Articles tagged "Man Booker Prize"

Happy #PubDay (10/15)

Horror, crime, and spooky woods + an abduction by Boko Haram + the next part of Bailey the dog’s journey + a young historian with a changed life path = this week’s #pubday party.

SUICIDE WOODS: Stories by Benjamin Percy

A Kirkus Reviews Most Anticipated Book for Fall 2019 + in Publishers Weekly‘s Fall 2019 Announcements!

“This gripping, often unnerving collection showcases Percy’s talent as a skilled, versatile storyteller.”–Publishers Weekly

GIRL by Edna O’Brien

3 starred reviews!

“O’Brien’s bravely investigated novel of a young woman overcoming epic torture is profoundly empathic, unnervingly human, and darkly exquisite.”–Booklist, starred review

“Tough but rewarding reading.”–Library Journal, starred review

“A heartbreaking tale and a singular achievement.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Elif Shafak Makes the 2019 Man Booker Shortlist!

The 2019 Man Booker Prize shortlist has been announced, and Elif Shafak’s 10 MINUTES 38 SECONDS IN THIS STRANGE WORLD made the cut!

The winner will be announced on October 14, and while we wait, you can download an e-galley now!

News Flash! 10 MINUTES 38 SECONDS IN THIS STRANGE WORLD Moves to December 2019

Originally scheduled for Spring 2020, Elif Shafak’s Man Booker Prize Longlister 10 MINUTES 38 SECONDS IN THIS STRANGE WORLD will now publish December 3, 2019.

In the pulsating moments after she has been murdered and left in a dumpster outside Istanbul, Tequila Leila enters a state of heightened awareness. While the Turkish sun rises above her and her friends asleep soundly nearby, she contemplates her mortal existence before eternal rest.

Tequila Leila’s memories bring us back to her childhood in the provinces, a highly oppressive milieu where a loving mother is no match for a strict, unforgiving father. Escaping to Istanbul, Leila makes her way into the sordid industry of sex trafficking, finding a home in the city’s historic Street of Brothels. This is a dark, violent world, but Leila is tough and open to beauty, light, and the essential bonds of friendship.

In Tequila Leila’s death, the secrets and wonders of modern Istanbul come to life, painted vividly by the captivating tales of how Leila came to know and be loved by her friends. As her epic journey to the afterlife comes to an end, it is they who bring her story to a buoyant and breathtaking conclusion.

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss here.

2019 Man Booker Prize Longlist

Congratulations to the Macmillan titles on the 2019 Man Booker Prize Longlist!

THE MAN WHO SAW EVERYTHING by Deborah Levy

10 MINUTES 38 SECONDS IN THIS STRANGE WORLD by Elif Shafak

LANNY by Max Porter (3 starred reviews + an Indie Next Pick!)

The shortlist will be announced on September 3, and the winner will be announced at a ceremony in London on October 14.

2018 Man Booker Prize Longlist

Congratulations to all of the fantastic books on the 2018 Man Booker Prize longlist, especially these three Macmillan titles:

SABRINA by Nick Drnaso

EVERYTHING UNDER by Daisy Johnson

MILKMAN by Anna Burns (currently scheduled for US release in Fall 2019 from Graywolf Press)

The shortlist will be announced on September 20 and the winner will be revealed on October 16. Click here to see the full list of nominees.

2016 Man Booker Prize Shortlist

manbookershortlistFun fact: Macmillan published half of the books on the 2016 Man Booker Prize shortlist!

THE SELLOUT by Paul Beatty

HOT MILK by Deborah Levy

ALL THAT MAN IS by David Szalay

The winner will be revealed on October 25. Congratulations to the nominees!

Happy #BookBday (9/6/16 Edition)

It’s official — we’re in big book season! Happy #BookBday to:

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Books of Fall 2016 & Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall with THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE STORY OF A BRIEF MARRIAGE by Anuk Arudpragasam
One of Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall! A magnificent and unflinching debut novel set over the course of one day near the end of the Sri Lankan Civil War, as a newly-married couple explores the possibility of intimacy in a place of profound trauma. “Dinesh finds beauty in the worst of situations, which contributes to making this debut deeply moving and hopeful.”
Publishers Weekly

A BOY MADE OF BLOCKS by Keith Stuart
In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft. “Stuart writes with powerful, plainspoken emotion, beautifully illuminating not only the challenges that come with an autistic child, but also the unexpected moments of grace. This is a luminous portrait of the world and the relationship that a father and son build together.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Holt Celebrates 150 Years!

HoltLogoHoly smokes, Henry Holt & Company is 150 this year! (We see your awesome tweets via #Holt150!)

Founded in 1866 by Henry Holt and Frederick Leypoldt, the imprint focused exclusively on publishing translations and textbooks. A fruitful relationship with Robert Frost began in 1915 with the publication of NORTH OF BOSTON, and his books became a mainstay for the company and anchored a prestigious poetry list, with five collections eventually winning the Pulitzer Prize for poetry. By the mid-twentieth century the company boasted a diverse and strong trade list (including children’s books), publishing classics by Norman Mailer, Dee Brown, Toni Morrison, Louise Erdrich, Philip Caputo, Robert Olen Butler, and W. E. B. Dubois, who won two Pulitzer Prizes.

Holtzbrinck (now Macmillan) purchased the company in 1985, and the tradition of award-winning publishing continues into the 21st century, with a list that includes the two-time Man Booker Prize-winner Hilary Mantel, Nobel Prize-winner Herta Müller, and Pulitzer Prize-winners Rick Atkinson and Elizabeth Kolbert. Holt—under the imprints Henry Holt, Metropolitan Books (celebrating its 20th anniversary), and Holt Paperbacks—publishes literary fiction, history, biography, politics, current events, science, psychology, and mysteries and thrillers, by authors such as Bill O’Reilly (the Killing series), Rick Atkinson (The Liberation Trilogy), Paul Auster, Noam Chomsky, Andy Cohen, Barbara Ehrenreich, Atul Gawande, Coretta Scott King, and Elizabeth Warren.

We’re thrilled to celebrate by giving away 5 prize packs of Holt 150 totes full of 5 notable books by Hilary Mantel, Bill O’Reilly, Diane Guerrero, Elizabeth Kolbert, and Susan Faludi to lucky librarians!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Holt 150) by Friday, September 2. Make sure to include your library’s mailing address to be placed in the random drawing.*

UPDATE 9/7/16: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winners:
Elena S. Feiza, Algonquin Area Public Library District, Algonquin IL
Cindy Levine, Winston Salem State University, O’Kelly Library, Winston-Salem NC
Carla Hollar, Swannanoa Public Library, Swannanoa NC
Anna Brinegar, Huntington City-Township Public Library, Huntington IN
Carol Hanan, Pendergraft Library and Technology Center, Russellville AR

For more, read Publishers Weekly‘s feature story on Holt’s 150th anniversary, including notable milestones from the company’s history.
readmoreremove

2016 Man Booker Prize Longlist

Congratulations to all of the fantastic books on the 2016 Man Booker Prize longlist, especially these four Macmillan titles:

THE SELLOUT by Paul Beatty

HOT MILK by Deborah Levy

THE NORTH WATER by Ian McGuire

HYSTOPIA by David Means

ALL THAT MAN IS by David Szalay

The shortlist will be announced on September 13 and the winner will be revealed on October 25. Click here to see the full list of nominees.

2015 Man Booker Prize Finalists

Macmillan is proud to have three finalists for the 2015 Man Booker International Prize:

Mia Couto (CONFESSION OF THE LIONESS)
Amitav Ghosh (RIVER OF SMOKE, SEA OF POPPIES, FLOOD OF FIRE)
Fanny Howe (SECOND CHILDHOOD)

The Man Booker International Prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language. Sponsored by the Man Group, the Man Booker International Prize highlights one writer’s overall contribution to fiction on the world stage. In seeking out literary excellence the judges consider a writer’s body of work rather than a single novel. The prize strives to recognize and reward the finest modern literature.

The 2015 Man Booker International Prize winner will be announced at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on May 19. For more information, click here.

 

css.php