Articles tagged "Martha Woodroof"

Happy Belated #BookBday (8/13/14 Edition)

We purposely waited a day to wish these two beautiful books a happy #BookBday just to keep the party going!

SMALL BLESSINGS by Martha Woodroof
Readers who loved MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND will adore this inspiring debut of a small-town college professor, a remarkable new woman at a bookshop, and the ten-year old son he never knew he had. “A warm, caring and thoroughly entertaining debut.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE SEA GARDEN by Marcia Willett
“Willett constructs a tangled web of past loves, lies and infidelities and then slowly straightens the threads, revealing how past events impact family members three generations later. A satisfying multigenerational novel tying long-ago friends, family and secret lovers to the present.” — Kirkus Reviews

Library Journal’s Best Summer Debuts

Several Macmillan titles we’ve been talking up made it onto Library Journal’s “Summer Best Debuts” list!

THE FURIES by Natalie Haynes
When she begins teaching drama therapy at a school for troubled teens, Alex Morris finds that her students relate to Greek tragedy in dark and surprising ways. “Accomplished psychological mystery” (Publishers Weekly, starred review); “suspense fiction with depth” (Library Journal).

ISLAND OF A THOUSAND MIRRORS by Nayomi Munaweera
This winner of the Commonwealth Book Prize for Asia features two women representing two sides of the civil war in Sri Lanka. “The paradisiacal landscapes of Sri Lanka are as astonishing as the barbarity of its revolution, and Munaweera evokes the power of both in a lyrical debut novel worthy of shelving alongside her countryman Michael Ondaatje” (Publishers Weekly).

FIVES AND TWENTY FIVES by Michael Pitre
The platoon featured here by former marine Pitre is tasked with filling potholes along the highways and byways of Iraq—a dangerous job, because every pothole could hide a bomb. Buzzing since spring, this novel was picked for the “Summer/Fall Indies Introduce Promotion” at BookExpo America and was subsequently made a Discover Great New Writers pick.

THE LAST KINGS OF SARK by Rosa Rankin-Gee
Fresh out of St. Andrews, Jude agrees to tutor a boy named Pip on the island of Sark in the English Channel, and soon she, Pip, and the family cook enter into a glorious summer relationship. “Rankin-Gee’s keen insights into romantic negotiations belie her youth. The confident narrative will be a shot in the arm for bored book club planners.” (Library Journal, starred review).

SMALL BLESSINGS by Martha Woodroof
NPR producer Woodroof launched a ten-part NPR.org Monkey See story on the experience of publishing a book, and now here it is—the story of a constrained college professor trying to make a home for the young son he’s only just learned he has. “A warm, caring and thoroughly entertaining debut.” (Library Journal, starred review).
readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Indie Next Edition

Congratulations! You made it to another weekend!
We know what we’re doing—settling in with a bowl of ice cream and two great books that also happen to be August Indie Next picks:


SMALL BLESSINGS
by Martha Woodroof

Readers who loved MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND will adore this inspiring debut of a small-town college professor, a remarkable new woman at a bookshop, and the ten-year old son he never knew he had.
“What could have become a sappy tale in less capable hands is a warm, caring, and thoroughly entertaining debut that reads remarkably well. NPR pro Woodroof is no novice writer, and her first novel will have readers eager for more.” — Library Journal, starred review

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming
New York Times bestselling author Cumming’s masterful follow-up to A FOREIGN COUNTRY is an espionage tale that two starred reviews rank on par with John le Carré and Olen Steinhauer.
“Cumming has established himself, along with Olen Steinhauer, as one of the best of today’s old-school espionage novelists…. Superb espionage fiction in the grand tradition.” — Booklist, starred review

“This fast-paced thriller is full of twists, turns, and surprises. With well-developed, complex characters and plenty of details about spycraft, it’s a perfect summer read for fans of Stella Rimington and John le Carré.” — Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: August LibraryReads titles

August LibraryReads collage

Summer means vacations and long, lazy weekends—occasions when you always need a good book. We recommend these great August titles, and you can nominate your favorites for the August 2014 LibraryReads List (due July 1)!

THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny
In the new book in the New York Times bestselling Chief Inspector Gamache series, the former Chief Inspector of Homicide is happily retired in Three Pines, but must help his friend Clara Morrow find her estranged husband, Peter. (While you’re waiting for Penny’s latest blockbuster, join the great Gamache re-read now and relive those favorite Three Pines moments!)

NetGalley buttonAvailable on NetGalley via super secret special request! To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Long Way Home.”

THE KILLS by Richard House
This epic four-books-in-one thriller longlisted for the Man Booker prize begins with a man on the run and ends with a burned body, moving across continents, characters, and genres. “Part Olen Steinhauer spy thriller and part Roberto Bolaño art novel, with a huge cast of characters, many Middle Eastern settings, and a puzzle of a time-shifting plot, THE KILLS is a work of intense artistic conviction and demands a serious commitment from its readers. They’ll be rewarded, even if the center of this dazzlingly large picture is elusive.” — Booklist, starred review

DRC button - the kills  Download a copy from Edelweiss

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming
A brilliant novel of MI6 and modern espionage by the New York Times bestselling author of A FOREIGN COUNTRY and THE TRINITY SIX. “Cumming has established himself, along with Olen Steinhauer, as one of the best of today's old-school espionage novelists…. Superb espionage fiction in the grand tradition.”
Booklist, starred review

DRC button  Download a copy from Edelweiss

SMALL BLESSINGS by Martha Woodroof
Readers who loved MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND will adore this inspiring debut of a small-town college professor, a remarkable new woman at the bookshop, and the ten-year old son he never knew he had.  “What could have become a sappy tale in less capable hands is a warm, caring, and thoroughly entertaining debut that reads remarkably well. NPR pro Woodroof is no novice writer, and her first novel will have readers eager for more.” — Library Journal, starred review

DRC button  Download a copy from Edelweiss

LOCK IN by John Scalzi
In Hugo Award-winning author Scalzi’s latest sci-fi novel, a virus known as “Haden's syndrome” has swept the globe, creating the largest medical crisis in history with nearly 5 million people “locked in”—fully awake and aware, but unable to move or respond to stimulus. In this new world, rookie FBI agent Chris Shane and veteran agent Leslie Vann must investigate a Haden-related murder that may have much larger implications in this new society. 

DRC button  Download a copy from Edelweiss

THE FROZEN DEAD by Bernard Minier
A suspenseful and “compelling” (Booklist, starred & boxed review) murder mystery set in a high-security asylum for the criminally insane and the snowy mountains of the French Pyrénées. “French author Minier’s assured debut adroitly combines a genuinely creepy series of crimes, a literally chilling atmosphere, and a dogged detective.  Minier’s execution equals his considerable cleverness.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review  

NetGalleyAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Frozen Dead.”

readmoreremove

css.php