Articles tagged "Laetitia Rodd series"

Thriller Thursday (9/15/16 Edition)

Historical mysteries, a spy thriller, and a tropical debut get our #ThrillerThursday stamp of approval:

THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders
A September 2016 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! “Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.”
Booklist, starred review

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
From the author of APPLE TREE YARD comes a masterful espionage thriller “in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). “Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. Harper’s backstory is richly detailed, and his budding relationship with Rita is convincing. Finally, the role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre.” — Library Journal, starred review

SUN, SAND, MURDER by John Keyse-Walker
Winner of the Minotaur Books/MWA First Crime Novel Award! Teddy Creque’s life turns upside down when a tourist is murdered on his peaceful, remote tropical island, Anegada. “Spectacular as a Caribbean sunset, Keyse-Walker’s debut is a well-paced puzzler no one should miss.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

DAISY IN CHAINS & THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE are September 2016 LibraryReads Picks

libraryreads logo squareFANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has two books on the September 2016 LibraryReads list!
Coming in at #5 is DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton

The new standalone novel from the LibraryReads author of LITTLE BLACK LIES! A criminal defense attorney with a reputation for getting the wrongly convicted exonerated is drawn into the machinations of a serial killer who claims innocence. “No detail should be missed, no nuance overlooked in Bolton’s chilling tale of a master manipulator who leaves nothing to chance.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Available from Minotaur Books on September 20.

Rounding out the list at #10 is THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders

“Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.” Booklist, starred review

“Readers who relish the puzzle of a well-done Victorian-set mystery with a resourceful female detective will take pleasure in this series launch by a prolific British author and journalist.” Library Journal, starred review

Available from Bloomsbury on September 13; also available in trade paperback.

See the complete September 2016 list at LibraryReads.org.

Oh My (Mystery) Stars!

The *stars* are piling up for these six outstanding mysteries:

BECAUSE I’M WATCHING by Christina Dodd — THREE STARS!
“Dodd continues her flawless pivoting from romance to suspense with the third book in her riveting series set in the small Washington town of Virtue Falls. Scary, sexy, and smartly written, BECAUSE I’M WATCHING is Dodd at the top of her game.”
Booklist, starred review

“Two emotionally damaged characters find hope, self-forgiveness, and love in this exquisitely crafted, modern version of Gaslight that hooks readers and keeps them mesmerized until the end. A chilling and gripping tale, beautifully done. ” — Library Journal, starred review

“Romantic suspense favorite Dodd heads back to Virtue Falls for another smart, dramatic mystery that will keep readers flipping pages until the very end, with unexpected twists, psychological tension, and emotional depth. Another Virtue Falls winner.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart — THREE STARS!
“Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du. The isolated and eerie manor setting is reminiscent of a classic golden age puzzle mystery, and Hart populates it with well-rounded characters.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Fans of the first book who wished to know more about the enigmatic Li Du will be well rewarded here. Readers who appreciate historical mysteries, especially the classic ‘Judge Dee’ series by Robert van Gulik, will be enthralled by this fascinating mystery.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Hart is a gifted storyteller… Her writing is intensely detailed, and vivid images range from the bells and bright red plumes of the caravan donkeys to the demon-inspired ornamentation of a mountaintop monastery. Highly recommended for fans of Robert Van Gulik’s venerated Judge Dee stories, and readers lamenting the conclusion of Laura Joh Rowland’s Sano Ichiro series.” — Booklist, starred review

BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by B.A. Paris
An August 2016 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick! “Debut-novelist Paris adroitly toggles between the recent past and the present in building the suspense of Grace’s increasingly unbearable situation, as time becomes critical and her possible solutions narrow. This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” — Booklist, starred review

“Making her smash debut, Paris switches chapters between the present and the recent past, taking us along on Grace’s journey and keeping the suspense level high. In the same vein as GONE GIRL or GIRL ON THE TRAIN, this is a can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE DRY by Jane Harper
A Library Journal “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” pick!A stunner… It’s a small-town, big-secrets page-turner with a shocker of an ending… Recommend this one to fans of James Lee Burke and Robert Crais, who mix elements of ‘bromance’ into their hard-boiled tales.” — Booklist, starred review

“From the ominous opening paragraphs, all the more chilling for their matter-of-factness, Harper, a journalist who writes for Melbourne’s Herald Sun, spins a suspenseful tale of sound and fury as riveting as it is horrific.” — Publishers Weekly, boxed & starred review
readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: September 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the September 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
THREE starred reviews! Foer’s “intensely imagined and richly rewarding”* new novel focuses on the unraveling of a Jewish-American family in Washington DC over a 4-week span, during which time an earthquake sets off a Pan-Israel invasion. “Foer fuses these complex strands with his never-wavering hand. That he can provide such a redemptive denouement, at once poignant, inspirational, and compassionate, is the mark of a thrillingly gifted writer.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
The new standalone novel from the LibraryReads author of LITTLE BLACK LIES!
A criminal defense attorney with a reputation for getting the wrongly convicted exonerated is drawn into the machinations of a serial killer who claims innocence. “Bolton has created a page-turner of a story with a surprise ending.” — Elizabeth Kanouse, Denville Public Library, Denville, NJ on LITTLE BLACK LIES

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Daisy in Chains” and include your library’s mailing address.*

CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein
This debut collection of speculative short fiction for our tech-savvy era is an ABA Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce selection. “[Weinstein’s] stories look like SF but read like literary fiction. Calling all fans of Margaret Atwood and Emily St. John Mandel.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE SECRETS OF WISHTIDE by Kate Saunders
Combining the strengths of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and M. C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin, Laetitia Rodd towers over both of these genteel sleuths in wit, tact, and ingenuity. The book is a sheer delight, with its deliciously intricate puzzle and well-drawn characters whom readers are sure to continue to enjoy in volumes to come.” Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Secrets of Wishtide.”*

KAROLINA’S TWINS by Ronald H. Balson
A saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivor’s quest to fulfill a promise, return to Poland and find two sisters lost during World War II. “Readers who crave more books like Balsam’s ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS and Kristin Hannah’s best-selling THE NIGHTINGALE will be enthralled by KAROLINA’S TWINS.”
Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart
“Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du.” Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Hart, in a twist on the classic British county manor mystery, adds her characteristic elegantly crafted atmosphere and keen eye for character and writes with an ease and an assurance that makes it feel like this is her twenty-second book, not just her second.” — Gregg Winsor, Johnson County Public Library, Overland Park KS

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “White Mirror” and include your library’s mailing address.*

MAD ENCHANTMENT: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies by Ross King
A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick with THREE starred reviews! “Best-selling King consummately meshes biography with art history as he turns the creation of one resounding masterpiece into a portal onto the artist’s life. Never before has the full drama and significance of Monet’s magnificent Water Lilies been conveyed with such knowledge and perception, empathy and wonder.” — Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Mad Enchantment.”*
readmoreremove

css.php