Articles tagged "Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand"

Happy #BookBday (2/7/17 Edition)

#BookBdaycat and cake party in the stacks with J.D. Robb, John Darnielle, and more!

ECHOES IN DEATH by J.D. Robb
This chilling new suspense novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author J.D. Robb is the perfect entry point into the compelling In Death police procedural series featuring Lieutenant Eve Dallas. “Bestseller Robb (aka Nora Roberts) is not only prolific but consistently inventive, entertaining, and clever in her crime series set in a near-future New York City, as shown by the stunning 44th entry. Just when Eve appears to have everything sewn up, Robb delivers a final, devastating twist.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

UNIVERSAL HARVESTER by John Darnielle
Two starred reviews! Life in a small Iowa town takes a dark turn when mysterious footage begins appearing on VHS cassettes at the local Video Hut. “Darnielle’s masterfully disturbing follow-up to the National Book Award–nominated WOLF IN WHITE VAN reads like several Twilight Zone scripts cut together by a poet.”
Booklist, starred review
readmoreremove

Happy Belated #BookBday (8/13/14 Edition)

We purposely waited a day to wish these two beautiful books a happy #BookBday just to keep the party going!

SMALL BLESSINGS by Martha Woodroof
Readers who loved MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND will adore this inspiring debut of a small-town college professor, a remarkable new woman at a bookshop, and the ten-year old son he never knew he had. “A warm, caring and thoroughly entertaining debut.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE SEA GARDEN by Marcia Willett
“Willett constructs a tangled web of past loves, lies and infidelities and then slowly straightens the threads, revealing how past events impact family members three generations later. A satisfying multigenerational novel tying long-ago friends, family and secret lovers to the present.” — Kirkus Reviews

Friday Reads: Indie Next Edition

Congratulations! You made it to another weekend!
We know what we’re doing—settling in with a bowl of ice cream and two great books that also happen to be August Indie Next picks:


SMALL BLESSINGS
by Martha Woodroof

Readers who loved MAJOR PETTIGREW’S LAST STAND will adore this inspiring debut of a small-town college professor, a remarkable new woman at a bookshop, and the ten-year old son he never knew he had.
“What could have become a sappy tale in less capable hands is a warm, caring, and thoroughly entertaining debut that reads remarkably well. NPR pro Woodroof is no novice writer, and her first novel will have readers eager for more.” — Library Journal, starred review

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming
New York Times bestselling author Cumming’s masterful follow-up to A FOREIGN COUNTRY is an espionage tale that two starred reviews rank on par with John le Carré and Olen Steinhauer.
“Cumming has established himself, along with Olen Steinhauer, as one of the best of today’s old-school espionage novelists…. Superb espionage fiction in the grand tradition.” — Booklist, starred review

“This fast-paced thriller is full of twists, turns, and surprises. With well-developed, complex characters and plenty of details about spycraft, it’s a perfect summer read for fans of Stella Rimington and John le Carré.” — Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php