Articles tagged "Layli Long Soldier"

2017 National Book Critics Circle Awards Finalists

The National Book Critics Circle honored three Macmillan authors and named seven of our titles as finalists for the 2017 NBCC Awards:

Fiction
THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott

Nonfiction
BORDER: A Journey to the Edge of Europe by Kapka Kassabova

Biography
PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser

Autobiography
ADMISSIONS: A Life in Brain Surgery by Henry Marsh

Poetry
WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier

Criticism
THE ART OF DEATH: Writing the Final Story by Edwidge Danticat
BUNK: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts and Fake News by Kevin Young

John McPhee (DRAFT NO. 4: On the Writing Process) is the recipient of the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award. Named after the first president of the NBCC, the award is given annually to a person or institution, who has, over time, made significant contributions to book culture.

Carmen Maria Machado’s debut story collection, HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES, is the recipient of the fourth annual John Leonard Prize, established to recognize outstanding first books in any genre and named in honor of founding NBCC member John Leonard.

The recipient of the 2017 Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing is Charles Finch. Finch is the author of the Charles Lenox mysteries, including THE WOMAN IN THE WATER and A BEAUTIFUL BLUE DEATH, which was nominated for an Agatha Award and was named one of Library Journal’s Best Books of 2007.

The full list of nominees can be seen here. The winners will be named March 15.

2018 PEN Literary Awards Nominees

The PEN American Center announced the nominees for the 2018 PEN Literary Awards and they include these Macmillan titles:
Shortlisted (full list)

PEN/Jean Stein Book Award
WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier
BUNK: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News by Kevin Young

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado

PEN Open Book Award (For an exceptional book-length work of literature by an author of color published in 2017)
LESSONS ON EXPULSION: Poems by Erika L. Sanchez

PEN Translation Prize
THE IMPOSSIBLE FAIRY TALE by Han Yujoo

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay
FLANEUSE: Women Walk the City in Paris, New York, Tokyo, Venice, and London by Lauren Elkin

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography
YOU SAY TO BRICK: The Life of Louis Kahn by Wendy Lesser

PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award
THE BUTCHERING ART: Joseph Lister’s Quest to Transform the Grisly World of Victorian Medicine by Lindsey Fitzharris

Longlisted (full list)

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction
THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY by Cherise Wolas

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay
THE ART OF DEATH: Writing the Final Story by Edwidge Danticat

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography
THE TRIALS OF A SCOLD: The Incredible True Story of Writer Anne Royall by Jeff Biggers
HOUSMAN COUNTRY: Into the Heart of England by Peter Parker readmoreremove

NPR’s 2017 Book Concierge Picks

NPR’s Book Concierge is live and it includes nearly 50 Macmillan titles!!

300 ARGUMENTS: Essays by Sarah Manguso
4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster
AFFLUENCE WITHOUT ABUNDANCE: The Disappearing World Of The Bushmen by James Suzman
AGE OF ANGER: A History Of the Present by Pankaj Mishra
THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey
AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz
BAKING WITH KAFKA by Tom Gauld
BASED ON A TRUE STORY by Delphine de Vigan
THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY AND THE MIDDLE KINGDOM: America And China, 1776 To The Present by John Pomfret
BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki
BUNK: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, And Fake News by Kevin Young
THE BUTCHERING ART: Joseph Lister’s Quest to Transform the Grisly World of Victorian Medicine by Lindsey Fitzharris
DARE NOT LINGER: The Presidential Years by Nelson Mandela and Mandla Langa
THE DARK DARK by Samatha Hunt
DRAFT NO. 4: On The Writing Process by John McPhee
THE DRY by Jane Harper
EAT ONLY WHEN YOU’RE HUNGRY by Lindsay Hunter
FEN: Stories by Daisy Johnson
FIRE!!: The Zora Neale Hurston Story by Peter Bagge
FRESH COMPLAINT: Stories by Jeffrey Eugenides
GHOSTS OF THE TSUNAMI: Death And Life In Japan’s Disaster Zone by Richard Lloyd Parry
GLASS HOUSES by Louise Penny
GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
HOSTAGE by Guy Delisle
ISADORA by Amelia Gray
KEEPING ON KEEPING ON by Alan Bennett
THE LAST KID LEFT by Rosecrans Baldwin
LOCKING UP OUR OWN: Crime and Punishment in Black America by James Forman, Jr.
LOTUS by Lijia Zhang
MARLENA by Julie Buntin
MY LESBIAN EXPERIENCE WITH LONELINESS by Nagata Kabi
MY LIFE, MY LOVE, MY LEGACY by Coretta Scott King, as told to Barbara Reynolds
THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott
ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
RIVER OF TEETH by Sarah Gailey
THE SEVENTH FUNCTION OF LANGUAGE by Laurent Binet
SOURDOUGH by Robin Sloan
TOO MUCH AND NOT IN THE MOOD: Essays by Durga Chew-Bose
TWIN PEAKS: THE FINAL DOSSIER by Mark Frost
UNIVERSAL HARVESTER by John Darnielle readmoreremove

New York Times Notable Books of 2017

The gray lady picked 14 Macmillan titles:

Fiction & Poetry
THE DARK FLOOD RISES by Margaret Drabble
4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster
FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides
THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott
SIX FOUR by Hideo Yokoyama
TRANSIT by Rachel Cusk
WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier

Nonfiction
AGE OF ANGER: A History of the Present by Pankaj Mishra
BUNK: The Rise of Hoaxes, Humbug, Plagiarists, Phonies, Post-Facts, and Fake News by Kevin Young
FLANEUSE: Women Walk the City in Paris, New York, Tokyo, Venice, and London by Lauren Elkin
LOCKING UP OUR OWN: Crime and Punishment in Black America by James Forman Jr. (a NYTBR Top Ten pick!)
NOTES ON A FOREIGN COUNTRY: An American Abroad in a Post-American World by Suzy Hansen
PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser (a NYTBR Top Ten pick!)
YOU SAY TO BRICK: The Life of Louis Kahn by Wendy Lesser

See these and many more titles in Macmillan’s Best Books of 2017 Edelweiss collection. We’ll update it as more “Best of 2017” lists come in. #CollectionDevelopmentMadeEasy

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2017

Library Journal’s Best Books of 2017 lists include 12 Macmillan titles:

Top Ten Books of 2017 (full list)
THE NINTH HOUR by Alice McDermott

Mystery (full list)
GLASS HOUSES by Louise Penny

SF/Fantasy (full list)
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz

Thrillers (full list)
THE LOST ORDER by Steve Berry
THE SABOTEUR by Andrew Gross readmoreremove

2017 National Book Award Finalists

We’ve got the write stuff: FOUR Macmillan titles are shortlisted for the 2017 National Book Awards!

Fiction
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado

Poetry
HALF-LIGHT: Collected Poems 1965-2016 by Frank Bidart
WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier
DON’T CALL US DEAD: Poems by Danez Smith

Winners will be announced on November 15. #FingersCrossed!

 

NBA Poetry Longlist

Next up from the National Book Awards is the poetry longlist:

Frank Bidart, Half-light: Collected Poems 1965-2016 
Layli Long Soldier, Whereas 
Danez Smith, Don’t Call Us Dead: Poems
Mai Der Vang, Afterland 

Summer 2017 Indie Next Picks for Book Clubs

S17IndieBookClubThe Summer 2017 Indie Next List for Reading Groups includes seven Macmillan titles!

Top Ten
SLEEPING ON JUPITER by Anuradha Roy
ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders

Small Bites
100 ESSAYS I DON’T HAVE TIME TO WRITE by Sarah Ruhl
WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier readmoreremove

Buzzfeed’s “31 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Spring”

BuzzfeedS17Buzzfeed picked seven standout books from Macmillan as part of their “Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Spring” feature:

WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier
Layli Long Soldier’s powerful poetry collection WHEREAS challenges the United States government’s treatment of and relationship with Native American peoples and tribes. Elegant, innovative, and necessary, WHEREAS examines a history of violence and treaties and apologies, and reclaims the legal jargon once used to control Native peoples as a form of resistance.

THE FACT OF A BODY by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich
Part murder mystery and part memoir, Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich’s THE FACT OF A BODY is the haunting story of how one convicted murderer and pedophile’s case forced her to grapple with family secrets and her own past. Working a summer internship at a Louisiana capital murder defense firm, Marzano-Lesnevich digs into one case that begins to feel oddly familiar, and eventually is forced to confront her understanding of justice, forgiveness, and truth.

BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer
In Jeff VanderMeer’s BORNE, a young woman named Rachel survives as a scavenger in a dangerous, ruined city filled with discarded experiments from a biotech firm. When Rachel discovers a strange creature hidden in the fur of a giant bear who terrorizes the city, she decides to name the creature “Borne” and brings him home to the sanctuary where she lives. As Rachel’s attachment to Borne grows, so does he, and his existence eventually begins to threaten the security of her home and the city’s balance of power. Extraordinarily imaginative and wonderfully strange, BORNE will constantly keep you guessing. readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: March 2017 Indie Next List

indie nextThe March 2017 Indie Next list includes five Macmillan titles!

EDGAR AND LUCY by Victor Lodato
Two starred reviews for this second novel from the author of the award-winning MATHILDA SAVITCH, about the complicated love a mother has for her unusual child and vice versa, and their drive to create family wherever they can find it. “Through numerous changing viewpoints, the truth is gradually revealed, creating suspense and rewarding readers with unexpected parallels and touching connections. Lodato’s remarkable novel traces a broken family’s spiritual journey toward healing in moving, magical prose.” — Booklist, starred review

ABANDON ME by Melissa Febos
For readers of Maggie Nelson and Leslie Jamison, a fierce and dazzling personal narrative that explores the many ways identity and art are shaped by love and loss. “What might be mere navel-gazing for a less brilliant author is made powerfully universal here. Febos’s awakening to her full identity, even its ugliness, is a powerful and redemptive epic.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NEVER LET YOU GO by Chevy Stevens
In the new novel from the LibraryReads author of THOSE GIRLS, Lindsey Nash escaped an abusive marriage and has successfully started her life over with her daughter—or so she thought. “Gripping… The difficulty of reading this book as a survivor must be emphasized; those of us who’ve endured domestic violence will recognize our lasting terrors and looking-over-our-shoulder habits in these pages and in this woman, as Stevens’ portrayal is spot-on. At the same time, survivors will want to pass the book on to everyone who ever asked them why they didn’t just leave. A must for public libraries.” — Booklist readmoreremove

css.php