Articles tagged "Library Journal Debut Novels pick"

Happy #BookBday (6/13/17 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
A June 2017 LibraryReads pick with three starred reviews! The second urban fantasy book in the Wayward Children series, following EVERY HEART A DOORWAY, explores what happened to Jack and Jill before they tumbled into Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children. “McGuire’s exquisitely written fairy tale is about the choices that can alter the course of a life forever, lost innocence, and what it is to love and be loved.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
A Library Journal Debut Novels pick, a Barnes & Noble Summer 2017 Discover Great New Writers pick, and one of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer!” A vivid, powerful portrait of Egypt’s failed revolution in 2011 shown through the eyes of Mariam and Khalil, two young people fighting at the front lines of the revolution in the streets of Cairo and its political underground. “Cofounder of the Palestine Festival of Literature, Hamilton turns in a relentlessly readable work that both informs and humbles.” — Library Journal, starred review

SO MUCH BLUE by Percival Everett
A June 2017 Indie Next pick and one of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer!” “An artist ponders a painting he wants to keep private along with the back stories that inspired it, the secrets that continue to haunt him. Everett continues to wrestle with issues such as artistic identity and inspiration, the relation between artists and their art, the notions of what a narrator reveals and conceals, but rarely have the results been as engrossing as this.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

B&N Summer 2017 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble’s Summer 2017 Discover Great New Writers program includes five Macmillan titles!

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
A Library Journal Debut Novels pick and one of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer!”  A vivid, powerful portrait of Egypt’s failed revolution in 2011 shown through the eyes of Mariam and Khalil, two young people fighting at the front lines of the revolution in the streets of Cairo and its political underground. “Cofounder of the Palestine Festival of Literature, Hamilton turns in a relentlessly readable work that both informs and humbles.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE MIGHTY FRANKS: A Memoir by Michael Frank
A psychologically acute memoir about an unusual and eccentric Hollywood family. “Complex and fascinating… Readers will be enthralled by the affecting portraits of the two central figures: the aunt whose drive and charming idiosyncrasies concealed an impulsive cruelty, and the child struggling to make sense of the complex, damaged woman trying to control him.” — Publishers Weekly

HAPPINESS: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After by Heather Harpham
“An award-winning writer, performer, and teacher of physical theater/improvisation, Harpham tells a heartrending story of young love, getting pregnant, her partner’s lack of interest in having children, returning home alone, then discovering hours after giving birth that something was dangerously wrong with her baby. There are terrible choices to make and a crooked little road to follow toward some kind of radiant happiness.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert readmoreremove

css.php