Articles tagged "Maggie Nelson"

Sneak Peek: March 2017 Indie Next List

indie nextThe March 2017 Indie Next list includes five Macmillan titles!

EDGAR AND LUCY by Victor Lodato
Two starred reviews for this second novel from the author of the award-winning MATHILDA SAVITCH, about the complicated love a mother has for her unusual child and vice versa, and their drive to create family wherever they can find it. “Through numerous changing viewpoints, the truth is gradually revealed, creating suspense and rewarding readers with unexpected parallels and touching connections. Lodato’s remarkable novel traces a broken family’s spiritual journey toward healing in moving, magical prose.” — Booklist, starred review

ABANDON ME by Melissa Febos
For readers of Maggie Nelson and Leslie Jamison, a fierce and dazzling personal narrative that explores the many ways identity and art are shaped by love and loss. “What might be mere navel-gazing for a less brilliant author is made powerfully universal here. Febos’s awakening to her full identity, even its ugliness, is a powerful and redemptive epic.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NEVER LET YOU GO by Chevy Stevens
In the new novel from the LibraryReads author of THOSE GIRLS, Lindsey Nash escaped an abusive marriage and has successfully started her life over with her daughter—or so she thought. “Gripping… The difficulty of reading this book as a survivor must be emphasized; those of us who’ve endured domestic violence will recognize our lasting terrors and looking-over-our-shoulder habits in these pages and in this woman, as Stevens’ portrayal is spot-on. At the same time, survivors will want to pass the book on to everyone who ever asked them why they didn’t just leave. A must for public libraries.” — Booklist readmoreremove

2015 National Book Critics Circle Awards Winners

Congratulations to our three Macmillan 2015 National Book Critics Circle Awards winners!

Fiction
THE SELLOUT by Paul Beatty

General Nonfiction
DREAMLAND: The True Story of America’s Opiate Epidemic by Sam Quinones

Criticism
THE ARGONAUTS by Maggie Nelson readmoreremove

2015 National Book Critics Circle Awards Finalists

The National Book Critics Circle announced the finalists for their best books of 2015, including these seven Macmillan titles:

Fiction
THE SELLOUT by Paul Beatty

General Nonfiction
GIVE US THE BALLOT by Ari Berman
DREAMLAND by Sam Quinones
WHAT THE EYE HEARS: A History of Tap Dancing, by Brian Seibert

Autobiography
THE ODD WOMAN AND THE CITY by Vivian Gornick

Criticism
THE ARGONAUTS by Maggie Nelson

Poetry
PARALLAX: and Selected Poems, by Sinéad Morrissey

The full list of nominees can be seen here. The winners will be named March 17.

Kirkus Best Books of 2015 – Nonfiction

In addition to their Best Fiction list, Kirkus Reviews unveiled their Best of 2015 Nonfiction lists which include 20 Macmillan titles:

Best Nonfiction
GIVE US THE BALLOT: The Modern Struggle for Voting Rights in America by Ari Berman
THE CRIME AND THE SILENCE: Confronting the Massacre of Jews in Wartime Jedwabne by Anna Bikont
IRREPRESSIBLE: The Jazz Age and Life of Henrietta Bingham by Emily Bingham
THE LAST LOVE SONG: A Biography of Joan Didion by Tracy Daugherty
THE WHITE ROAD: Journey Into an Obsession by Edmund de Waal
LEAVING ORBIT: Notes From the Last Days of American Spaceflight by Margaret Lazarus Dean
THE DEATH OF CANCER: After Fifty Years on the Front Lines of Medicine, a Pioneering Oncologist Reveals Why the War on Cancer Is Winnable—and How We Can Get There by Vincent T. DeVita, Jr., M.D., Elizabeth DeVita-Raeburn
THE INTIMATE BOND: How Animals Shaped Human History by Brian Fagan
WHIRLWIND: The American Revolution and the War that Won It by John Ferling
A KIM JONG-IL PRODUCTION: The Extraordinary True Story of a Kidnapped Filmmaker, His Star Actress, and a Young Dictator’s Rise to Power by Paul Fischer
A GUEST AT THE SHOOTERS’ BANQUET: My Grandfather’s SS Past, My Jewish Family, a Search for the Truth by Rita Gabis
SPAIN: The Center of the World, 1519-1682, by Robert Goodwin
ELEANOR MARX: A Life by Rachel Holmes
THIS IS ALL A DREAM WE DREAMED: An Oral History of the Grateful Dead by Blair Jackson & David Gans
DO NO HARM: Stories of Life, Death, and Brain Surgery by Henry Marsh
THE ARGONAUTS by Maggie Nelson
WORLDS APART: A Memoir by David Plante
BEYOND WORDS: What Animals Think and Feel by Carl Safina
A HOUSE IN ST JOHN’S WOOD: In Search of My Parents by Matthew Spender
KL: A History of the Nazi Concentration Camps by Nikolaus Wachsmann readmoreremove

New York Times Notable Books of 2015

The gray lady picked 20 Macmillan titles:

Fiction & Poetry

THE BEAUTIFUL BUREAUCRAT by Helen Phillips
An administrative worker’s experiences pose existential questions in Phillips’s riveting, drolly surreal debut novel.

CITIZEN: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine
A meditation, in prose poems, images and essays, on what it means to be black in our racially divided society.

A MANUAL FOR CLEANING WOMEN: Selected Stories by Lucia Berlin
In these unadorned linked stories, Berlin examines women under duress and figures on America’s fringes.

OUTLINE by Rachel Cusk
Cusk’s heartbreaking portrait of poise, sympathy, regret and rage suggests a powerful alternate route for the biographical novel. readmoreremove

2015 Goodreads Choice Awards

Goodreads launched their annual Choice Awards this week and we’re proud to say that Macmillan has 28 nominees in the Opening Round! Click here to vote for your favorites and we’ll keep you updated as the tournament progresses.
Our 2015 Winners: THE NIGHTINGALE by Kristin Hannah (Best Historical Fiction) and BENEATH THE SURFACE by John Hargrove (Best Science & Technology)!

Update 11/17: We have 11 finalists in the Final Round! Vote now through Monday, 11/23 for your favorites!
Update 11/10:
Incredibly, ALL of our nominees are still in the Semifinal Round! Vote now through Saturday, 11/15 for your favorites!


Voting Schedule

Final Round Nov. 17 – 23

Best Mystery & Thriller
THE NATURE OF THE BEAST by Louise Penny

Best Historical Fiction
THE NIGHTINGALE by Kristin Hannah

Best Fantasy
SHADOWS OF SELF by Brandon Sanderson
A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC by V.E. Schwab

Best Science Fiction
THE END OF ALL THINGS by John Scalzi

Best Humor
FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson

Best Nonfiction
HUMANS OF NEW YORK: STORIES by Brandon Stanton

Best Science & Technology
BENEATH THE SURFACE by John Hargrove

Best Graphic Novels & Comics
STEP ASIDE, POPS! by Kate Beaton

Debut Goodreads Author
THE STRONGEST STEEL by Scarlett Cole

Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction
CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell
readmoreremove

PW Best Books of 2015

We’re barely into November, yet signs of the year-end are already here: Starbucks busted out the red cups and Publishers Weekly is first out of the gate with their Best Books of 2015 list. Here are the Macmillan gems that made the cut:

Top 10
IMPERIUM by Christian Kracht
THE ARGONAUTS by Maggie Nelson

Fiction
THE SELLOUT by Paul Beatty
A MANUAL FOR CLEANING WOMEN by Lucia Berlin
IMPERIUM by Christian Kracht

SF/Fantasy/Horror
THE WATCHMAKER OF FILIGREE STREET by Natasha Pulley
THE SORCERER OF THE WILDEEPS by Kai Ashante Wilson

Comics
THE ARAB OF THE FUTURE by Riad Sattouf
SUPERMUTANT MAGIC ACADEMY by Jillian Tamaki
KILLING AND DYING by Adrian Tomine

Nonfiction
LEAVING ORBIT: Notes from the Last Days of American Space Flight by Margaret Lazarus Dean
CITY BY CITY: Dispatches from the American Metropolis, edited by Keith Gessen and Stephen Squibb
KISSINGER’S SHADOW: The Long Reach of America’s Most Controversial Statesman by Greg Grandin
THE GIVENNESS OF THINGS by Marilynne Robinson
THE ARGONAUTS by Maggie Nelson
WHAT THE EYE HEARS: A History of Tap Dancing by Brian Seibert
ONE OF US: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway by Asne Seierstad readmoreremove

Publishers Weekly’s Best of Summer 2015

Spring may have finally arrived, but Publishers Weekly is already on to summer! Check out their list of the Best Summer Books of 2015, which include:

STAFF PICKS
THE ARGONAUTS by Maggie Nelson
“Reading Nelson is like sweeping the leaves out of your mental driveway: by the end of one of her books, you have a better understanding of how the world works. THE ARGONAUTS is about her relationship with Harry Dodge, her pregnancy, and becoming a mother, and it’s supplemented with references to Roland Barthes, The Shining, Anne Carson, Atari games, and more. The result is one of the most intelligent, generous, and moving books of the year.” — Gabe Habash, deputy reviews editor

ALL THAT FOLLOWED by Gabriel Urza
“A foreign setting that’s just exotic enough (the Basque region of Spain), a terrible crime (kidnapping and murder), a small town with complicated history and delicious superstitions (fear of la Cerda, a woman who was burned to death in a furnace as a witch during the Spanish Inquisition for holding gatherings where young girls cavorted with the Devil), and a beautiful widow are just some of the elements that make this intriguing literary debut a book to while away a summer afternoon with. The narrator is an American who has lived in the village for 50 years but acknowledges that he ‘would always be considered a foreigner here, a visitor passing through.’ Aren’t we all?” — Louisa Ermelino, reviews director
readmoreremove

css.php