Articles tagged "Juan Pablo Villalobos"

Happy #BookBday (2/11/14 Edition)

Hip hip hooray, it's time for another #BookBday! Today we celebrate:

QUESADILLAS by Juan Pablo Villalobos
Mexican novelist Villalobos's darkly comic story about a poor Mexican family in which two teenage brothers set off to find their missing twin siblings–who were potentially abducted by aliens–is "a riotous tall tale” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and "frequently laugh-out-loud funny." (Shelf Awareness)

GIRL ON THE GOLDEN COIN by Marci Jefferson
This solid debut novel about the beautiful and captivating Royalist exile Frances Stuart, who must walk a fine line between pleasing kings and protecting her family's secret is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory. "Jefferson's intoxicating first novel superbly draws readers into the mischief and maneuverings, loyalties and treacheries, and lust and hostility of powerful 17th century kings and scheming court sycophants." – Publishers Weekly, starred review

ACT ONE by Moss Hart
Moss Hart’s ACT ONE is not only one of the most celebrated American theater books of the twentieth century, according to legendary actress Julie Andrews it's also “The ultimate Broadway memoir by the master who raised the bar for us all.” The book is coming out just in time for Lincoln Centre Theatre's stage adaptation of “Act One,” written by Tony and Pulitzer-Prize Winning writer/director James Lapine. 

readmoreremove

Starred Review for Down the Rabbit Hole

Tochtli lives in a palace. He loves hats, samurai, guillotines, and dictionaries, and what he wants more than anything right now is a new pet for his private zoo: a pygmy hippopotamus from Liberia. But Tochtli's father is a drug baron on the verge of taking over a powerful cartel, and Tochtli is growing up in a luxury hideout that he shares with hit men, prostitutes, dealers, servants, and the odd corrupt politician or two. 

fsg DOWN THE RABBIT HOLE, a masterful and darkly comic first novel, is the chronicle of a delirious journey to grant a child’s wish. This debut has been long-listed for The Guardian First Book Award and it just got a starred review from Publishers Weekly!

"The voice never feels overwrought with would-be childlike quirks, nor does it ever read like a convenient lens through which to view an adult world. The cadence of the prose and the vulnerability of the boy create a devastating story." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Barbara Hoffert from Library Journal had it on her pick's list for October 2012; she said, "We’re a long way from magic realism with the new narco lit." 

readmoreremove

css.php