Articles tagged "Martha Wells"

2018 Nebula Award Finalists

The 2018 Nebula Award Finalists have been announced, and Macmillan came out strong with 8 titles nominated:

Novel
THE CALCULATING STARS by Mary Robinette Kowal
WITCHMARK by C. L. Polk

Novella
THE BLACK GOD’S DRUMS by P. Djèlí Clark
ALICE PAYNE ARRIVES by Kate Heartfield
GODS, MONSTERS, AND THE LUCKY PEACH by Kelly Robson
ARTIFICIAL CONDITION: The Murderbot Diaries by Martha Wells

Novelette
THE ONLY HARMLESS GREAT THING by Brooke Bolander
THE LAST BANQUET OF TEMPORAL CONFECTIONS by Tina Connolly

Happy #PubDay

Happy #bookbday to a LILAC GIRLS read-alike, a witty epistolary novel, and an SF favorite newly in hardcover!

THE WARTIME SISTERS by Lynda Cohen Loigman
For fans of LILAC GIRLS, the next powerful novel from the author of Goodreads Choice Awards semifinalist THE TWO-FAMILY HOUSE about two sisters working in a WWII armory, each with a deep secret. “With a perceptive lens on the challenges of whittling away grievances that have built up over years, THE WARTIME SISTERS is a powerful pressure cooker of a family drama.”–Booklist

HOLY LANDS by Amanda Sthers
A witty, heartwarming, and heart-wrenching epistolary novel about a dysfunctional family–led by a Jewish pig farmer in Israel–struggling to love and accept each other. “Comic, moving, and occasionally profound, Sthers’ novel is a delight.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

ALL SYSTEMS RED: The Murderbot Diaries (Volume 1) by Martha Wells
Now available in hardcover, ALL SYSTEMS RED is the first entry in Martha Wells’ New York Times and USA Today bestselling science fiction series, The Murderbot Diaries–winner of the 2018 Hugo, Nebula, Alex, and Locus Awards. “SecUnit, aka Murderbot, is a semiorganic corporate profit center, genderless and constructed of cheap parts to perform contract bodyguard services for clients who mostly don’t want them…. The creepy panopticon of SecUnit’s multiple interfaces allows a hybrid first-person/omniscient perspective that contextualizes its experience without ever giving center stage to the humans.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

#LibFaves18 = Your Favorite Books of 2018

This week, librarians everywhere were tweeting their favorite 2018 reads via the hashtag #libfaves18. Here are the Macmillan titles that received the most library love!

KINGDOM OF THE BLIND: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel by Louise Penny 

readmoreremove

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2018

The year-end best-of lists are still rolling in, and now we’re proud to announce that Library Journal‘s Best Books of 2018 includes 21 Macmillan titles:

Crime Fiction
A DEATH OF NO IMPORTANCE by Mariah Fredericks

Graphic Novels
WOMAN WORLD by Aminder Dhaliwal
SABRINA by Nick Drnaso
BERLIN by Jason Lutes

Horror
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage

Pop Fiction
RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood

Romance
THE DUKE WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO by Kerrigan Byrne

Sci Fi/Fantasy
THE CALCULATING STARS: A Lady Astronaut Novel by Mary Robinette Kowal
BINTI: THE NIGHT MASQUERADE by Nnedi Okorafor
EXIT STRATEGY: The Murderbot Diaries Volume 4 by Martha Wells

Short Stories
EVENING IN PARADISE: More Stories by Lucia Berlin
A LUCKY MAN: Stories by Jamel Brinkley

Arts
FLASH: The Making of Weegee the Famous by Christopher Bonanos

Bio/Memoir
WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and asha bandele readmoreremove

Amazon’s Best Books of 2018

For the next annual round-up for 2018, we’re happy to share Amazon’s Best Books of 2018

Top 20

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao

Memoir/Biography

THE ELECTRIC WOMAN: A Memoir in Death-Defying Acts by Tessa Fontaine
LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE: Essays by Sloane Crosley
ROBIN by Dave Itzkoff

Comics/Graphic Novels

WOMAN WORLD by Aminder Dhaliwal
WHAT TO DO WHEN I’M GONE: A Mother’s Wisdom to Her Daughter by Suzy Hopkins, Illustrated by Hallie Bateman
MY SOLO EXCHANGE DIARY: Vol. 1 by Nagata Kabi

Humor/Entertainment

LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE: Essays by Sloane Crosley
ROBIN by Dave Itzkoff
CADDYSHACK: The Making of a Hollywood Cinderella Story by Chris Nashawaty

Literature/Fiction

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao readmoreremove

Vote Now in the Goodreads Choice Awards 2018

Voting for the 10th Annual Goodreads Choice Awards is now open!

Goodreads has gathered the best titles from across all genres, and we’re happy to share the Macmillan titles currently nominated for your voting pleasure. Voting for the opening round closes November 4th, so head over to Goodreads and submit your votes now.

Fiction
NINE PERFECT STRANGERS by Liane Moriarty
GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao

Mystery/Thriller
THE WIFE BETWEEN US by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
BRING ME BACK by B.A. Paris
FORCE OF NATURE by Jane Harper
SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney

Historical Fiction
THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah

Fantasy
YEAR ONE: Chronicles of The One, Book 1 by Nora Roberts
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire

readmoreremove

August 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

Fun fact: two of the most popular/downloaded e-galleys on Edelweiss recently are Rebecca Serle’s THE DINNER LIST (a September 2018 LibraryReads pick) and Paula Brackston’s THE LITTLE SHOP OF FOUND THINGS (fingers crossed for a future LibraryReads pick). Clearly, librarians are loving these magical women!

We waved our magic wand and *poof* have exciting new e-galleys on Edelweiss to recommend!

Don’t see the green “download” button? Then get whitelisted/pre-approved.

Fiction
CAPE MAY by Chip Creek
THE WARTIME SISTERS by Lynda Cohen Loigman
MR. NICE GUY by Jennifer Miller & Jason Feifer

Fantasy
THE PRIORY OF THE ORANGE TREE by Samantha Shannon
IN AN ABSENT DREAM by Seanan McGuire
EXIT STRATEGY by Martha Wells

Mystery
THE WIDOWS by Jess Montgomery
MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW by Erin Lindsey
NAUGHTY ON ICE by Maia Chance

Nonfiction
I.M.: A Memoir by Isaac Mizrahi
WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age by Mary Pipher
THE EATING INSTINCT: Food Culture, Body Image, and Guilt in America by Virginia Sole-Smith

Don’t forget to nominate books for LibraryReads!

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??):

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who begins writing letters to a museum curator and, as he writes back, gradually allows herself to find happiness and love again. “This is the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you finish and sigh with contentment.” — Kelly Moore, Adult Services Librarian, Carrollton Public Library, TX

RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood
An August 2018 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! Based on the experiences of real-life kidnapping victim Sally Horner and her captor, this heart-pounding novel by award-winning author T. Greenwood at last gives a voice to Sally herself. “This fictionalization of the 1948 kidnapping said to have inspired Nabokov’s LOLITA lures readers in with a disturbing hook: the dangers of innocence. This is a beautifully written, unnerving tragedy woven from equal measures of hope and menace.” — Booklist, starred review

THE THIRD HOTEL by Laura van den Berg
An August 2018 Indie Next pick! A magical, disconcerting novel set in Havana about a woman reckoning with the death of her husband. “Toying with horror tropes and conventions, and displaying shades of authors such as Julio Cortázar, van den Berg turns Clare’s journey into a dreamlike exploration of grief. This is a potent novel about life, death, and the afterlife.” — Publishers Weekly

ARAB OF THE FUTURE 3: The Circumcision Years: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1985-1987 by Riad Sattouf
Two starred reviews! “An excellent addition to a series that for years to come is sure to engage readers of history as seen through a child’s eyes. ” — Library Journal, starred review

SMOTHERED by Autumn Chiklis
Also available in trade paperback
A humorous debut novel about what happens when entering the “real world” means moving back in with your mother, inspired by actress and celebrity Autumn Chiklis’ real life. “Hilarious… Perfect for recent grads, mother–daughter duos, and those looking for a fun read this summer. All the heart eye emojis!” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

2018 Locus Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2018 Locus Award winners!

Best Science Fiction Novel
THE COLLAPSING EMPIRE by John Scalzi

Best Novella
ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells

Best Short Story
THE MARTIAN OBELISK by Linda Nagata readmoreremove

Macmillan Library @ ALA Annual 2018 (Booth #3420)

We can’t wait to see you in New Orleans at ALA Annual! Stop by the Macmillan Adult (Flatiron Books YA & Wednesday Books) booth #3420 and RSVP to all of our events!
Saturday, June 23

In-booth signing with Ashley Weaver
9:30-10:30am
Ernest N. Morial Convention Center | Booth #3420

Ashley Weaver will sign complimentary advance copies of her newest mystery, AN ACT OF VILLAINY.

LibraryReads “Best in Sci Fi/Horror and Fantasy Authors” panel with Tessa Gratton
3:00-4:30pm
Ernest N. Morial Convention Center | Room 207
Add to your schedule
RSVP required, space is limited

Preview the best in science fiction/horror and fantasy this season has to offer by hearing from a panel of authors, including Tessa Gratton (THE QUEENS OF INNIS LEAR). A book signing will follow the program.

Details and RSVP here by June 18. 

In-booth signing with Courtney Summers
4:00-5:00pm
Ernest N. Morial Convention Center | Booth #3420

Courtney Summers will sign complimentary advance copies of her new YA novel, SADIE.

Cocktails + Book Buzz with Macmillan Library
5:00-6:00pm
Sheraton New Orleans | Gallery room, 1st floor (NEW ROOM!)
Add to your schedule
RSVP required, space is limited

Books + Booze! Join the Macmillan Library Marketing team as we highlight our favorite forthcoming titles from Macmillan’s adult publishers and YA pals Wednesday Books and Flatiron! Cocktails and light snacks will be served!

Details and RSVP here by June 18. 

Sunday, June 24

Literary Tastes Breakfast with Kathleen Rooney & Seanan McGuire
8:00-10:00am
Ernest N. Morial Convention Center | Room 218-219
Add to your schedule
Ticketed event, space is limited

Join Kathleen Rooney (LILLIAN BOXFISH TAKES A WALK) and Seanan McGuire (DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES) as they discuss their work and the craft of writing at this RUSA-sponsored panel. Light refreshments will be served, followed by a book signing.

Tickets are $10-15. Details and purchasing information available here.
readmoreremove

css.php