Articles tagged "Malice Domestic"

Free Ann Cleeves Murder Mystery Game!

To celebrate the forthcoming publication of THE GLASS ROOM (book #5 in the Vera Stanhope series, on sale 4/24 simultaneously in hardcover and trade paperback), Ann Cleeves developed a murder mystery game to be performed at libraries and bookstores!

The script is designed to be read by four actors, and directions on how to stage the event are also included. Plus, Minotaur Books will provide free Ann Cleeves Shetland & Vera books to use as a prizes when you host your murder mystery game!

Click here to download the murder mystery game PDF and email Martin Quinn for more information about book prizes. You can also download a copy of the Shetland murder mystery game here.

Ann will be in the U.S. in late March 2018 to attend Malice Domestic in Maryland, and will do press with Vera TV show star Brenda Blethyn, and events with Louise Penny!

2015 Agatha Award Nominees

Malice Domestic logo#ThrillerThursday BONUS: Macmillan has five nominees for the 2015 Agatha Awards!

Best Contemporary Novel:
THE NATURE OF THE BEAST by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
WHAT YOU SEE by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

Best Historical Novel:
THE MASQUE OF A MURDERER by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel:

Best Nonfiction:
A IS FOR ARSENIC: The Poisons of Agatha Christie by Kathryn Harkup (Bloomsbury USA)

The winners will be announced at the 2015 Agatha Awards banquet during the Malice Domestic conference on April 30, 2016.

Congratulations to all nominees!

Thriller Thursday (5/7/15 Edition)

Malice Domestic logoHappy #ThrillerThursday! First some news: Hank Phillippi Ryan’ s TRUTH BE TOLD won the 2014 Agatha Award for Best Contemporary Novel!

This is the second year in a row Ryan has won Best Contemporary Novel, and she also won another Agatha for a non-fiction anthology she edited for Sisters in Crime. Better yet, she’ll be the Toastmaster of next year’s Malice Domestic conference.

Now for this week’s new mysteries:

THIN AIR by Ann Cleeves
In the sixth book in the Shetland series, Detectives Jimmy Perez and Willow Reeves investigate the death of a woman obsessed with the ghost of a child. “Many elements conspire to make the latest entry in Cleeves’ Shetland series absolutely engrossing, including a combination ghost story and mystery, a multilayered main character, and a perfect atmosphere for misdirection and murder.” — Booklist, starred review

THE DEVIL’S MAKING by Seán Haldane
Haldane’s “evocative and elegantly written” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) debut historical mystery set on Vancouver Island won the Arthur Ellis Award and received THREE starred reviews, including this one from Library Journal: “Haldane never shies away from period-specific language and attitudes, which make readers feel as though they are walking the dirty streets of Victoria by his side. Historical whodunit fans will relish this exciting trip to 19th-century frontier Canada.” readmoreremove

2014 Agatha Award Nominees

Malice Domestic logoHappy #ThrillerThursday, friends! Malice Domestic recently announced the nominees for the 2014 Agatha Awards and our beastie friends at Minotaur are leading the pack!

Best Contemporary Novel:
THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE EMUS by Donna Andrews (Minotaur Books)
A DEMON SUMMER by G.M. Malliet (Minotaur Books)
TRUTH BE TOLD by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)
THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

Best Historical Novel:
WOULDN’T IT BE DEADLY by D.E. Ireland (Minotaur Books)

The winners will be announced at the 2014 Agatha Awards banquet to be held on May 2, 2015.

See the full list of 2014 Agatha Award nominees here. Congratulations to all nominees!


2013 Agatha Awards nominees!

Malice Domestic logoMalice Domestic recently announced the nominees for the 2013 Agatha Awards and we're very proud to have five great traditional mysteries in the running:

Best Contemporary Novel:

THROUGH THE EVIL DAYS by Julia Spencer-Fleming 
PAGAN SPRING by G.M. Malliet 
HOW THE LIGHT GETS IN by Louise Penny 
THE WRONG GIRL by Hank Phillippi Ryan 

Best Nonfiction:

THE HOUR OF PERIL: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower

Additionally, Joan Hess (MURDER AS A SECOND LANGUAGE) is receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award!

The winners will be announced at the 2013 Agatha Awards banquet to be held on May 3, 2014. 

See the full list of 2013 Agatha Award nominees here. Congratulations to all nominees! readmoreremove