Articles tagged "Lolly Wolly Doodle"

New Nonfiction – May 2017

Essays, books about books, and a librarian’s memoir are just some of the new nonfiction books available this week:

THE END OF EDDY by Édouard Louis
Two starred reviews! The most talked-about European novel since MY STRUGGLE—a sexually frank, brutally honest coming-of-age story that captures the violence and desperation of life in a French factory town. “Translated into 20 languages and a huge hit in France, author Louis’ unsparingly autobiographical novel is the story of a gay boy’s attempts to come to terms with himself. …a seamless, universal portrait of the experience of growing up gay and gradually coming to accept oneself.” — Booklist, starred review

MY LIFE WITH BOB: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues by Pamela Paul
Two starred reviews! The editor of The New York Times Book Review reveals her personal reading journal named BOB (a.k.a. her “Book of Books”) and the books that have shaped her life. “Titles about reading and books abound, but this memoir stands in a class by itself. Bibliophiles will treasure, but the addictive storytelling and high-quality writing will vastly increase its audience. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

HOW TO BUILD A TIME MACHINE by Darren Manley
A librarian’s heartfelt memoir about growing up with much older parents and coming to appreciate the bonds that cross generations. readmoreremove

css.php