Articles tagged "love story"

Happy #BookBday (7/6/16 Edition)

Happy belated #BookBday to these new titles on shelves now:

ABSALOM’S DAUGHTERS by Suzanne Feldman
Two half-sisters, one black and one white, embark on a risky road trip through the 1950s Jim Crow South in this spellbinding story of identity and race. “A searing and magical debut by a monumental new talent.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE BIG SHEEP by Robert Kroese
Sherlock meets Blade Runner in this novel that explores society’s fascination with celebrity in a futuristic dystopic LA, with a genetically modified sheep in the center of it all. “Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Douglas Adams’s ‘Dirk Gently’ novels will find things to love in Kroese’s latest.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE LIFE OF THE WORLD TO COME by Dan Cluchey
A love story told slantwise featuring a heartbroken (and slightly neurotic) young lawyer, an ethereal soap actress, a prisoner on death row, and a dog named Rafael Uribe Uribe. “A good suggestion for readers looking for something a little bit different.” — Booklist

THE HOUSE BY THE LAKE: One House, Five Families, and a Hundred Years of German History by Thomas Harding
An intimate and revelatory history of Germany, told over a tumultuous century through the lives of the different families that lived in one house. “This personal saga centered on a family home will appeal to enthusiasts of German history, especially post-World War II division and reunification.” — Library Journal

Stars for IF I WAS YOUR GIRL

Friends, we made the bold statement last Fall that IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo is going to be HUGE. Then the buzz started (and that was before we shared Meredith’s amazing author note):

And now, IF I WAS YOUR GIRL has two starred reviews!

Russo has written a story that many trans teens—and adults—have been wanting: a sweet, believable romance that stokes the fires of hope without devolving into saccharine perfection or horrific tragedy. Above all, this is a necessary, universal story about feeling different and enduring prejudices, and it’s full of love, hope, engaging writing, and truth.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“In an illuminating debut guided by hope and overwhelming kindness, Russo demonstrates the challenges teens face in finding ‘the truest version’ of themselves.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley now! Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted. readmoreremove

DREAM THINGS TRUE Signed Galley Giveaway

MarieMarquardt-DreamThingsTrueFRIDAY FREE DAY!! Yesterday author Marie Marquardt dropped by the Flatiron Building to sign galleys of her first YA novel, DREAM THINGS TRUE, for FIVE lucky librarians!

A BEA YA buzz panel selection, DREAM THINGS TRUE is a modern-day Romeo and Juliet story in which a wealthy Southern boy falls in love with an undocumented Mexican girl and together they face perils in their hostile Georgia town. What follows is a beautiful, nuanced, well-paced exploration of the complications of immigration, young love, defying one’s family, and facing a tangled bureaucracy that threatens to completely upend two young lives.

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Dream Things True) by Sunday, May 10. Make sure to include your library’s mailing address to be placed in the random drawing. Check out the fine print after the break.

Update 5/11: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winners:

Mary Schmotzer, Earl Gregg Swem Library, Williamsburg VA
Gillian Wiseman, Waco-McLennan County Library, Waco TX
Julie Benolken, Inver Hills Community College, Inver Grove Heights MN
Miranda Galbraith, Madison Library District, Rexburg ID
Melody Townley, Woodbridge Township School District, Woodbridge NJ

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: THE BOOK OF SPECULATION

MaxShelf-BookOfSpeculation“I came across this book at auction as part of a larger lot I purchased on speculation. The damage renders it useless to me, but a name inside it led me to believe it might be of interest to you or your family…”

Last week’s Maximum Shelf Awareness featured a first novel near and dear to our hearts (and librarians’ hearts): THE BOOK OF SPECULATION by Erika Swyler.

Simon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made her living by holding her breath, drowned in the very water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, ran off to join the circus six years ago.

One June day, an old book arrives on Simon’s doorstep. Fragile and water damaged, the book is a log from the owner of a traveling carnival in the 1700s, who reports strange and magical things—including the drowning death of a circus mermaid. Since then, generations of “mermaids” in Simon’s family have drowned—always on July 24, which is only weeks away.

As his friend Alice looks on with alarm, Simon becomes increasingly worried about his sister. Could there be a curse on Simon’s family? What does it have to do with the book, and can he stop it in time to save Enola?

“The meandering plot offers many charms: likable, quirky librarians; circus menageries and freak shows; love stories; tarot cards and trickery; mysticism; family secrets; and prickly sibling love—all accompanied by the author’s illustrations. [Swyler also painstakingly hand-bound, gilded and aged her manuscript submissions, in imitation of the old book in her story.] In short, THE BOOK OF SPECULATION, like the book at its center, promises to grasp the reader with a supernatural force and not let go.” — Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review and interview with Erika Swyler on Shelf-Awareness.com. readmoreremove

Friday Reads (3/7/14 Edition)

Today's #FridayReads are two fabulous new debuts we're loving:

Talia is totally impressed with THE HOLLOW GROUND by Natalie S. Harnett

Hollow Ground jacket“We walk on fire or air, so Daddy liked to say. Basement floors too hot to touch. Steaming green lawns in the dead of winter. Sinkholes, quick and sudden, plunging open at your feet.”

Inspired by real-life events in now-infamous Centralia and the equally devastated town of Carbondale, PA, THE HOLLOW GROUND tells the coming-of-age story of Brigid Howley, a young girl struggling to keep her family together as underground mine fires force her family to move around—not to mention the family "curse" laid upon them generations earlier. When Brigid makes a grisly discovery in a long-abandoned bootleg mine shaft, secrets from decades past threaten to prove just as dangerous to the Howleys as the burning, hollow ground beneath their feet.

“This cursed Irish-American clan will grab you by the brisket and not let go.” — Gary Shteyngart, New York Times bestselling author of SUPER SAD TRUE LOVE STORY

DRC button - Hollow Ground 
E-galley available for download

Anne is still enraptured after reading THE SPARK AND THE DRIVE by Wayne Harrison

Spark and the DriveHarrison is an award-winning writer of short fiction, who also worked for six years as an auto mechanic—an experience that's clear in his devastatingly powerful first novel of hero-worship, first love, and betrayal.

Justin Bailey is an out of place seventeen-year-old when he finds comfort and companionship in the shop of legendary muscle car mechanic Nick Campbell and Nick's home with his captivating wife Mary Ann. But when Nick and Mary Ann’s lives are struck by tragedy, Justin’s own world is upended. Suddenly Nick, once celebrated for his mechanical genius, has lost his touch. Mary Ann, once tender and compassionate to her husband, has turned distant. As Justin tries to prop up his suffering mentor, he finds himself drawn toward the man’s grieving wife. Torn apart by feelings of betrayal, Justin must choose between the man he admires more than his own father and the woman he loves.

“There's nothing I enjoy more than entering a fictional world over which an author demonstrates complete mastery. That's exactly what Wayne Harrison offers his lucky readers in THE SPARK AND THE DRIVE.” — Richard Russo, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of EMPIRE FALLS

“This novel vividly renders the cult-like world of muscle car enthusiasts, but the author's ultimate concerns are the sparks and misfires of the human heart. Wayne Harrison is an exciting new voice in American fiction.” — Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of THE COVE

 
E-galley available for download

What are you reading this week? Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib

readmoreremove

css.php