Articles tagged "July 2018"

July 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for July 2018:

Bestsellers:
I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
A GATHERING OF SECRETS by Linda Castillo
STAY HIDDEN by Paul Doiron

Recent Releases:
RESCUED by David Rosenfelt
THE POISONED CITY: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy by Anna Clark
CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai by Paul French
WANNA BET?: A Degenerate Gambler’s Guide to Living on the Edge by Artie Lange

Indie Next Picks:
BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage (also a July LibraryReads pick!)
THE FAMILY TABOR by Cherise Wolas
IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel

This Edelweiss collection will be updated on a monthly basis so check back often!

Movie/TV Tie-Ins (July 2018 Edition)

It’s a book! It’s a movie/TV show! It’s a book and a movie/TV show! DISCUSS!

BLACK KLANSMAN: Race, Hate, and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime by Ron Stallworth
Also available in audio
The extraordinary true story of the African American police officer who goes undercover to investigate the KKK, the basis for the forthcoming major motion picture (BlacKkKlansman) written and directed by Spike Lee, produced by Oscar winner Jordan Peele, and starring Adam Driver, John David Washington, Topher Grace, and Alec Baldwin. Fun fact: Lee won the Grand Prix award at the Cannes Film Festival for BlacKkKlansman!

BREATH by Tim Winton
Based on Tim Winton’s award-winning and international bestselling novel set in mid-70s coastal Australia. Two teenage boys, hungry for discovery, form an unlikely friendship with a mysterious older adventurer who pushes them to take risks that will have a lasting and profound impact on their lives. Now a major motion picture starring Simon Baker, Elizabeth Debicki, and Richard Roxburgh.

FAHRENHEIT 451: The Authorized Adaptation by Ray Bradbury, illustrated by Tim Hamilton
Okay, okay, it’s not technically a tie-in edition, but this gorgeously imagined graphic novel adaptation of Bradbury’s dystopian classic is the perfect companion for HBO’s TV version, starring Black Panther‘s Michael B. Jordan and The Shape of Water‘s Michael Shannon. readmoreremove

July 2018 Nonfiction

Check out our great new nonfiction titles available this month—then make sure they get checked out at your library!

CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai by Paul French
Two starred reviews! “Drugs, gambling, vice, and banditry power China’s seaport mecca in this rollicking true crime saga. French’s two-fisted prose—‘When Boobee hops on a bar stool, lights an opium-tipped cigarette, and crosses her long legs, the sound of a dozen tensed-up male necks swinging round is like… a gunshot’—makes this deep noir history unforgettable.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE POISONED CITY: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy by Anna Clark
Two starred reviews! “In this complex, exquisitely detailed account, freelance journalist and Detroit Free Press contributor Clark draws on interviews, emails, and other materials to describe the ensuing [Flint, Michigan, water] catastrophe… A potent cautionary tale of urban neglect and indifference. Infuriated readers will be heartened by the determined efforts of protesters and investigative reporters.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE COST OF LIVING: A Working Autobiography by Deborah Levy
A searching examination of all the dimensions of love, marriage, mourning, and kinship from two-time Booker Prize finalist Deborah Levy. “This timely look at how women are viewed (and often dismissed) by society will resonate with many readers, but particularly with those who have felt marginalized or undervalued.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
Also available in audio
“Novelist Scottoline and daughter Serritella team up for the eighth in a series of entertaining mother-daughter humor books, combining entries in their ‘Chick Wit’ column for the Philadelphia Inquirer and new material. This summer beach read—which is indeed ‘like a glass of rosé, between two covers’—is sure to cheer readers spanning the generations but will be of particular appeal to mothers and daughters.” — Publishers Weekly

July 2018 All-Stars

Whether it’s literary fiction, mystery, poetry, or graphic novels, these books all have the same thing in common: multiple starred reviews!

THE GOLDEN STATE by Lydia Kiesling
“Kiesling’s intimate, culturally perceptive debut portrays a frazzled mother and a fractious America, both verging on meltdown. But perhaps best of all is her thought-provoking portrait of a pioneer community in decline as anger and obsession fray bonds between neighbors, family, and fellow citizens.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“There’s so much to love about this novel… Strongly recommended for readers who enjoy contemporary literary fiction and can handle a few swear words.” Library Journal, starred review

BONE ON BONE by Julia Keller — 3 starred reviews!
“Keller can spin a mystery plot with the best of them, but it’s her full-bodied characters and the regard they have for one another that really sets her crime fiction apart: a bride’s back-of-the-hand caress of her new husband’s cheek, and his response, is a moment that will linger in memory long after the crime is solved.” Booklist, starred review

“Beautifully written… This thoughtful, painfully empathetic story will long linger in the reader’s memory.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“This haunting, thought-provoking story proves Keller is one of a kind. Readers of Julia Spencer-Fleming’s mysteries of communities torn apart by crime may also want to try.”Library Journal, starred review

CITY OF INK by Elsa Hart
“Rich in period detail, a sharply rendered exotic setting, and a web of well-crafted plots, Li Du’s third novel will appeal to fans of historical mysteries by Lisa See, Laura Joh Rowland, and Abir Mukherjee.” Booklist, starred review

“Superb… As always, Hart excels at making even walk-on characters fully realized and at combining a gripping whodunit plot with a vivid evocation of the period. This entry solidifies her status as a top-notch historical mystery author. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

BABY TEETH is a July 2018 LibraryReads Pick!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Zoje Stage’s BABY TEETH is #4 on the July 2018 LibraryReads list!

One of Publishers Weekly‘s Best Books of Summer 2018 with THREE starred reviews!

“WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETHa twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” Entertainment Weekly

“Deliciously creepy… The author keeps the suspense taut by alternating chapters between Hanna and Suzette, offering a terrifying glimpse into the inner thoughts of a budding sociopath.” Library Journal, starred review

“Stage’s deviously fun debut takes child-rearing anxiety to demented new heights. Stage expertly crafts this creepy, can’t-put-it-down thriller into a fearless exploration of parenting and marriage that finds the cracks in unconditional love.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Stage fuses horror with domestic suspense to paint an unflinching portrait of childhood psychopathy and maternal regret.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: July 2018 Indie Next List

Four Macmillan titles made the July 2018 Indie Next List!

BRING ME BACK by B.A. Paris
Also available in audio
A June 2018 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! The new thriller from the bestselling author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS about a woman who vanished and may have reappeared to haunt her old lover. “[An] outstanding Hitchcockian thriller… Paris plays fair with the reader as she builds to a satisfying resolution. Fans of intelligent psychological suspense will be richly rewarded.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NUMBER ONE CHINESE RESTAURANT by Lillian Li
An exuberant and wise multigenerational debut novel about the complicated lives and loves of people working in everyone’s favorite Chinese restaurant. “Li vividly depicts the lives of her characters and gives the narrative a few satisfying turns, resulting in a memorable debut. ” — Publishers Weekly

IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel
A bravura debut story collection in the vein of Aziz Ansari and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about love, family, success, and the experience of being brown in America today. “A melancholic pleasure with a sense of humor.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the July 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due May 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage
Also available in audio
THREE starred reviews and Zoje is on the cover of Library Journal’s mystery issue!WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETH…a twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” — Entertainment Weekly

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

STAY HIDDEN by Paul Doiron
Also available in audio
A supposed hunting accident becomes a dangerously complicated murder investigation in this intricately-plotted new thriller featuring Maine Game Warden Mike Bowditch. “The plot is complex, and the action intense, made all the more so by forbidding terrain. The extraordinary sense of place makes this Doiron’s strongest novel yet.” — Booklist, starred review

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Stay Hidden.”*

A GATHERING OF SECRETS by Linda Castillo
Also available in audio
“In this next in the popular Amish mystery series featuring Chief of Police Kate Burkholder, a stately old barn burns to ash with 18-year-old Daniel Gingerich inside. It’s no accident, and Kate soon learns that Daniel wasn’t the sweet, self-effacing guy he appeared to be, with plenty of people having reason to want him dead. Major promotion.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
Also available in audio
“Novelist Scottoline and daughter Serritella team up for the eighth in a series of entertaining mother-daughter humor books, combining entries in their ‘Chick Wit’ column for the Philadelphia Inquirer and new material. This summer beach read—which is indeed ‘like a glass of rosé, between two covers’—is sure to cheer readers spanning the generations but will be of particular appeal to mothers and daughters.” — Publishers Weekly

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Rose Colored Glasses.”*

CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai by Paul French
Two starred reviews! “Drugs, gambling, vice, and banditry power China’s seaport mecca in this rollicking true crime saga. French’s two-fisted prose—‘When Boobee hops on a bar stool, lights an opium-tipped cigarette, and crosses her long legs, the sound of a dozen tensed-up male necks swinging round is like… a gunshot’—makes this deep noir history unforgettable.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

css.php