Articles tagged "Kristi Chadwick"

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

Librarians “Shout ‘n Share” Their Favorite BEA 2015 Picks!

Last Friday we rounded out a terrific BEA 2015 with the annual Shout ‘n Share panel. Here’s what your librarian pals found on the show floor to rave about:

Columbus Metropolitan Library’s Robin Nesbitt kicked it off with some genre love, highlighting THE TRAITOR BARU CORMORANT by Seth Dickinson (“It’s like THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS meets GUNS, GERMS, AND STEEL!”) and Sarah Ward’s debut mystery, IN BITTER CHILL, which she said is perfect for fans of Louise Penny, Sharon Bolton, and Elizabeth George.

New York Public Library/Bookops’s Charlene Rue was captivated by Damon Tweedy’s medical memoir, BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT, which was also a BEA Editor’s Buzz pick.

Massachusetts Library System’s Kristi Chadwick loved Elsa Hart’s historical mystery debut about an exiled librarian, JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN. “The language, the prose is so beautiful it takes you into the story and keeps you going page after page.” She also gave two enthusiastic thumbs up for Jenny Lawson’s humorous memoir of mental illness, FURIOUSLY HAPPY, saying, “she knows how to hit the heart and make sure you know you’re not alone if you’re struggling with this.”

Baltimore County Public Library’s Jamie Watson tweeted that if she had more time she would have called out Maggie Mitchell’s PRETTY IS.

Library Journal‘s Wilda Williams shared that reading THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black “will make you want to lock all the doors in your house,” and she revealed that Saul Black is a pseudonym for bestselling author Glen Duncan, who wrote THE LAST WEREWOLF. She also recommended THE MARK AND THE VOID by Paul Murray, noting that “it has the same humor, warmth and pathos as SKIPPY DIES.”

From the floor, Michael Santangelo of Brooklyn Public Library gave a shout out to THE BURGLAR’S GUIDE TO THE CITY by Geoff Manaugh.

Curious about other buzzworthy books? Check out Publishers Weekly‘s recap of the AAP Librarian’s Book Buzz, Part 2 which includes a photo of Anne and our other library marketing pals!

BEA 2015 – Friday Events

BEA_Librarian_LogoIt’s the final day of BookExpo America and we’ve got all the buzz on books. Don’t miss these final events and get yer paws on the last hot Macmillan galleys in our booth (#3056-3057).

The AAP’s Annual Librarians Book Buzz, Part II
2:00-3:30pm
Javits Convention Center | Room 1E14

Come hear Anne Spieth highlight her favorite forthcoming Macmillan titles at this very popular annual Publishers Book Buzz!

The 7th Annual Librarian Shout ‘n Share
3:30-5:00pm
Javits Convention Center | Room 1E14

Join librarians as they sound off on their favorite exhibit floor reads, and other upcoming works they are looking forward to sharing with their patrons. Wilda Williams, Fiction Editor, Library Journal moderates this year’s Shout N Sharers: Kristi Chadwick, Advisor, Small Libraries Massachusetts Library System; Charlene Rue, Acting Director of BookOps, New York & Brooklyn Public Libraries; Jamie Watson, Collection Development Coordinator, Baltimore County Public Library; Jennifer Dayton, Collection Development Manager, Darien Library; and Robin Nesbitt, Collection Development, Columbus Public Library.

Macmillan Galley Giveaways and Author Signings – Friday (Booth #3056-3057):
9:00am Galley Giveaway: WILBERFORCE by H.S. Cross (FSG)
9:30am Giveaway: Macmillan Audio Beach Reads tote bags
10:00am Galley and Advance Listening Copy Giveaway: EVERYBODY RISE by Stephanie Clifford (SMP/Macmillan Audio)
10:30am Galley Giveaway: TENACITY by James Law (Holt)
11:30am In-Booth Signing: Rainbow Rowell (FANGIRL, Special Edition, Griffin)
11:30am Galley Giveaway: DREAM THINGS TRUE by Marie Marquardt (Griffin)
1:30pm In-Booth Signing: Helen Phillips (THE BEAUTIFUL BUREAUCRAT, Holt)
2:00pm Galley Giveaway: FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson (Flatiron)

readmoreremove

Macmillan Library @ BEA 2015! (Booth 3056-3057)

BEA_Librarian_LogoSpring has sprung, which can only mean that BookExpo America will be here soon! We hope to see you at these great events and in the Macmillan booth (#3056-3057).

Wednesday, May 27

The 9th Annual BEA Adult Librarians Dinner, co-hosted by LibraryReads and the AAP
6:30-9:30pm
The Yale Club | 50 Vanderbilt Ave, Grand Ballroom
RSVP required, space is limited

Al Roker serves as the Master of Ceremonies at this annual dinner featuring Sloane Crosley, who makes her fiction debut with THE CLASP, about three friends on a madcap adventure and treasure hunt.

Details and RSVP here.  Please note that this event is full, so you are registering for a waitlist and will be contacted if we are able to accommodate.


Macmillan Galley Giveaways and Author Signings – Wednesday (Booth #3056-3057):

2:00pm Galley Giveaway: MADE TO KILL by Adam Christopher (Tor)
3:30pm Galley Giveaway: HOME IS BURNING by Dan Marshall (Flatiron)
4:00pm Galley Giveaway: KEEP CALM by Michael Binder (Holt)
4:30pm Galley & Poster Giveaway: JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN by Elsa Hart (Minotaur)

Thursday, May 28

BEA Authors Librarian Luncheon, co-hosted by LibraryReads and the AAP
12:00 noon-1:30pm
Javits Convention Center | Room 1E15-16
RSVP required, space is limited

Hear from a panel of bestselling and debut authors, including Stephanie Clifford, whose debut novel, EVERYBODY RISE, follows a college graduate lying her way to the top of the social strata in Manhattan with devastating consequences.

Details and RSVP here.  Please note that this event is full, so you are registering for a waitlist and will be contacted if we are able to accommodate.

The AAP’s Annual Librarians Book Buzz, Part I
1:45-3:15pm
Javits Convention Center | Room 1E14

Come listen to our publishing friends as they highlight their favorite forthcoming titles!

Macmillan Galley Giveaways and Author Signings – Thursday (Booth #3056-3057):
9:00am Galley Giveaway: A POET OF THE INVISIBLE WORLD by Michael Golding (Picador)
9:30am Giveaway: Macmillan Audio Beach Reads tote bags
10:30am In-Booth Signing: Sloane Crosley (THE CLASP, FSG)
10:30am Galley Giveaway: THE LAST PILOT by Benjamin Johncock (Picador)
11:30am In-Booth Signing: Brandon Stanton (HUMANS OF NEW YORK: STORIES posters, SMP)
11:30am Galley Giveaway: PRINCE OF DARKNESS by Shane White (Palgrave)
1:30pm In-Booth Signing: Charlie Jane Anders (ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY, Tor)
2:00pm Galley and Advance Listening Copy Giveaway: EVERYBODY RISE by Stephanie Clifford (SMP/Macmillan Audio)
2:30pm In-Booth Signing: Damon Tweedy, M.D. (BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT, Picador)
3:30pm Galley Giveaway: BENEFIT OF THE DOUBT by Neal Griffin (Forge)
4:30pm Galley Giveaway: PURITY by Jonathan Franzen (FSG)

Friday, May 29

The AAP’s Annual Librarians Book Buzz, Part II
2:00-3:30pm
Javits Convention Center | Room 1E14

Come hear Anne Spieth highlight her favorite forthcoming Macmillan titles at this very popular annual Publishers Book Buzz!

The 7th Annual Librarian Shout ‘n Share
3:30-5:00pm
Javits Convention Center | Room 1E14

Join librarians as they sound off on their favorite exhibit floor reads, and other upcoming works they are looking forward to sharing with their patrons. Wilda Williams, Fiction Editor, Library Journal moderates this year’s Shout N Sharers: Kristi Chadwick, Advisor, Small Libraries Massachusetts Library System; Charlene Rue, Acting Director of BookOps, New York & Brooklyn Public Libraries; Jamie Watson, Collection Development Coordinator, Baltimore County Public Library; Jennifer Dayton, Collection Development Manager, Darien Library; and Robin Nesbitt, Collection Development, Columbus Public Library.

Macmillan Galley Giveaways and Author Signings – Friday (Booth #3056-3057):
9:00am Galley Giveaway: WILBERFORCE by H.S. Cross (FSG)
9:30am Giveaway: Macmillan Audio Beach Reads tote bags
10:00am Galley and Advance Listening Copy Giveaway: EVERYBODY RISE by Stephanie Clifford (SMP/Macmillan Audio)
10:30am Galley Giveaway: TENACITY by James Law (Holt)
11:30am In-Booth Signing: Rainbow Rowell (FANGIRL, Special Edition, Griffin)
11:30am Galley Giveaway: DREAM THINGS TRUE by Marie Marquardt (Griffin)
1:30pm In-Booth Signing: Helen Phillips (THE BEAUTIFUL BUREAUCRAT, Holt)
2:00pm Galley Giveaway: FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson (Flatiron)

If it’s your first time at BEA, EarlyWord has put together a guide especially for you! Here are three galley guides to help you figure out what to grab before you go:

Publishers Weekly BEA 2015 Galley Grab
Library Journal 2015 BEA Galley & Signing Guide
School Library Journal 2015 BEA Galley & Signing Guide (look under St. Martin’s Griffin)
BONUS: click here to download a printable guide of Talia & Anne’s favorite forthcoming books

Please check back regularly for the most up-to-date information. If you can’t make it, follow the action on Twitter via #BEA15. We hope to see you soon!

readmoreremove

css.php