Articles tagged "Marissa Meyer"

Stars for MIRAGE

We’re thrilled that Somaiya Daud’s YA sci-fi/fantasy debut, MIRAGE,  has received two starred reviews!

Readers are thrown right into this incredibly built world with fully developed cultures and characters. Daud expertly uses a sci-fi setting to explore issues within our own society, particularly the effects of colonization on both individuals and cultures as a whole. This poetically written novel will appeal to many, particularly fans of CINDER by Marissa Meyer and AN EMBER IN THE ASHES by Sabaa Tahir.” School Library Journal, starred review

“Daud’s gorgeously written novel features lush and poetic language that brings the setting into vivid color. In addition to the blend of [science fiction] and fantasy, Daud supplies a dash of forbidden romance destined to leave the reader gasping for breath . . . With an ending that is gut wrenching yet still hopeful, this immersive, captivating series starter is sure to have fans eager for the sequel.” Booklist, starred review

MIRAGE will be available August 28 from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Young Listeners. readmoreremove

Day’s YA – GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS

Hello and happy March!

We’ve almost made it to spring, but the setting in the book I want to share with you today is as frigid and wintry as they come. You may want to bundle up before reading on!

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust
9781250077738
Also available in audio.

This is the feminist SNOW WHITE retelling I’ve always wanted. I’ve been waiting for this book without even knowing it. If you also find yourself rolling your eyes at some of the more traditional, damsel-in-distress tales, this is the fairy tale for you.

Melissa Bashardoust’s debut novel tells the story of two young women. Sixteen-year-old Mina lives with her magician father and has no concrete memory of the mother who died when Mina was just a child. Mina longs to be loved and to be able to show love, but the glass heart inside her chest won’t allow it. When Mina and her father move to the castle, Mina decides that she will get the newly-widowed king to fall in love with her and become queen.

Lynet is the daughter of the king and has never known her mother, though she is the spitting image of the former queen. Lynet’s whole world is turned upside down when she discovers that she was formed from snow and was created to look just like her mother. Her father has certain expectations for how she lives her life, but Lynet has other plans. She wants to be less like the mother she never met and more like her beloved stepmother, Mina. But when the king ousts Mina and gives her role to Lynet instead, a rivalry for the throne is ignited between the two women.

Alternating chapters tell the stories of Mina’s past and Lynet’s present, while completely shattering the traditional fairy tale tropes. Prince Charming is nowhere to be found (and Lynet has no need for him, anyway) and Mina is a much more complicated character than your run-of-the-mill evil stepmother. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer’s CINDER, Angela Carter’s THE BLOODY CHAMBER, or Amanda Lovelace’s THE PRINCESS SAVES HERSELF IN THIS ONE, Bashardoust’s novel is Frozen meets Robin McKinley and it is even more delightful than you could ever imagine.

And to top it off, GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS was recently named to ALA’s Amelia Bloomer List for feminist literature! readmoreremove

2017 Audie Awards Finalists (& Winners!)

2017audiesHave you heard the great news? Macmillan Audio has 10 finalists in the 2017 Audie Awards!

UPDATE 6/2/17: Congratulations to our 2017 Audie Award winners I’M JUDGING YOU written/read by Luvvie Ajayi (Humor) & DIRTY by Kylie Scott, read by Andi Arndt (Romance)!

***

BOYS IN THE TREES written/read by Carly Simon is a finalist for Audiobook of the Year!
THE SECRET HISTORY OF TWIN PEAKS by Mark Frost, read by a full cast, and A WILD SWAN by Michael Cunningham, read by Lili Taylor and Billy Hough, are are both finalists for Excellence in Production!

Business/Personal Development
THE STORYTELLER’S SECRET written/read by Carmine Gallo

Fantasy
THE BANDS OF MOURNING by Brandon Sanderson, read by Michael Kramer

Humor
I’M JUDGING YOU written/read by Luvvie Ajayi

Inspirational Faith-Based Fiction
THE CHRISTMAS TOWN written/read by Donna VanLiere

Multi-Voiced Performance
A WILD SWAN by Michael Cunningham, read by Lili Taylor and Billy Hough

Mystery
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny, read by Robert Bathurst

Nonfiction
ADNAN’S STORY written/read by Rabia Chaudry

Romance
DIRTY by Kylie Scott, read by Andi Arndt

Young Adult
WINTER by Marissa Meyer, read by Rebecca Soler

Winners will be announced at the Audie Awards Gala in New York City on June 1. See the full list of nominees here.

Back to School E-Book Sale

Make your library’s digital shelf A+ with our Back to School e-Book sale for libraries!

Running now through September 30, more than 30 e-Books from bestselling YA & Children’s authors (Rainbow Rowell! Marissa Meyer! Leigh Bardugo! Gene Luen Yang! Jillian Tamaki!) will be discounted 30% off (with our regular lending terms).

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

css.php