Articles tagged "Library Journal’s “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” pick"

C.J. Box says, “THE DRY is the debut of the year.”

“Luke lied. You lied. Be at the funeral.”

This is the note Federal Agent Aaron Falk receives after hearing that his childhood best friend Luke has been found dead after committing a terrible crime in Jane Harper’s first mystery, THE DRY.

When Falk reluctantly returns to his hometown amid the worst drought in a century to see if there’s more to Luke’s death than there seems to be, a long-buried mystery from Falk’s past resurfaces and he finds that small towns have always hidden big secrets.

This phenomenal debut sold to 19 countries and Reese Witherspoon quickly snapped up the movie rights. Library Journal called THE DRY one of their “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” picks, and it’s received THREE starred reviews in addition to high praise from bestselling authors:

“A stunner… It’s a small-town, big-secrets page-turner with a shocker of an ending… Recommend this one to fans of James Lee Burke and Robert Crais, who mix elements of ‘bromance’ into their hard-boiled tales.”
Booklist, starred review

“From the ominous opening paragraphs, all the more chilling for their matter-of-factness, Harper, a journalist who writes for Melbourne’s Herald Sun, spins a suspenseful tale of sound and fury as riveting as it is horrific.”
Publishers Weekly, boxed & starred review

“A chilling story set under a blistering sun, this fine debut will keep readers on edge and awake long past bedtime.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss and see what all the buzz is about! (Don’t see the green button? Get whitelisted.)

More praise for THE DRY:

“It’s extremely rare and exciting to read a debut that enthralls from the very first page and then absolutely sticks the landing. Told with heart and guts and an authentic sense of place that simply cannot be faked, THE DRY is the debut of the year.” — #1 New York Times bestselling author C.J. Box

“One of the most stunning debuts I’ve ever read. I could feel the searing heat of the Australia setting. Every word is near perfect. The story builds like a wave seeking the purchase of earth before it crashes down and wipes out everything you might have thought about this enthralling tale. Read it!” — #1 New York Times bestselling author David Baldacci

“With THE DRY, Jane Harper immediately takes her place among the elites in the mystery world. If this book doesn’t garner an Edgar (Best First Novel) or two (Best Novel), there is no justice. Terrific characters, unique and evocative setting, knockout plot construction. This book has it all.” — New York Times bestselling author John Lescroart readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (8/16/16 Edition)

Lovely YA Librarians, we can’t wait to hear what you’ve been reading later today during Early Word YA Galley Chat (starts at 4pm EST, hashtag: #ewgcya), but first let us tell you about this month’s new teen and YA-OK adult titles:

THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF IVAN ISAENKO by Scott Stambach
An August 2016 Indie Next pick, a BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick, and one of Library Journal‘s “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” selections! A hilarious and powerful first novel about a disabled boy who finds love and hope in a Russian hospital. “An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE TREES by Ali Shaw
A terrifying and wildly imaginative novel that follows four survivors on a journey after the natural–and the supernatural–has reclaimed and transformed their world. “Shaw has written an exciting apocalyptic novel that blends in elements of magic realism. Gripping and occasionally brutal, this survival story highlights both the best and worst in humanity.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE GREATEST OF MARLYS by Lynda Barry
“Barry is one of American literature’s great chroniclers of childhood” (Publishers Weekly, starred review), and her most famous character from the long-running and landmark comic strip Ernie Pook’s Comeek, eight-year-old Marlys Mullen, shines in all her freckled and pig-tailed groovy glory in her very own collection of strips. “Beyond nostalgia, her deceptively simple art, in all its spareness, breaks your heart and makes you laugh, often at the same time.”
Booklist, starred review

ANNE OF GREEN BAGELS by Jon Buller & Susan Schade
On her first day at her new school, Anne is saddled with the nickname Anne of Green Bagels, thanks to the health-food sandwich her grandmother has made her for lunch. Can things get any worse? Find out in this middle grade hybrid comic/chapter book perfect for fans of Judy Blume. “…breezy entertainment with a suitably happy ending.” — Publishers Weekly

FEAR STREET SUPER THRILLER: SECRETS: THE LOST GIRL & CAN YOU KEEP A SECRET by R.L. Stine
Now in one volume, master of horror R.L. Stine delivers two bone-chilling stories of teens in danger in the small town of Shadyside, where danger and violence looms on every darkened street corner.

Also, did you see those cute WAR DOGS?! #woof readmoreremove

css.php