Articles tagged "Jonathan Tropper"

St. Martin’s First – Spring/Summer 2017 E-Sampler

New Year, new talent! Download debut novel excerpts from the complimentary Spring/Summer 2017 St. Martin’s First Sampler today!

With your help, St. Martin’s Press has launched the careers of countless bestselling writers—Jonathan Tropper, Dan Brown, Augusten Burroughs, Louise Penny, and Lev Grossman were all first-time authors that St. Martin’s Press nurtured to publication and were read and beloved by you. Help us do it again by downloading, reading, and sharing your love for the next group of authors before they become bestsellers!

The SMP First S17 e-sampler is available for download on Edelweiss and is a Read it Now! title on NetGalley. And if you love something, SHOUT about it!

Titles include:
THE BOOK OF SUMMER by Michelle Gable
SOME BRIGHT MORNING, I’LL FLY AWAY by Alice Anderson
THE ATLAS OF FORGOTTEN PLACES by Jenny D. Williams
THE WARDROBE MISTRESS by Meghan Masterson
THE IDEA OF YOU by Robinne Lee
THE LAST PLACE YOU LOOK by Kristen Lepionka
THE INEVITABLE COLLISION OF BIRDIE & BASH by Candace Ganger
ACCORDING TO A SOURCE by Abby Stern
STARS OVER CLEAR LAKE by Loretta Ellsworth

Happy Reading!

Happy Early #BookBday (10/17/16 Edition)

We’re wishing these four new books a happy #BookBday one day early, because you can never start to party too soon!

THE NEXT by Stephanie Gangi
A November 2016 Indie Next pick, a Library Journal “Summer Promise Debut Novels” pick & BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! This haunting debut novel is narrated by the ghost of Joanna DeAngelis, a woman who plots revenge on her much-younger ex-boyfriend. “THE NEXT is fast-paced and engrossing reading for anyone who has entertained revenge fantasies (so much easier when you’re a ghost) and for readers of dysfunctional family fiction with some humor, like Jonathan Tropper’s THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU.” — Booklist

BORDERS by Roy Jacobsen
A brilliantly layered, sweeping novel of World War II set in the Ardennes—a forested, mountainous borderland that spans France, Germany, Belgium, and Luxembourg—about the impossible choices between familial love and national identity. “An artful deconstruction of nationalism through the prism of personal loss and reconciliation. Read Jacobsen’s novel carefully to savor its images and themes.” — Kirkus Reviews

LES PARISIENNES: How the Women of Paris Lived, Loved, and Died Under Nazi Occupation by Anne Sebba
New York Times bestselling author Sebba explores a devastating period in Paris’s history and tells the stories of how women survived—or didn’t—during the Nazi occupation. “Former Reuters correspondent and biographer, most notably of Wallis Simpson (THAT WOMAN, 2012), turns in a fascinating account of how the buildup to WWII, the war itself, and its aftermath marked the lives of Parisian women. A standout social history.” — Booklist, starred review

KNIVES & INK: Chefs and the Stories Behind Their Tattoos (with Recipes) by Isaac Fitzgerald & Wendy MacNaughton
From the authors of PEN & INK—bestselling illustrator Wendy MacNaughton and BuzzFeed books editor Isaac Fitzgerald—the stories behind the tattoos chefs proudly wear, with signature recipes. “The best entries in this collection are about tattoos that show the passion and dedication each person brings to their craft in the kitchen. Readers are sure to devour this in a single sitting.” — Publishers Weekly

Sneak Peek: November 2016 Indie Next List

indie nextThe November 2016 Indie Next list includes two Macmillan titles!

THE NEXT by Stephanie Gangi
A Library Journal “Summer Promise Debut Novels” pick & BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! This haunting debut novel is narrated by the ghost of Joanna DeAngelis, a woman who plots revenge on her much-younger ex-boyfriend. “THE NEXT is fast-paced and engrossing reading for anyone who has entertained revenge fantasies (so much easier when you’re a ghost) and for readers of dysfunctional family fiction with some humor, like Jonathan Tropper’s THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU.” — Booklist

CABO DE GATA by Eugen Ruge
“In German Book Prize winner Ruge’s new novel, a writer abandons his life in Berlin and embarks on a journey toward self-realization. With colloquial prose and sardonic wit, Ruge eruditely captures his narrator’s precarious reality and creates a world that’s a pleasure to observe and meander through. At times ruefully hilarious and absurd, this slight, philosophical book will humor anyone who’s ever questioned his or her place in this unforgiving universe.” — Kirkus Reviews

For Your Consideration: October 2016 LibraryReads Titles

Oct16LRcollageDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the October 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due August 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

ALL THE LITTLE LIARS by Charlaine Harris
#1 New York Times bestseller Charlaine Harris returns to her Aurora Teagarden mystery series with a fabulous new book (the first in over a decade!) featuring the small-town Southern librarian. “Aurora, now married to true-crime writer Robin Crusoe and pregnant, learns that four children, including her 15-year-old brother, Phillip, have wisped away into thin air after soccer practice. What’s worse, a dead body lies exactly where the children were thought to be heading.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “All the Little Liars.”*

THE MOTION OF PUPPETS by Keith Donohue
This new horror novel from the bestselling author of the LibraryReads pick THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS (which has been optioned for film) is a modern take on the Orpheus and Eurydice myth. “Intricately plotted, absorbing, and suspenseful, this is a moving, modern story set in what feels like a fairy-tale world but is actually terrifyingly realistic.” — Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

A MOST NOVEL REVENGE by Ashley Weaver
In librarian Weaver’s third entry in the LibraryReads/Edgar-nominated charming mystery series set in 1930s England, Amory and Milo Ames are drawn into the investigation of a years-old murder by a salacious novelist in the English countryside. “Fascinating and stylish characters fill out a finely tuned traditional mystery.”
Publishers Weekly

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE NEXT by Stephanie Gangi
A Library Journal “Summer Promise Debut Novels” pick & BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! This haunting debut novel is narrated by the ghost of Joanna DeAngelis, a woman who plots revenge on her much-younger ex-boyfriend. “THE NEXT is fast-paced and engrossing reading for anyone who has entertained revenge fantasies (so much easier when you’re a ghost) and for readers of dysfunctional family fiction with some humor, like Jonathan Tropper’s THIS IS WHERE I LEAVE YOU.” — Booklist

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

BY GASLIGHT by Steven Price
In this literary thriller set in 1800’s London, the son of Allen Pinkerton, the great inventor of detection, is obsessed with the elusive criminal his father never managed to catch. “With its intricate cat-and-mouse game, array of idiosyncratic characters, and brooding atmosphere, BY GASLIGHT has much to please fans of both classic suspense and Victorian fiction.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “By Gaslight.”*
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (7/12/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon is also a July 2016 Library Reads & Indie Next pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “Exceptional… While secret after secret about the residents of Fairview add to the suspense, Forrester’s secrets may be the most stunning of all.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review


HEARTBREAKER by Maryse Meijer
A scarily brilliant debut story collection in the vein of Lindsay Hunter and Katherine Faw Morris. “The edgy stories in Meijer’s debut collection cut like so many wild teeth: sharp, deep, and unforgiving. A dark and surprising new voice in short fiction.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

css.php