Articles tagged "Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors Pick"

Friday Reads: Fantasy

Our #FridayReads are three fantastic fantasies that will take you to exciting new worlds:

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE: Earthsinger Chronicles, Book One by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick with two starred reviews! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “This debut…shines a bright light into epic fantasy. Battle-scarred lands and peoples, ancient powers at war, star-crossed loves and hints of racial and refugee themes give this a solid place on library shelves.” —Library Journal, starred review

DEATH DOESN’T BARGAIN by Sherrilyn Kenyon
Also available in audio
“It’s back to the ‘Deadmen’s Cross’ series as the perennial No. 1 New York Times best-selling Kenyon continues an epic new fantasy adventure. When demons punch their way out of supposedly eternal imprisonment, Hellchaser Cameron Jack must rescue Kalder Dupree from vengeful demon Vine, never mind that Kalder is not exactly Mr. Nice Guy.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (5/1/18 Edition)

Look at these outstanding new releases, perfect for every patron:

MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
A May 2018 Indie Next pick and one of PW’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks with two starred reviews! “The subject of the new novel from Heti is neither birth nor child-rearing, but the question of whether to want a child, which the unnamed narrator calls ‘the greatest secret I keep from myself’…. This lively, exhilaratingly smart, and deliberately, appropriately frustrating affair asks difficult questions about women’s responsibilities and desires, and society’s expectations.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE: Earthsinger Chronicles, Book One by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick with two starred reviews! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “This debut…shines a bright light into epic fantasy. Battle-scarred lands and peoples, ancient powers at war, star-crossed loves and hints of racial and refugee themes give this a solid place on library shelves.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Friday Reads: #BookBday Debuts

TGIF! Our #FridayReads are two starry debut novels celebrating their #BookBday this week!

GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao
A March 2018 LibraryReads pick, a Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ pick, and a “Most Anticipated Book of 2018” with THREE starred reviews! A searing, electrifying debut novel set in India and America, about a once-in-a-lifetime friendship between two girls who are driven apart but never stop trying to find one another again. “Incredible storytelling… Highly recommended for book discussion groups, this tale of sacrifice, exploitation, and reclamation is not to be missed.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE COINCIDENCE MAKERS by Yoav Blum
What if the drink you just spilled, the train you just missed, or the lottery ticket you just found was not just a random occurrence? Meet the Coincidence Makers—Guy, Emily, and Eric—three seemingly ordinary people who work for a secret organization devoted to creating and carrying out carefully orchestrated events designed to spark significant changes in the lives of their targets. “Artfully blending elements of thriller, romance, and fantasy in beautiful prose, Blum’s novel is a flight of imagination that will echo in readers’ minds long after the last pages have been turned.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: May 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

SHELTER IN PLACE by Nora Roberts
One of Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks!Roberts’ latest polished novel delivers all the literary touchstones her fans have come to expect, including high-stakes suspense, a generous dollop of romance, a thoughtful exploration of the strong bonds of family and friendship that women create for themselves, and, of course, some HGTV fixer-upper moments. As a significant bonus, the book’s chilling, brutal opening scenes should be required reading for any politician waffling on the issue of gun control.” Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

DEATH DOESN’T BARGAIN by Sherrilyn Kenyon
“It’s back to the ‘Deadmen’s Cross’ series as the perennial No. 1 New York Times best-selling Kenyon continues an epic new fantasy adventure. When demons punch their way out of supposedly eternal imprisonment, Hellchaser Cameron Jack must rescue Kalder Dupree from vengeful demon Vine, never mind that Kalder is not exactly Mr. Nice Guy.”Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks and a most anticipated book of 2018, Heti’s daring new novel explores whether or not to have children. “…this lively, exhilaratingly smart, and deliberately, appropriately frustrating affair asks difficult questions about women’s responsibilities and desires, and society’s expectations. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Motherhood.”*

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “The tale is infused with optimism but never cloying, and it culminates in a well-earned and satisfying ending, leaving readers impatient for the next installment of the series. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
Two starred reviews! “A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

SOMETIMES I LIE and GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER are March 2018 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the March 2018 LibraryReads list!

Debuting at #4 is SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney
One of Bustle’s “2018 Debuts You Need in Your TBR Pile!” My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I’m in a coma. 2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. So opens this brilliant psychological thriller by former BBC news producer, Alice Feeney. “…a serpentine tale of betrayal, madness, and murder. Feeney is definitely a writer to watch.” — Publishers Weekly

 

Click to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook

Available from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Audio on March 13.

The #8 pick is GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao
Named a “Most Anticipated Book of 2018” by Huffington Post, Cosmopolitan, and Ms. Magazine, and a Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ pick with THREE starred reviews! A searing, electrifying debut novel set in India and America, about a once-in-a-lifetime friendship between two girls who are driven apart but never stop trying to find one another again. “Incredible storytelling… Highly recommended for book discussion groups, this tale of sacrifice, exploitation, and reclamation is not to be missed.” — Library Journal, starred review

Available from Flatiron Books on March 6. readmoreremove

css.php