Articles tagged "literary fiction"

Booklist’s 2019 Great Group Reads

Yara Zgheib’s THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET is among Booklist and the Women’s National Book Association’s favorite book club reads of the year!

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib

A February 2019 Indie Next pick + LibraryReads pick + Library Journal Best Debut!

A haunting portrait of a young woman’s struggle with anorexia on an intimate journey to reclaim her life.

“This is an impressive, deeply moving debut.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Library Journal “Day of Dialog”–Cambridge, Book Buzz (10/3/19)

For anyone who missed our title presentation during Library Journal‘s “Day of Dialog”–Cambridge, here’s the list:

A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler | February 4, 2020 | 9781250237279
THE BOATMAN’S DAUGHTER by Andy Davidson | February 11, 2020 | 9780374538552
THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT by Hilary Mantel | March 10, 2020 | 9780805096606
MISS AUSTEN by Gill Hornby | April 7, 2020 | 9781250252203
HID FROM OUR EYES: A Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Mystery by Julia Spencer-Fleming | April 7, 2020 | 9780312606855
YOU ARE NOT ALONE by Greer Hendricks + Sarah Pekkanen | March 3, 2020 | 9781250202031
THE GOD GAME by Danny Tobey | January 7, 2020 | 9781250306142
TAKE ME APART by Sara Sligar | April 28, 2020 | 9780374272616
THE OTHER BENNET SISTER by Janice Hadlow | February 18, 2020 | 9781250129413
SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin | February 18, 2020 | 9781250219596
SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn | March 31, 2020 | 9780374272081
FATHER OF LIONS: One Man’s Remarkable Quest to Save the Mosul Zoo by Louise Callaghan | January 14, 2020 | 9781250248947
GOOD BOY: My Life in Seven Dogs: A Memoir by Jennifer Finney Boylan | April 21, 2020 | 9781250261878
AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins | January 21, 2020 | 9781250209764
THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS by Jennifer Rosner | March 3, 2020 | 9781250179760

Forthcoming #FridayReads: SAINT X

Today’s #FridayReads spotlight features Alexis Schaitkin’s psychological drama debut that explores grief, obsession, and the bond between two sisters–welcome to SAINT X.

At the beginning of SAINT X, we meet a family on a luxury vacation in the Caribbean–there’s one 18 year old daughter and one just seven years old. One night the older daughter goes missing, and soon her body is found, with two local men who worked at the resort suspected of the murder, but ultimately released. Flash forward, the younger daughter is now an adult working in publishing in New York City. She gets in a cab one night, and that cab driver is one of the men suspected of her sister’s murder. Bum bum buuuum. She soon spirals into obsession, desperately trying to find out what happened the night of her sister’s death and who her sister really was. This debut will hit both psychological suspense and literary readers, and will definitely be great for book clubs.

Librarian excitement for SAINT X:

Download the SAINT X e-galley from Edelweiss here.

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

“YAs will be struck by the ways Ana’s coming-of-age is complicated by family needs and immigration realities.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: December 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite December titles for the December 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due November 1!

DEAD ASTRONAUTS by Jeff VanderMeer

“VanderMeer is a master of literary science fiction, and this may be his best book yet.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THIN ICE by Paige Shelton

“Readers are left wondering up to the last exciting page what the answers are, and will eagerly await the second in this new Alaska mysteries series from the author of the Scottish Bookshop mysteries.”–Booklist

readmoreremove

2019 Kirkus Prize Finalists

The 2019 Kirkus Prize finalists have been announced, and Macmillan has two titles in the running!

TERRITORY OF LIGHT by Yuko Tsushima

2 starred reviews! A haunting, dazzling novel of loss and rebirth from one of the most significant contemporary Japanese writers.

NO VISIBLE BRUISES: What We Don’t Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us by Rachel Louise Snyder

2 starred reviews! An award-winning journalist’s intimate investigation of the true scope of domestic violence, revealing how the roots of America’s most pressing social crises are buried in abuse that happens behind closed doors.

Winners will be announced on October 24, 2020.

Happy #PubDay (9/10/19)

Snarky necromancers + the rise of the nobodies + romantic pirate adventures + Bengali folklore + debut horror… welcome to our #PubDay celebration!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

A Library Journal Best Debut of Fall 2019 + September Indie Next pick + FOUR starred reviews!

“This extraordinary opening salvo will leave readers dying to know what happens next.“–Booklist, starred review

“An addictive, genre-bending book that will wow readers with its vibrant energy, endearing cast, and emotional gut-punch of a finale.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Readers will discuss this journey for a long time and be clamoring for the next installment.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Suspenseful and snarky, with surprising emotional depths.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE NOBODIES by Liza Palmer

“Palmer takes the Gen X vs. millennials story to another level in this fun novel.”–Library Journal

AT DEATH’S DOOR: A Deadman’s Cross Novel by Sherrilyn Kenyon

“The final romantic historical fantasy in Kenyon’s Deadman’s Cross trilogy is an over-the-top adventure.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Kirkus’s 30 Most Anticipated Fiction Books for Fall

Watch out for Kirkus’s most anticipated Fall fiction!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz

A September Indie Next pick + 2 starred reviews! A novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

THE FUTURE OF ANOTHER TIMELINE by Annalee Newitz

FOUR starred reviews! A story of time travel, murder, and the lengths we’ll go to protect the ones we love.

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

A PW Most Anticipated + FOUR starred reviews! The mesmerizing adult debut from Leigh Bardugo: a tale of power, privilege, dark magic, and murder set among the Ivy League elite.

THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner

A tender and expansive family drama set in the American Midwest at the turn of the century: a tale of adolescence, transgression, and the conditions that have given rise to the trolls and tyrants of the New Right.

SUICIDE WOODS by Benjamin Percy

A spine-tingling new collection of stories from the acclaimed author of THRILL ME and THE DARK NET.

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist has deemed them to be perfect for teens—and we agree!

GODS WITH A LITTLE G by Tupelo Hassman
From the acclaimed author of GIRLCHILD, this gritty, irreverent novel sees a young misfit grow into hope.

“GIRLCHILD won an Alex Award, and this novel is no less likely to inspire and reward literary-minded teens, especially aspiring writers.” —Booklist, YA Interest

THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center
From the New York Times bestselling author of HOW TO WALK AWAY comes a stunning new novel about courage, hope, and learning to love against all odds.

readmoreremove

Library Journal’s “Sleeper Hits for Fall 2019/Winter 2020” Webinar

Did you miss today’s Library Journal “Sleeper Hits for Fall 2019/Winter 2020” webinar? Here are the titles we talked about!

AMERICAN DIRT by Jeanine Cummins
BIG LIES IN A SMALL TOWN by Diane Chamberlain
CILKA’S JOURNEY by Heather Morris
FATHER OF LIONS by Louise Callaghan
FIND ME by André Aciman
THE GOD GAME by Danny Tobey
GOLDEN IN DEATH by J. D. Robb
A GOOD NEIGHBORHOOD by Therese Anne Fowler
JAY-Z: Made in America by Michael Eric Dyson
THE MIRROR & THE LIGHT by Hilary Mantel
MISS AUSTEN by Gill Hornby
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo
REMEMBRANCE by Rita Woods
SAINT X by Alexis Schaitkin
THE SECRET GUESTS by Benjamin Black
SHARKS IN THE TIME OF SAVIORS by Kawai Strong Washburn
TAKE ME APART by Sara Sligar
THE YELLOW BIRD SINGS by Jennifer Rosner
YOU ARE NOT ALONE by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

css.php