Articles tagged "Martin Servaz series"

Thriller Thursday (12/8/16 Edition)

We’ve got four great new mysteries for you this #ThrillerThursday, but first some excellent news: Ellen Hart (The Jane Lawless mysteries; FEVER IN THE DARK) has been named a 2017 MWA Grand Master!

MWA’s Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as for a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality.

Now on to the books!

DON’T TURN OUT THE LIGHTS by Bernard Minier
Two starred reviews for the third thrilling Commandant Martin Servaz mystery, in which a serial killer he’s devoted his career to has targeted a radio show host as his next victim. “This is not your ordinary stalker thriller. It is a brilliant aria da capo, set appropriately to an operatic soundtrack, with a surprising and thoroughly satisfying conclusion. Perfect for fans of Martin Walker’s Bruno Courrèges series.” — Booklist, starred review

THE GENTLEMAN FROM JAPAN by James Church
“A complex mystery involving seven deaths in one night kicks off Church’s excellent sixth novel featuring enigmatic North Korean intelligence operative Inspector O. The pseudonymous Church, himself a former spy, makes all the plot developments chillingly plausible.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Fiction Stars!

Six forthcoming works of fiction have received several starred reviews. Make sure to clear some space on your library’s shelves!

LILLIAN BOXFISH TAKES A WALK by Kathleen Rooney — 3 stars!
“Inspired by Margaret Fishback, poet and Macy’s ad-writing phenom of the 1930s, Rooney imagines an extraordinary walk through the streets of New York City on the last night of 1984, one that triggers a flood of memories for fictional ad woman Lillian Boxfish. Elegantly written, Rooney creates a glorious paean to a distant literary life and time—and an unabashed celebration of human connections that bridge the past and future.” — Publishers Weekly, boxed & starred review

“Poet and novelist Rooney found sublime inspiration, thanks to a librarian friend, in real-life ad writer and poet Margaret Fishback. Rooney’s delectably theatrical fictionalization is laced with strands of tart poetry and emulates the dark sparkle of Dorothy Parker, Edna St. Vincent Millay, and Truman Capote. Effervescent with verve, wit, and heart, Rooney’s nimble novel celebrates insouciance, creativity, chance, and valor.” — Booklist, starred review

“Rooney takes us on a delightful stroll with a colorful character, inspired by the life of poet and ad woman Margaret Fishback, sprinkling just the right details and arch bons mots appropriate to Lillian’s reputation as a woman of words.”Library Journal, starred review

MARLENA by Julie Buntin — 3 stars!
“In Buntin’s vivid debut, Cath, now a New York City public librarian in her thirties, tells the story of the friendship that changed her forever. Though Cath tells her story in flashbacks, Buntin’s prose is emotional and immediate, and the interior lives she draws of young women and obsessive best friends are Ferrante-esque.”
Booklist, starred review

“In her impressive debut novel, Buntin displays a remarkable control of tone and narrative arc. Buntin is particularly sensitive to the misery of adolescent angst, and Cat’s growing happiness in Marlena’s friendship runs like an electric wire through the narrative. The novel is poignant and unforgettable, a sustained eulogy for Marlena’s ‘glow… that lives in lost things, that sets apart the gone forever.’”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Sensitive and smart and arrestingly beautiful, debut novelist Buntin’s tale of the friendship between two girls in the woods of Northern Michigan makes coming-of-age stories feel both urgent and new. Devastating; as unforgettable as it is gorgeous.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php