Articles tagged "Lindsay Hunter"

Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017”

Here are the books Buzzfeed can’t wait to read in 2017. We bet many of them will also end up on patrons’ to-read lists!

UNIVERSAL HARVESTER by John Darnielle
In John Darnielle’s novel UNIVERSAL HARVESTER, creepy, disturbing home video footage begins showing up spliced in VHS cassettes at the local Video Hut in a small Iowa town in the late 1990s. But things get even more interesting when the video store’s owner recognizes the barn in the footage as a farmhouse in a nearby town.

AGE OF ANGER by Pankaj Mishra
Pankaj Mishra’s v examines the roots of paranoia, hateful nationalism, xenophobia, and racism and sexism expressed online as well as across the world today. Mishra makes surprising comparisons and connections in order to show a pattern to the rise of militants throughout history, one that helps shed light on our present global state of affairs.

THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey
In Catherine Lacey’s novel THE ANSWERS, Mary, a young woman in New York City seeks relief for her paralyzing pain in a treatment called Pneuma Adaptive Kinesthesia, which is effective but extremely expensive—and Mary is broke. Strapped for cash, she applies for a Craigslist job listing called the “Girlfriend Experiment” by an eccentric actor looking for the perfect relationship (which involves seeking out multiple women to fulfill different roles) and ends up hired as his “Emotional Girlfriend.” readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (7/12/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon is also a July 2016 Library Reads & Indie Next pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “Exceptional… While secret after secret about the residents of Fairview add to the suspense, Forrester’s secrets may be the most stunning of all.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review


HEARTBREAKER by Maryse Meijer
A scarily brilliant debut story collection in the vein of Lindsay Hunter and Katherine Faw Morris. “The edgy stories in Meijer’s debut collection cut like so many wild teeth: sharp, deep, and unforgiving. A dark and surprising new voice in short fiction.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2016 LibraryReads Titles

July16LRcollage-editDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the July 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due May 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “I’m a sucker for dark, twisty, intricately-plotted psychological thrillers. I’m betting we’ll be seeing this title in a LOT of beach bags over the summer.” — Gregg Winsor, Johnson County Public Library, Overland Park KS

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

TRULY MADLY GUILTY by Liane Moriarty
The first new book by #1 New York Times bestselling author Liane Moriarty in two years! Six responsible adults. Three cute kids. One small dog. It’s just a normal weekend. What could possibly go wrong?

There are a limited quantity of print ARCs available only for public librarians​ actively nominating titles for LibraryReads. To request an ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Truly Madly Guilty” and your mailing address.*

AMONG THE WICKED by Linda Castillo
In the eighth book in Castillo’s bestselling series, Kate Burkholder goes undercover in an isolated and secretive Amish community in rural, upstate New York to investigate the death of a young girl. “Ripped-from-the-headlines writing from the New York Times best-selling author…” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Among the Wicked.”*

ABSALOM’S DAUGHTERS by Suzanne Feldman
Winner of the Missouri Review Editors’ Prize, Feldman takes on a lot of themes in this literary debut. Self-educated African American Cassie works in the family laundry in rural Mississippi, starry-eyed Judith is her white half-sister, and when they learn about an inheritance from their father, they jump in a banged-up old car and head through the 1950s Jim Crow South for Virginia. Not your ordinary road-trip novel; big in-house enthusiasm.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (11/4/14 Edition)

Join us in wishing a happy #BookBday to:

THE LAUGHING MONSTERS by Denis Johnson

“In a work that’s part spy novel and part buddy tale, Johnson aptly locates his portrayal of a shadowy world of complicated relationships and ever-shifting alliances in one of the more broken places on the planet. This is what you might get if you combined Casablanca‘s cynicism and sense of intrigue with a touch of Heart of Darkness post-9/11.”–Library Journal, starred review

*And don’t miss Joy Williams’s glowing review set to appear ON THE COVER of the 11/9 New York Times Book Review!

UNDENIABLE:Evolution and the Science of Creation by Bill Nye

With UNDENIABLE –a compelling, thought-provoking, and undeniable explanation as to why race does not really exist — you will discover the true promise and peril of genetically modified food and understand how new species are born in a dog kennel and in a London subway — take a stroll through 4.5 billion years of time, and explore the new search for alien life, including those surrounding each and every one of us, right here, on Earth.

“With his charming, breezy, narrative style, Bill empowers the reader to see the natural world as it is, not as some would wish it to be. He does it right. And, as I expected, he does it best.”–Neil deGrasse Tyson, Ph.D, host of COSMOS

UGLY GIRLS by Lindsay Hunter

“Hunter has done a superb job of establishing and maintaining mood and tone while creating a story that is compulsively readable. And that ending…”–Booklist

THE HEART DOES NOT GROW BACK by Fred Venturini

“Venturini’s melancholy but fascinating first novel is an invitation to think about altruism, ethics, and the tangled precincts of the human heart.”–Booklist, starred review

Library Journal Editors’ Fall picks

Library Journal editors revealed the Fall 2014 books they’re looking forward to the most, and three of them are from Macmillan:

BY THE BOOK: Writers on Literature and the Literary Life from The New York Times Book Review, edited by Pamela Paul
“I had to put down BY THE BOOK to do real work,” I wrote to one of LJ’s literature reviewers. The astute unabridged interviews feature a wide range of nonfiction and fiction writers such as Dan Savage, Neil Gaiman, and J.K. Rowling.
— Amanda Mastrull

THE ART OF NOISE: Conversations with Great Songwriters by Daniel Rachel
Originally published in the UK, it’s a thick volume that boasts new and in-depth interviews with 27 British songwriters whose popularity spans decades—everyone from Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe (Pet Shop Boys) to Noel Gallagher (Oasis) and Lily Allen talk about their craft. Read it cover to cover or skip around to your favorite artists. — Amanda Mastrull

UGLY GIRLS by Lindsay Hunter
When it comes to fiction, I’m always a sucker for a strong narrative voice that pulls me immediately into the story, and UGLY GIRLS, a tough but tender debut novel by acclaimed short story writer Lindsay Hunter, has it in spades. Teenage friends Perry, “who looked like some garden fairy,” and Baby Girl, “who wasn’t as pretty as Perry but meaner,” spend their days—and nights—cutting school, stealing cars for joyrides, eating fries at Denny’s, and texting Jamey, a high school boy who friended the girls on Facebook. But Perry and Baby Girl’s competitive relationship spirals into chaos when they discover that Jamey, who is obsessed with Perry, may not be who he says he is. — Wilda Williams
readmoreremove

css.php