Articles tagged "LAST NIGHT A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives"

2016 Summer Reading Roundup

Major media declared these 27 Macmillan books Summer 2016 must-reads:
Fiction

TRULY MADLY GUILTY by Liane Moriarty (Entertainment Weekly, St. Louis Post Dispatch)
THE CHILDREN by Ann Leary (People Magazine)
THE SPORT OF KINGS by C.E. Morgan (O Magazine)
THE GOOD LIEUTENANT by Whitney Terrell (Buzzfeed)
GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS by Max Porter (Wall Street Journal)
REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart (St. Louis Post Dispatch)
SOME POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS by Helen Phillips (O Magazine)
A WIFE OF NOBLE CHARACTER by Yvonne Georgina Puig (St. Louis Post Dispatch)

Thrillers & Horror

THE 14TH COLONY by Steve Berry (New York Times Book Review)
THE BALLAD OF BLACK TOM by Victor LaValle (New York Times Book Review)

Nonfiction & Memoir

IN THE DARKROOM by Susan Faludi (O Magazine, People Magazine)
THE AUCTIONEER: Adventures in the Art Trade by Simon de Pury (“Good Morning America”)
THE GLAMOUR OF STRANGENESS: Artists and the Last Age of the Exotic by Jamie James (St. Louis Post Dispatch)
LAST NIGHT, A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives by Liesa Mignogna (“Good Morning America”)
NEVER A DULL MOMENT: 1971-The Year That Rock Exploded by David Hepworth (O Magazine)
THIS IS NOT MY BEAUTIFUL LIFE by Victoria Fedden (O Magazine)

Travel & Nature

BEING A BEAST: Adventures Across the Species Divide by Charles Foster (New York Times, Wall Street Journal)
Read the New York Times interview with Charles Foster on his research for BEING A BEAST!
THE HOUR OF LAND: A Personal Topography of America’s National Parks by Terry Tempest Williams (O Magazine)
FOLLOWING FISH: One Man’s Journey into the Food and Culture of the Indian Coast by Samanth Subramanian (New York Times Book Review)
HOW TO TALK ABOUT PLACES YOU’VE NEVER BEEN: On the Importance of Armchair Travel by Pierre Bayard (New York Times Book Review)
PUTIN COUNTRY by Anne Garrels (New York Times Book Review)
UNDER THE STARS: How America Fell in Love with Camping by Dan White (O Magazine)
WORLDS ELSEWHERE: Journeys Around Shakespeare’s Globe by Andrew Dickson (New York Times Book Review)

Sports

THE ONLY RULE IS IT HAS TO WORK: Our Wild Experiment Building a New Kind of Baseball Team by Ben Lindbergh & Sam Miller (New York Times Book Review)

Comics

HOT DOG TASTE TEST by Lisa Hanawalt (Wall Street Journal)
MARY WEPT OVER THE FEET OF JESUS: Prostitution and Religious Obedience in the Bible by Chester Brown (New York Times Book Review)

YA

THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi (New York Times Book Review)

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Roundup

These new & forthcoming science fiction & fantasy titles will transport you to another world:

SPELLS OF BLOOD AND KIN by Claire Humphrey
“Human warmth underlies this exciting and furiously paced fable of fur, fangs, and family. Emphasizing intricate family dynamics alongside shape-changing and magic, Humphrey’s debut merges victim and victimizer, reality and the occult. This paranormal tale stands out even in its very crowded field.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE BIG SHEEP by Robert Kroese
Sherlock meets Blade Runner in this novel that explores society’s fascination with celebrity in a futuristic dystopic LA, with a genetically modified sheep in the center of it all. “Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Douglas Adams’s ‘Dirk Gently’ novels will find things to love in Kroese’s latest.” — Library Journal, starred review

TIME SIEGE by Wesley Chu
“In this engrossing sequel to TIME SALVAGER, Chu continues a futuristic saga that pits fugitive time traveler James Griffin-Mars and his allies, who seek to rescue a ravaged Earth from utter destruction, against Valta, the megacorporation that rules the galaxies. The story’s intricate plotting, breathtaking battles, and hefty doses of cruelty, betrayal, sacrifice, courage, and hope culminate in a cliff-hanger that will leave readers longing for the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

INFOMOCRACY by Malka Older
Little Brother meets The West Wing in this “sparkling debut”* high-tech political cyberthriller about a global information monopoly attempting to prevent election sabotage and world war. “This intriguing thought experiment is perfectly timed to leave readers pondering the meaning of voting and representative government in the run-up to the 2016 elections.” — *Publishers Weekly

LAST NIGHT A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives by Liesa Mignogna
An anthology of essays exploring the origins of bestselling and award-winning authors’ relationships to their favorite superheroes. “This is a collection with a lot of heart and variety; each piece takes the premise in a different direction and unveils in compelling ways why these superheroes are so revered.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

css.php