arrives at Normal Head in the wilds of Oregon to unplug and recover, when a patient goes missing from his locked bedroom, leaving nothing but a pile of insects in his wake. “A crackling, funny, and frightening horror story from a unique voice in genre lit.” — Kirkus Reviews

TO CAPTURE WHAT WE CANNOT KEEP by Beatrice Colin
A December 2016 Indie Next pick & Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! Set against the construction of the Eiffel Tower, this novel charts the relationship between a young widow and an engineer who, despite constraints of class and wealth, fall in love. “Hauntingly melancholic in places, Colin’s story moves like wisps of fog through Parisian streets, capturing moments of both gaiety and tragedy. This exquisitely written, shadowy historical novel will appeal to a wide variety of readers, including fans of the Belle Époque.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (8/9/16 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to five new novels and true crime story bound to be a bestseller:

ADNAN’S STORY: The Search for Truth and Justice After Serial by Rabia Chaudry
Two starred reviews! “Chaudry uses her unique perspective to craft a gripping and meticulously detailed account of the case including letters, court transcripts, and documentary evidence that fill in the show’s gaps and provide the latest updates. Readers new to the story will have no trouble following—the narrative is outlined extensively from the beginning—and podcast listeners will find plenty of previously undisclosed material.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

I WILL SEND RAIN by Rae Meadows
An August 2016 Indie Next pick, a BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection with THREE starred reviews!An exceptional talent for creating vivid imagery and a tender regard for her characters mark Meadows’ new novel set in the Oklahoma Panhandle during the Dust Bowl. Similar to John Steinbeck’s haunting portrait of tenant farmers in THE GRAPES OF WRATH, but also with the gritty, bittersweet elements in Rilla Askew’s HARPSONG and the poignant lyricism of Karen Hesse’s OUT OF THE DUST.” Booklist, starred review

MR. ETERNITY by Aaron Thier
An August 2016 Indie Next pick! A novel of exuberance and ambition, spanning one thousand years of high-seas adventure, environmental and cultural catastrophe, and enduring love. “Erudite. Imaginative. A work to be read slowly and savored.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Starred Historical Fiction

TGIF! Today’s #FridayReads picks are two historical novels with multiple starred reviews!

THE CHOSEN ONES by Steve Sem-Sandberg
THREE starred reviews! One of Europe’s most revered novelists recounts a terrible, forgotten incident in Nazi-era Vienna. “Gorgeous prose and stark imagery, along with Sem-Sandberg’s penchant for the absurd and surreal, provide an unsettling and vivid glimpse into one of the darkest chapters of human history. Recommended for fans of the author and Jonathan Littell’s THE KINDLY ONES.” — Library Journal, starred review

“With a gift for finding humanity in even the darkest of stories, Sem-Sanberg has written an indelible, moving novel.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A harrowing chronicle.” — Booklist, starred review

I WILL SEND RAIN by Rae Meadows
A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick, an August 2016 Indie Next pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection with THREE starred reviews! An exceptional talent for creating vivid imagery and a tender regard for her characters mark Meadows’ new novel set in the Oklahoma Panhandle during the Dust Bowl. Similar to John Steinbeck’s haunting portrait of tenant farmers in THE GRAPES OF WRATH, but also with the gritty, bittersweet elements in Rilla Askew’s HARPSONG and the poignant lyricism of Karen Hesse’s OUT OF THE DUST.” — Booklist, starred review

“A vibrant, absorbing novel that stays with the reader.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In her fourth novel, Meadows’s lyrical and descriptive writing evokes a harsh landscape of dust, bones, and abandoned homes. The unforgettable characters show grit, determination, and brokenness in equal measure. An outstanding choice for book discussion groups.” — Library Journal, starred review
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (7/12/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon is also a July 2016 Library Reads & Indie Next pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “Exceptional… While secret after secret about the residents of Fairview add to the suspense, Forrester’s secrets may be the most stunning of all.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review


HEARTBREAKER by Maryse Meijer
A scarily brilliant debut story collection in the vein of Lindsay Hunter and Katherine Faw Morris. “The edgy stories in Meijer’s debut collection cut like so many wild teeth: sharp, deep, and unforgiving. A dark and surprising new voice in short fiction.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: August 2016 Indie Next List

indie nextThe August 2016 Indie Next list includes six Macmillan titles!

THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF IVAN ISAENKO by Scott Stambach
A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick! A hilarious and powerful first novel about a disabled boy who finds love and hope in a Russian hospital. “An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by B.A. Paris
To their neighbors and friends newlyweds Jack and Grace Angel seem to have the perfect marriage. They are wealthy, charming, elegant—and never apart. Is it the perfect marriage or the perfect lie? “Debut-novelist Paris adroitly toggles between the recent past and the present in building the suspense of Grace’s increasingly unbearable situation, as time becomes critical and her possible solutions narrow. This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: February 2016 Indie Next List

indie nextThe February 2016 Indie Next list includes 5 Macmillan titles!

THE YID by Paul Goldberg
Two starred reviews! “In this fantastical (and fantastic) debut novel by reporter and writer Goldberg, who immigrated to the United States from the USSR in 1973, a troupe of unlikely Soviet characters assembles with a single objective…to do in Stalin before his henchmen unleash the pogrom. Highly recommended for readers with a grasp of history who enjoy imaginative deviations from what we think we know as historical truth.” — Library Journal, starred review

ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
Two starred reviews for the best book since THE BOURNE IDENTITY! Evan Smoak, a.k.a The Nowhere Man, is a legendary figure with skills, resources, a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn…and a target on his back. “Knowing that this is the start of a series reduces tension only a sliver in this hi-tech, nonstop thriller. Hurwitz, known for this kind of adrenaline-producing fiction, adds enough humanity to the action to make this is a standout, and readers should get in at the start. As if a big print run and marketing plans weren’t enough, screen rights have already been sold, with Hurwitz doing the screenplay and Bradley Cooper as producer and possible star.” — Booklist, starred review
readmoreremove

Friday Reads: HOME IS BURNING

One of our favorite memoirs of the fall season, Dan Marshall’s HOME IS BURNING is finally on shelves this week! We looooved Dan’s potty-mouthed, touching account of caring for his ailing parents and we’re not the only ones:

A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz Panel selection
An ALA Annual “Read ‘n Rave” selection
A Fall 2015 Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers pick
A November 2015 Indie Next pick
A Maximum Shelf Awareness selection
An Entertainment Weekly Fall Books pick

“Marshall evokes sympathy, but never pity, as he conveys his family’s pain through fart jokes, farcical misadventures (sexual and medical), and—in the middle of all the confusion—emotion so raw and potent it’s almost jarring. Honesty is the key; Marshall never shies away from the filthy, uncomfortable reality, and it’s that brutal truth-telling that makes his memoir a must-read.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Marshall’s brutally honest account of the worst year of his life will have readers marveling at how a memoir about two sick parents can still be so laugh-out-loud hilarious.” — Library Journal, starred review

“…funny, heartbreaking, and unapologetically crude. A poignantly provocative memoir.” — Kirkus Reviews

“[A] raucous, rowdy, heartbreaking story.” — Booklist

Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. Happy weekend!
css.php