Articles tagged "loss"

Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer”

Buzzfeed chose eight excellent books from Macmillan as part of their “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer” feature:

THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey
Catherine Lacey’s novel THE ANSWERS centers around people looking for the answers to love, to emotions, to ailing bodies. Mary, a young woman in New York City, is desperate for a cure for her paralyzing pain when she finally finds an effective treatment that she can’t afford. To pay for it, she joins eccentric actor Kurt Sky’s “Girlfriend Experiment” — a project for which Sky has recruited multiple women to fulfill different roles in an attempt to create the perfect romantic relationship — and becomes his “Emotional Girlfriend,” along the way learning more about herself and the nature of connection.

GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
Heartbroken after her engagement is called off and feeling that her life has become a mess, 30-year-old Ruth quits her job and goes home to her parents to take care of her father, who is in the early stages of Alzheimer’s. As his condition grows worse, Ruth devotes herself to researching supplements and meals that might restore his memory. Tender yet funny in turns, GOODBYE, VITAMIN offers poignant insight into family, memory, marriage, parenthood, love, and loss.

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
Omar Robert Hamilton’s THE CITY ALWAYS WINS is a vivid, powerful portrait of Egypt’s failed revolution in 2011. Through the eyes of Mariam and Khalil, two young people fighting at the front lines of the revolution in the streets of Cairo and its political underground, THE CITY ALWAYS WINS is an urgent and relevant work that captures the realities of class friction, war, torture, and dictatorships.

MY LIFE WITH BOB by Pamela Paul
MY LIFE WITH BOB is the ultimate book about reading books — New York Times Book Review editor Pamela Paul has kept a journal (named Bob) for 28 years, meticulously tracking every book she’s ever read. The result is an intimate look into her interior life and the ways in which the stories she has read have changed her own story. Clever and heartfelt, MY LIFE WITH BOB will appeal to anyone with a deep love for reading.
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (4/4/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to five new works of fiction waiting to be snapped up by your patrons:

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
An April 2017 Indie Next pick, a Barnes & Noble Spring 2017 Discover pick and one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Spring 2017 Debuts with FOUR starred reviews! An electric debut novel about love, addiction, and loss; the story of two girls and the feral year that will cost one her life, and define the other’s for decades. “Buntin’s prose is emotional and immediate, and the interior lives she draws of young women and obsessive best friends are Ferrante-esque.” — Booklist, starred review

A LITTLE MORE HUMAN by Fiona Maazel
An April 2017 Indie Next pick! Meet Phil Snyder: new father, nursing assistant at a cutting-edge biotech facility on Staten Island, and all-around decent guy. Phil also has a special talent he doesn’t want to publicize—he’s a mind reader and moonlights as Brainstorm, a costumed superhero. But when Phil wakes up from a blackout drunk and is confronted with photos that seem to show him assaulting an unknown woman, even superpowers won’t help him. “Maazel takes a dark, inventive look at the cost of pushing humans to their limits.” — Booklist

THE SISTERS OF BLUE MOUNTAIN by Karen Katchur
Perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf, a suspenseful novel in which a small-town murder forces two sisters to face the secrets and lies that have torn them apart. “Katchur weaves a suspenseful tale of family secrets and what it means to keep quiet. For readers who relish complex family mysteries.” — Library Journal

CASTLE OF WATER by Dane Huckelbridge
Castaway meets The Notebook in this beautifully written adventure/romance set on a deserted island from first-time novelist Dane Huckelbridge. “…a diverting if sentimental story with just enough detours from the obvious path to keep it from predictability.” — Booklist
readmoreremove

css.php