Articles tagged "Liberia"

Donna Seaman Interviews Wayétu Moore

Earlier this month, Booklist‘s Donna Seaman interviewed debut novelist Wayétu Moore about SHE WOULD BE KING, the fifth Sarah Jessica Parker Pick for Book Club Central. The two covered everything from the importance of telling stories to how Liberian history is central to that of our own. Read on.

Click for a Discussion GuideRead-Alike TitlesDownloadable Images, and an Interview.

 

SHE WOULD BE KING is SJP’s New Book Club Central Pick!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Wayétu Moore’s SHE WOULD BE KING is Sarah Jessica Parker’s next Book Club Central Pick!

The #1 September 2018 Indie Next pick!

One of Library Journal’s Best Fall 2018 Debuts!

One of Publishers Weekly’s Most Anticipated Fall 2018 Debuts!

A BookExpo 2018 Editor’s Buzz Book!

Named a Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2018 by Huffington Post & Buzzfeed!

“It’s a privilege to announce SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore as the new selection for Book Club Central. This novel dazzles with beauty and transcendent, transformative humanity. Through the stories of Gbessa, June Dey, and Norman Aragon, Wayétu Moore illuminates what it means to be of and from places that are both faraway and inescapably familiar. I treasured every moment I spent in the pages of this book, and I’m thrilled to be able share it with all of you.” — Sarah Jessica Parker, Honorary Chair of ALA Book Club Central

The fondest memories of my childhood are those that included libraries. Our visits were ritual and offered me the comfort and escape I occasionally needed. So, I’m absolutely honored that SHE WOULD BE KING has been chosen by Sarah Jessica Parker for the American Library Association’s Book Club Central.” — Wayétu Moore

Praise for SHE WOULD BE KING:

“Moore’s stunning debut novel is a magic-realism tour de force taking readers on a journey through the beginnings of Liberia. There is an aching sweetness to Moore’s writing that effectively captures the dichotomous and vulnerable strength of her protagonists and catapults this into the realm of books that cast a long-lingering spell.” — Booklist, starred review

“As with Yaa Gyasi’s HOMEGOING, this work will appeal to lovers of African, African American, and literary fiction.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

PW’s Writers to Watch Fall 2018: Anticipated Debuts

Publishers Weekly‘s most anticipated debuts of Fall 2018 include these three Macmillan standouts:

THE GOLDEN STATE by Lydia Kiesling
In Lydia Kiesling’s THE GOLDEN STATE (MCD, Sept.), a mother goes with her toddler to a region of northeast California in the grips of a secessionist movement. Before settling on that subject, however, Kiesling says she “wanted to write a bureaucracy novel, which is a huge formal challenge.” She scrapped it but sees a connection between administrative work and child rearing. “Motherhood is its own form of boredom,” she notes.

Kiesling’s thrilling handling of that boredom attracted her editor, Emily Bell. “I was first drawn into THE GOLDEN STATE by the pacing and energy of the writing—to create such mighty momentum in a book that’s grappling with the tedium of motherhood is enormously impressive to me,” Bell says.

SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore
The first draft of Wayétu Moore’s SHE WOULD BE KING (Graywolf, Sept.), a magical realist account of the founding of Liberia, was twice the length and more fantastical than the final version. “So, there was an alien narrator,” Moore says, laughing. “I recognized that I was asking a lot of the reader, so I cut it in half and toned down the magical realism/fantasy/sci-fi elements.”

Ranging across a Virginia plantation, Jamaica, and Liberia, the novel follows three characters, each of whom is blessed with a supernatural gift and whose paths converge in the burgeoning republic. “Liberia was this beautiful experiment about what would happen if you bring people together from Africa and the Caribbean and America,” says Moore, who with her sister cofounded One Moore Book, a publishing nonprofit seeking to “create more books for those underrepresented readers who are most vulnerable.” readmoreremove

BookExpo 2018 Editors’ Buzz Picks

We’re thrilled to have three Macmillan titles chosen for BookExpo’s 2018 Editors’ Buzz panels:

SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore
Available September 11, 2018 from Graywolf Press
Adult Editor’s Buzz Panel Selection
Moore’s powerful debut novel blends history and magical realism in a reimagining of the dramatic story of Liberia’s early years through three unforgettable characters who share an uncommon bond.

SMALL ANIMALS: Parenthood in the Age of Fear by Kim Brooks
Available August 21, 2018 from Flatiron Books
Adult Editor’s Buzz Panel Selection
A compelling blend of personal memoir, investigative reporting, and sociological criticism about parenthood and fear—based on a viral essay by an author whose work has been called “striking” (New York Times Book Review) and “beautiful” (National Book Critics Circle).

SADIE by Courtney Summers
Available September 4, 2018 from Wednesday Books
Young Adult Editor’s Buzz Panel Selection
A gripping novel about the depth of a sister’s love, a missing girl on a journey of revenge, and a Serial-like podcast following the clues she’s left behind.

Don’t forget to get your free tickets for “An Evening With Senator Bernie Sanders” (Thursday, May 31 from 6:15-7:15pm), where he’ll discuss his new book, WHERE WE GO FROM HERE.

readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Science & Medicine

Today’s #FridayReads delve into the miracles of modern medicine and the Ebola epidemic:

MERCIES IN DISGUISE: A Story of Hope, a Family’s Genetic Destiny, and the Science That Rescued Them by Gina Kolata
An April 2017 Indie Next pick and one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017! In this work of narrative nonfiction in the tradition of THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS, New York Times science reporter Kolata follows a family through genetic illness and one courageous daughter who decides her fate shall no longer be decided by a genetic flaw. “Kolata delivers an inspiring chronicle of a remarkable family, medical advances, and redefining destiny.” — Booklist

INFERNO: A Doctor’s Ebola Story by Steven Hatch, M.D.
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017 with three starred reviews! “Hatch, a physician and assistant professor of medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, rivetingly recounts his work in an Ebola treatment unit in Liberia at the height of the deadly West African outbreak in 2014–2015. Hatch’s chronicle is a compassionate, clear-eyed, and courageous account of how compassionate medical care proves a formidable force against the ravages of Ebola.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. Happy weekend!

Nonfiction All-Stars

We’re seeing lots of stars for these terrific nonfiction titles:

THE NOVEL OF THE CENTURY: The Extraordinary Adventure of Les Misérables by David Bellos — 3 stars!
“A renowned French translator explores the life and legacy of Les Misérables. Anyone who loves Hugo, France, and the French language will revel in this delightful book that explains all the intimacies of 19th-century French life.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The story of how Victor Hugo’s classic novel came to life is a challenging, complex, and utterly engrossing epic all its own.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The astonishing story of a story.” — Booklist, starred review

INFERNO: A Doctor’s Ebola Story by Steven Hatch, M.D. — 3 stars!
“Hatch, a physician and assistant professor of medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, rivetingly recounts his work in an Ebola treatment unit in Liberia at the height of the deadly West African outbreak in 2014–2015. Hatch’s chronicle is a compassionate, clear-eyed, and courageous account of how compassionate medical care proves a formidable force against the ravages of Ebola.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“…an outstandingly well-written, page-turning memoir…nothing short of a literary miracle. This is a masterful work that deserves sharp notice—truly, a game changer that should share a shelf with the works of Philip Gourevitch and Adam Hochschild.” — Booklist, starred review

“Hatch’s writing is elegant, and at times deeply moving as he shares the pathos of his patients, the staff of the treatment unit, and his own hopes and frustrations. Readers who are interested in global health, medical education, and biographies in general will be moved by this account for its humanity, honesty, and lucid writing.”
Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php