Articles tagged "Max Revere series"

Thriller Thursday: Case Closed Podcast

Happy #ThrillerThursday to two bestselling authors with returning series favorites. Plus, a new true crime podcast!

FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
Also available in audio
In the next book in the best-selling Rosato & DiNunzio thriller series, the all-female law firm is hit with a sex discrimination suit. “Series fans and newcomers alike will revel in the partners’ fierce loyalty, served up with an endearingly humorous slice of South Philly family life. A sure bet for legal-thriller fans.” — Booklist

ABANDONED by Allison Brennan
Investigative reporter Max Revere has cracked many cases, but the one investigation she’s never attempted is the mystery from her own past: why her mother abandoned her. “…an enjoyable mix of family story, romance, and thriller. Readers who enjoy strong female leads will finish this one wanting more from award-winner Brennan.” — Booklist

If you’re hooked on The Girls podcast, we’ve got another one to recommend: Case Closed, a new true crime podcast perfect for fans of Serial, Dirty John, Criminal, and other favorites.

Produced by Macmillan Podcasts & Criminal Element, and hosted by renowned true crime book editor Charlie Spicer—a 30-year veteran of St. Martin’s Press who has published more than 100 books—each season of Case Closed will track one murder from crime to trial to conviction. readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/14/16 Edition)

Check out three new books in continuing series and one chilling debut compared to Cormac McCarthy’s THE ROAD!

POISONOUS by Allison Brennan
In New York Times bestseller Brennan’s latest Max Revere novel, the investigative reporter looks for the truth behind the death of a teenage Internet bully. “Fans of fast-paced thrillers will enjoy watching Max shuffle her suspect list as new information is revealed, and use her investigative skills to isolate the killer. Recommend this series to fans of Sandra Brown and Jan Burke.” — Booklist

MURDER ON THE HOUR by Elizabeth Duncan
In the seventh book in this cozy series, Penny Brannigan helps investigate who killed a woman and stole her quilt, which was recently featured on an antiques TV show. “The lush landscape of Wales is lovingly described along with details of art, artists, and antiques in this mystery populated with quirky characters set in a charming village. Share with readers who enjoy Jane K. Cleland’s Josie Prescott cozies with their similar antiques frame.” — Booklist

A DEATH ALONG THE RIVER FLEET by Susanna Calkins
In the next book in Calkins’ historical mystery series, Lucy Campion encounters a girl in a blood-spattered nightdress who has no idea what happened to her. “This fourth series entry stands well on its own. Lucy is a daring young woman who works hard to advance her place in life during a time when women had few options. A nice option for devotees of Anne Rutherford and Samuel Thomas, both of whom write series firmly placed during the same historical period.” — Library Journal

THIRST by Benjamin Warner
A debut literary thriller about the disturbing measures a couple and their neighbors take to survive when a strange force eliminates all water without warning. “Reminiscent of Cormac McCarthy’s THE ROAD, Warner’s spare, chilling tale paints an unsettlingly realistic picture of society on the brink and the grim choices ordinary people might have to make when faced with the urgent need to survive.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/9/15 Edition)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday picks star a couple of reporters, a bookseller-turned-sleuth and an officer forced to marry against his will!

A SCOURGE OF VIPERS by Bruce DeSilva
Two stars for Edgar-winner DeSilva’s excellent fourth Liam Mulligan novel, which finds the Providence, RI investigative journalist pursuing the truth behind a series of murders that appear linked to the governor, colorfully known as “Attila the Nun.” “DeSilva’s Edgar and Macavity Award-winning books is a consistently well-written hard-boiled series. Quality all the way.” — Library Journal, starred review

COMPULSION by Allison Brennan
NYC investigative reporter Max Revere is convinced a recently captured serial killer is hiding more bodies, but police won’t listen to her. “Investigative reporter Maxine Revere returns in this strong follow-up to NOTORIOUS. The pacing is relentless, and the suspense just keeps building until the satisfying ending. An excellent addition to the series.” — Booklist
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/27/14 Edition) plus Left Coast Crime Award winners!

Happy #ThrillerThursday, friends! We've got a creepy new crop of mysteries, plus Left Coast Crime Award Winners! Read on for more:

THE COAL BLACK ASPHALT TOMB by David Handler
Romantic crime-fighting duo Mitch Berger and Desiree Mitry must go up against the town's aristocracy to solve the forty-year-old murder of a missing Navy flyer, found during overdue construction on a quaint New England road. "The affable Burger mines town gossip, and Mitry digs into some sordid town history en route to the satisfying resolution of the murder case." — Publishers Weekly

I REMEMBER YOU by Yrsa Sigurdardottir
"Sigurdardottir has written an excellent and seriously scary mystery with tangible and supernatural elements that will appeal to fans of John Ajvide Lindqvist (LET THE RIGHT ONE IN)." Library Journal, starred review.
We loved this one (and some of you did, too!).

THE REVENANT OF THRAXTON HALL by Vaughn Entwistle
In Entwistle's debut, Arthur Conan Doyle and Oscar Wilde team up to investigate the future death of a medium at a manor in the English countryside. "Entwistle assembles an intriguing cast, including a levitator whose acts go awry, an enigmatic foreign count, and a Russian mystic who warns of dangerous revenants (returning spirits), for his whimsical plot." — Publishers Weekly

NOTORIOUS by Allison Brennan
In this start of a new series, bestselling author Brennan introduces tough-as-nails TV reporter Max Revere, who's got a knack for solving cold cases–except for the one from her own past. "[A] terrific new series. Sandra Brown and Hank Phillippi Ryan fans will feel right at home." – Booklist, starred review

WITHOUT WARNING by David Rosenfelt
When a small town in Maine is devastated by a hurricane, it unearths a time capsule that includes predictions about past murders...and future ones to come. "Descriptions of Rosenfelt’s latest stand-alone: Spooky. Creepy. Edgy. Chilling. Shuddery. What more could anyone want? The novel steps into Michael Connelly ground... highly recommended for readers craving that elusive 'something different.'” — Booklist  

The Left Coast Crime Awards were recently announced and we're thrilled to have three winners from Minotaur Books:

The Lefty: Best humorous mystery novel
THE GOOD COP by Brad Parks 

The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award: Best historical mystery novel covering events before 1960
DANDY GILVER AND A BOTHERSOME NUMBER OF CORPSES by Catriona McPherson

The Calamari: Best mystery set anywhere else in the world
HOW THE LIGHT GETS IN by Louise Penny


Click here
to see the full list of nominees and winners. Congratulations to all winners! 

readmoreremove

css.php