Articles tagged "Luckiest Girl Alive"

THE DRY and BEHIND HER EYES are January 2017 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two mysteries on the December 2016/January 2017 LibraryReads list!

Coming in at #3 is THE DRY by Jane Harper

A Library Journal “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” pick with THREE starred reviews!

“Luke lied. You lied. Be at the funeral.” This is the note Federal Agent Aaron Falk receives after hearing that his childhood best friend Luke has been found dead after committing a terrible crime in Jane Harper’s first mystery. When Falk reluctantly returns to his hometown amid the worst drought in a century to see if there’s more to Luke’s death than there seems to be, a long-buried mystery from Falk’s past resurfaces and he finds that small towns have always hidden big secrets. “A stunner… It’s a small-town, big-secrets page-turner with a shocker of an ending… Recommend this one to fans of James Lee Burke and Robert Crais, who mix elements of ‘bromance’ into their hard-boiled tales.” — Booklist, starred review

Click to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook.

Available from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Audio on January 10.

 

The #4 pick is BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
Destined to be a blockbuster book in 2017, BEHIND HER EYES is a psychological thriller with a to-die-for twist for fans of Jessica Knoll’s LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE and Stephen King. “Pinborough, an accomplished author of horror, mysteries, dark fantasy, and psychological suspense, has drawn on all her gifts to tell her latest story, a masterpiece of suspense centered on a bad marriage. Give this intense book to patrons freely, but especially target those who are fatigued with the current spate of female-driven psychological suspense. It will be enough to shake things up for them (it even has a hashtag campaign, #WTFThatEnding).” Booklist, starred review


Click to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook. readmoreremove

The Must-Read Summer Thriller of 2016

Gone Girl. Luckiest Girl Alive. The Girl on the Train. It may not have “Girl” in the title, but Wendy Walker’s ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN is destined to be Summer 2016’s blockbuster thriller. In fact, Reese Witherspoon already snapped up the film rights and is in talks to star.

In the small, affluent town of Fairview, Connecticut, a teenage girl named Jenny Kramer is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after, she is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. Why? You’ll have to read it to find out!

Your fellow librarians are already crazy about it:

I’m already halfway through ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN and am absolutely loving it – I’m a sucker for dark, twisty, intricately-plotted psychological thrillers, so this is right in my wheelhouse. I can tell that all of Wendy Walker’s threads are carefully placed, and I can’t wait until the finish when she weaves them all together. I’m betting we’ll be seeing this title in a LOT of beach bags over the summer.” — Gregg Winsor, Johnson County Public Library, Overland Park KS

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss & get reading already! Read & loved it? Then nominate it for LibraryReads!

Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted. readmoreremove

css.php