Articles tagged "Little Brother"

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Roundup

These new & forthcoming science fiction & fantasy titles will transport you to another world:

SPELLS OF BLOOD AND KIN by Claire Humphrey
“Human warmth underlies this exciting and furiously paced fable of fur, fangs, and family. Emphasizing intricate family dynamics alongside shape-changing and magic, Humphrey’s debut merges victim and victimizer, reality and the occult. This paranormal tale stands out even in its very crowded field.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE BIG SHEEP by Robert Kroese
Sherlock meets Blade Runner in this novel that explores society’s fascination with celebrity in a futuristic dystopic LA, with a genetically modified sheep in the center of it all. “Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Douglas Adams’s ‘Dirk Gently’ novels will find things to love in Kroese’s latest.” — Library Journal, starred review

TIME SIEGE by Wesley Chu
“In this engrossing sequel to TIME SALVAGER, Chu continues a futuristic saga that pits fugitive time traveler James Griffin-Mars and his allies, who seek to rescue a ravaged Earth from utter destruction, against Valta, the megacorporation that rules the galaxies. The story’s intricate plotting, breathtaking battles, and hefty doses of cruelty, betrayal, sacrifice, courage, and hope culminate in a cliff-hanger that will leave readers longing for the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

INFOMOCRACY by Malka Older
Little Brother meets The West Wing in this “sparkling debut”* high-tech political cyberthriller about a global information monopoly attempting to prevent election sabotage and world war. “This intriguing thought experiment is perfectly timed to leave readers pondering the meaning of voting and representative government in the run-up to the 2016 elections.” — *Publishers Weekly

LAST NIGHT A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives by Liesa Mignogna
An anthology of essays exploring the origins of bestselling and award-winning authors’ relationships to their favorite superheroes. “This is a collection with a lot of heart and variety; each piece takes the premise in a different direction and unveils in compelling ways why these superheroes are so revered.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: June 2016 LibraryReads Titles

June16LRcollageDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the June 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due April 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

THE HOUR OF LAND: A Personal Topography of America’s National Parks by Terry Tempest Williams
“Williams, an ardent, often rhapsodic, always scrupulous witness to the living world and advocate for the protection of public lands, celebrates the centennial of the National Park Service in this enrapturing and encompassing chronicle of her deeply inquisitive, meditative, and dramatic sojourns in a dozen national parks. Illustrated with exquisite photographs by such masters as Lois Conner, Lee Friedlander, Sally Mann, and Sebastião Salgado, this is a uniquely evocative, illuminating, profound, poignant, beautiful, courageous, and clarion book about the true significance of our national parks.” — Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

WIDOWMAKER by Paul Doiron
In this riveting new novel from Edgar finalist & LibraryReads author Paul Doiron, Game Warden Mike Bowditch is on the trail of a ruthless vigilante amid the snow-covered mountains of Maine. “Barry Award winner and Edgar finalist Doiron’s new work is the top of the heap for the publisher this June.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Widowmaker” and your mailing address.*

THEY MAY NOT MEAN TO, BUT THEY DO by Cathleen Schine
Joy Bergman is not slipping into old age with the quiet grace her children would prefer, and when her husband dies, they offer solutions for their mother’s loneliness and despair. But there is one challenge they did not count on: the reappearance of an ardent suitor from Joy’s college days. “Schine is a master at limning family dynamics in all their messiness.” — Library Journal

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

IF I FORGET YOU by Thomas Christopher Greene
Two former lovers reconnect in this beautiful and haunting tale of great lost love from the critically acclaimed author of THE HEADMASTER’S WIFE. “WOW. What a book! I thought it was a great love story, emotionally taut in all the right places. I loved the characters.” — Tina Panik, Avon Free Public Library, Avon CT

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

INFOMOCRACY by Malka Older
Little Brother meets The West Wing in this “sparkling debut”* high-tech political thriller about a global information monopoly attempting to prevent election sabotage and world war. “This intriguing thought experiment is perfectly timed to leave readers pondering the meaning of voting and representative government in the run-up to the 2016 elections.” — *Publishers Weekly

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Infomocracy” and your mailing address.*
readmoreremove

eBooks for Libraries

Macmillan e-books are now available for your library!

We are pleased to announce that we've expanded our pilot program to offer libraries Macmillan's entire e-book backlist–more than 11,000 backlist titles from bestselling and award-winning authors from St. Martin's Press, Minotaur Books, St. Martin's Griffin, Farrar, Straus & Giroux, Picador, Tor/Forge, Henry Holt, Entangled, and Macmillan Children's imprints.

Here are some popularly requested and newly available e-books that might be of interest to your library:

ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell
NIGHT by Elie Wiesel
WOLF HALL by Hilary Mantel
A LONG WAY GONE by Ishmael Beah
THE MARRIAGE PLOT by Jeffrey Eugenides
KILLING LINCOLN by Bill O'Reilly
ENDER'S GAME by Orson Scott Card
THE EYE OF THE WORLD by Robert Jordan
THE HUSBAND LIST by Janet Evanovich & Dorien Kelly
WHERE WE BELONG by Emily Giffin
HOME FRONT by Kristin Hannah
LOOK AGAIN by Lisa Scottoline
THE AMERICAN HEIRESS by Daisy Goodwin
A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L'Engle
SPEAK by Laurie Halse Anderson
HIDDEN by P.C. Cast
LITTLE BROTHER by Cory Doctorow

E-books are available for purchase through our partners at Baker & Taylor, OverDrive, 3M and Recorded Books. Once purchased, they will be available to lend for two years or 52 lends, whichever comes first.

A spreadsheet of the latest Macmillan e-books available for library lending is available upon request (email library@macmillanusa.com, subject line: eBooks for Libraries).

We know that reaching readers in the digital age is vital to the success and endurance of libraries. We hope that e-book lending allows you to expand your offerings, facilitate the discovery of new authors, and ultimately serve your patrons better. Happy reading!

bestseller collage

css.php