Articles tagged "Man Booker Prize"

2016 Man Booker Prize Shortlist

manbookershortlistFun fact: Macmillan published half of the books on the 2016 Man Booker Prize shortlist!

THE SELLOUT by Paul Beatty

HOT MILK by Deborah Levy

ALL THAT MAN IS by David Szalay

The winner will be revealed on October 25. Congratulations to the nominees!

Happy #BookBday (9/6/16 Edition)

It’s official — we’re in big book season! Happy #BookBday to:

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016 & Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall with THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE STORY OF A BRIEF MARRIAGE by Anuk Arudpragasam
One of Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall! A magnificent and unflinching debut novel set over the course of one day near the end of the Sri Lankan Civil War, as a newly-married couple explores the possibility of intimacy in a place of profound trauma. “Dinesh finds beauty in the worst of situations, which contributes to making this debut deeply moving and hopeful.”
Publishers Weekly

A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS by Keith Stuart
In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft. “Stuart writes with powerful, plainspoken emotion, beautifully illuminating not only the challenges that come with an autistic child, but also the unexpected moments of grace. This is a luminous portrait of the world and the relationship that a father and son build together.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Holt Celebrates 150 Years!

HoltLogoHoly smokes, Henry Holt & Company is 150 this year! (We see your awesome tweets via #Holt150!)

Founded in 1866 by Henry Holt and Frederick Leypoldt, the imprint focused exclusively on publishing translations and textbooks. A fruitful relationship with Robert Frost began in 1915 with the publication of NORTH OF BOSTON, and his books became a mainstay for the company and anchored a prestigious poetry list, with five collections eventually winning the Pulitzer Prize for poetry. By the mid-twentieth century the company boasted a diverse and strong trade list (including children’s books), publishing classics by Norman Mailer, Dee Brown, Toni Morrison, Louise Erdrich, Philip Caputo, Robert Olen Butler, and W. E. B. Dubois, who won two Pulitzer Prizes.

Holtzbrinck (now Macmillan) purchased the company in 1985, and the tradition of award-winning publishing continues into the 21st century, with a list that includes the two-time Man Booker Prize-winner Hilary Mantel, Nobel Prize-winner Herta Müller, and Pulitzer Prize-winners Rick Atkinson and Elizabeth Kolbert. Holt—under the imprints Henry Holt, Metropolitan Books (celebrating its 20th anniversary), and Holt Paperbacks—publishes literary fiction, history, biography, politics, current events, science, psychology, and mysteries and thrillers, by authors such as Bill O’Reilly (the Killing series), Rick Atkinson (The Liberation Trilogy), Paul Auster, Noam Chomsky, Andy Cohen, Barbara Ehrenreich, Atul Gawande, Coretta Scott King, and Elizabeth Warren.

We’re thrilled to celebrate by giving away 5 prize packs of Holt 150 totes full of 5 notable books by Hilary Mantel, Bill O’Reilly, Diane Guerrero, Elizabeth Kolbert, and Susan Faludi to lucky librarians!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Holt 150) by Friday, September 2. Make sure to include your library’s mailing address to be placed in the random drawing.*

UPDATE 9/7/16: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winners:
Elena S. Feiza, Algonquin Area Public Library District, Algonquin IL
Cindy Levine, Winston Salem State University, O’Kelly Library, Winston-Salem NC
Carla Hollar, Swannanoa Public Library, Swannanoa NC
Anna Brinegar, Huntington City-Township Public Library, Huntington IN
Carol Hanan, Pendergraft Library and Technology Center, Russellville AR

For more, read Publishers Weekly‘s feature story on Holt’s 150th anniversary, including notable milestones from the company’s history.
readmoreremove

2016 Man Booker Prize Longlist

Congratulations to all of the fantastic books on the 2016 Man Booker Prize longlist, especially these four Macmillan titles:

THE SELLOUT by Paul Beatty

HOT MILK by Deborah Levy

THE NORTH WATER by Ian McGuire

HYSTOPIA by David Means

ALL THAT MAN IS by David Szalay

The shortlist will be announced on September 13 and the winner will be revealed on October 25. Click here to see the full list of nominees.

2015 Man Booker Prize Finalists

Macmillan is proud to have three finalists for the 2015 Man Booker International Prize:

Mia Couto (CONFESSION OF THE LIONESS)
Amitav Ghosh (RIVER OF SMOKE, SEA OF POPPIES, FLOOD OF FIRE)
Fanny Howe (SECOND CHILDHOOD)

The Man Booker International Prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language. Sponsored by the Man Group, the Man Booker International Prize highlights one writer’s overall contribution to fiction on the world stage. In seeking out literary excellence the judges consider a writer’s body of work rather than a single novel. The prize strives to recognize and reward the finest modern literature.

The 2015 Man Booker International Prize winner will be announced at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on May 19. For more information, click here.

 

Happy #BookBday (8/5/14 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday! Today we celebrate:

DRIVING WITH THE TOP DOWN by Beth Harbison
In New York Times bestseller Harbison’s latest novel, two women set out on an antiquing road trip and get more than they bargained for when they pick up a third, stranded woman. “…it’s an enjoyable ride. Readers will want to pack this road-trip book in their beach bags.” — Booklist

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming
New York Times bestselling author Cumming’s masterful follow-up to A FOREIGN COUNTRY is an espionage tale that has two starred reviews and is an August Indie Next pick! “This fast-paced thriller is full of twists, turns, and surprises. With well-developed, complex characters and plenty of details about spycraft, it’s a perfect summer read for fans of Stella Rimington and John le Carré.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE KILLS by Richard House
We raved about this super-sized summer thriller longlisted for the Man Booker prize, which is actually four-books-in-one, and now your patrons will, too. “Part Olen Steinhauer spy thriller and part Roberto Bolaño art novel…THE KILLS is a work of intense artistic conviction and demands a serious commitment from its readers. They’ll be rewarded, even if the center of this dazzlingly large picture is elusive.” — Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

HISTORY OF THE RAIN longlisted for the Man Booker Prize!

WOOHOO! We just got the terrific news that HISTORY OF THE RAIN by Niall Williams has been longlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize for Fiction!

You will know that I found him in his books, in the covers his hands held, the pages they turned, in the paper and the print, but also in the worlds those books contained, where now I have been and you have been too. You will know the story goes from the past to the present and into the future, and like a river flows.

Want to read more? Click here for a longer excerpt of this wonderful Bloomsbury book.

View the full longlist here; the shortlist will be announced on September 9.

 

A Super-Sized Summer Thriller: THE KILLS

If you attended Library Journal's “Day of Dialog” last week, you heard Picador publisher Stephen Morrison rave about Richard House’s THE KILLS. This epic thriller longlisted for the Man Booker prize is four books in one: Sutler, The Massive, The Kill, and The Hit. It begins with a man on the run and ends with a burned body, moving across continents, characters, and genres.

It's already received outstanding early praise and is showing up on Summer Reading Previews:

“In this remarkable, epic literary venture, a novel in four parts that was long-listed for the Man Booker Prize, House explores the collateral damage of our capitalist way of going to war…. Part Olen Steinhauer spy thriller and part Roberto Bolaño art novel, with a huge cast of characters, many Middle Eastern settings, and a puzzle of a time-shifting plot, THE KILLS is a work of intense artistic conviction and demands a serious commitment from its readers. They’ll be rewarded, even if the center of this dazzlingly large picture is elusive.” Booklist, starred review

House’s thousand-plus-page novel is an intense, frustrating yet unforgettable tale…. He presents intriguing characters and enthralling scenarios, then leaves readers to make sense of it all. This huge undertaking is notable for its ambition, and it seduces with both its shortcomings and its accomplishments.”
Publishers Weekly, a May 5 Pick of the Week

Engrossing… House’s four-part, 1,000-page novel of corruption and murder is a heady page-turner. Already a hit in the U.K., THE KILLS trots the globe with professional killers and military contractors, and earns its comparisons to John le Carré with a healthy dose of political intrigue.” Time Out New York

Nerds, stay calm… Richard House’s Booker-long-listed, 1,000 page, hallucinogenic fictional account of the Iraq War and its aftermath, THE KILLS, is finally released in the States [August 5].” New York Magazine

Worried about toting around a brick of a galley? Fear not!
The e-galley is available on Edelweiss
readmoreremove
css.php