Articles tagged "Liam Mulligan series"

Thriller Thursday (9/8/16 Edition)

thrillerthurs-9-8-16Happy #ThrillerThursday to series regulars and new mysteries:

THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart
THREE starred reviews! “Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

BECAUSE I’M WATCHING by Christina Dodd
THREE starred reviews! “Dodd continues her flawless pivoting from romance to suspense with the third book in her riveting series set in the small Washington town of Virtue Falls. Scary, sexy, and smartly written, BECAUSE I’M WATCHING is Dodd at the top of her game.” — Booklist, starred review

KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. Balson
A saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to fulfill a promise, return to Poland and find two sisters lost during World War II. “Readers who crave more books like Balson’s ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS and Kristin Hannah’s best-selling THE NIGHTINGALE will be enthralled by KAROLINA’S TWINS.”
Booklist, starred review

STRIPPED BARE by Shannon Baker
Featured in a recent Library Journal mystery spotlight, STRIPPED BARE stars Kate Fox, a female Walt Longmire in Nebraska’s cattle country, who must find the person who shot her cheating husband, the county sheriff. “Baker’s writing evokes the beauty of the Nebraska Sandhills, and her colorful cast of secondary characters adds a depth of charm. Devotees of Craig Johnson’s ‘Walt Longmire’ series and fans of Judy Clemens are sure to appreciate this title.” — Library Journal, starred review & September 2016 Pick of the Month  readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (4/9/15 Edition)

Today’s #ThrillerThursday picks star a couple of reporters, a bookseller-turned-sleuth and an officer forced to marry against his will!

A SCOURGE OF VIPERS by Bruce DeSilva
Two stars for Edgar-winner DeSilva’s excellent fourth Liam Mulligan novel, which finds the Providence, RI investigative journalist pursuing the truth behind a series of murders that appear linked to the governor, colorfully known as “Attila the Nun.” “DeSilva’s Edgar and Macavity Award-winning books is a consistently well-written hard-boiled series. Quality all the way.” — Library Journal, starred review

COMPULSION by Allison Brennan
NYC investigative reporter Max Revere is convinced a recently captured serial killer is hiding more bodies, but police won’t listen to her. “Investigative reporter Maxine Revere returns in this strong follow-up to NOTORIOUS. The pacing is relentless, and the suspense just keeps building until the satisfying ending. An excellent addition to the series.” — Booklist
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php