Articles tagged "Jon Land"

For Your Consideration: January 2017 LibraryReads Titles

dec16jan17lrcollage-editDownload, read, and nominate your favorite December 2016 AND January 2017 titles for the January 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due November 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

THE DRY by Jane Harper

* A Library Journal “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” pick *
* THREE starred reviews *

Luke lied. You lied. Be at the funeral.

This is the note Federal Agent Aaron Falk receives after hearing that his childhood best friend Luke has been found dead after committing a terrible crime in Jane Harper’s first mystery. When Falk reluctantly returns to his hometown amid the worst drought in a century to see if there’s more to Luke’s death than there seems to be, a long-buried mystery from Falk’s past resurfaces and he finds that small towns have always hidden big secrets.

“A stunner… It’s a small-town, big-secrets page-turner with a shocker of an ending… Recommend this one to fans of James Lee Burke and Robert Crais, who mix elements of ‘bromance’ into their hard-boiled tales.” — Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE NOWHERE MAN by Gregg Hurwitz
In “bestseller Hurwitz’s stellar sequel to 2016’s ORPHAN X,”* Evan Smoak, a.k.a. “The Nowhere Man,” is captured, drugged, and spirited off to a remote location, heavily guarded from all approaches. His captors think they have Evan trapped and helpless, but they don’t realize that they’ve locked themselves in with one of the deadliest and most resourceful Orphans. “Evan’s efforts to elude Van Sciver and company will keep readers on the edge of their seats, but it’s Hurwitz’s engaging, sympathetic characters who place this thriller above the pack.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS by Laurie Frankel
Based on Frankel’s own experience as the mother of a transgender second-grader, THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is the story of a family whose youngest son decides he wants to be a girl and passes as Poppy… until she doesn’t. “A big, brave, messy modern family struggles with the challenges of raising a transgender child. As thought-provoking a domestic novel as we have seen this year.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “This is How it Always Is”*

BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
“Pinborough, an accomplished author of horror, mysteries, dark fantasy, and psychological suspense, has drawn on all her gifts to tell her latest story, a masterpiece of suspense centered on a bad marriage. Give this intense book to patrons freely, but especially target those who are fatigued with the current spate of female-driven psychological suspense. It will be enough to shake things up for them (it even has a hashtag campaign, #WTFThatEnding).”
Booklist, starred review

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss.
To request an Advance Listening Copy, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Behind Her Eyes” with your mailing address.*
readmoreremove

BEA 2016 Book Buzz Titles

Here’s a sneak peek at all the great Macmillan books that Anne “sweet teeth” Spieth will be sharing at the AAP Book Buzz, Part I this afternoon from 1:45-3:15pm in McCormick Place, Room W184b:

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
TRULY MADLY GUILTY by Liane Moriarty
ALL IS NOT FORGOTTEN by Wendy Walker
BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by B.A. Paris
BEHIND HER EYES by Sarah Pinborough
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny
THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross
ALL THE LITTLE LIARS by Charlaine Harris
EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS by Lian Hearn
THE MOTION OF PUPPETS by Keith Donohue
THE NEXT by Stephanie Gangi
I’M JUDGING YOU by Luvvie Ajayi
LOVE WARRIOR by Glennon Doyle Melton
IN THE DARKROOM by Susan Faludi
THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF IVAN ISAENKO by Scott Stambach
THE RISING by Heather Graham & Jon Land
CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber

Download the book buzz handout, complete with information about getting whitelisted for Macmillan e-galleys and participating in LibraryReads!

Fun fact: many of these titles are available as ARCs in Macmillan booth #1958-59 during tomorrow morning’s “Mac Snack Book Attack” from 9:30-10:30am. Don’t miss it!

Macmillan Library @ LJ/SLJ Day of Dialog & BEA 2016!

BookExpo America ​is just around the corner and we ​can’t wait to see you in Chicago at L​ibrary ​J​ournal​ & S​chool ​L​ibrary ​J​ournal​’s Day of Dialog, at BEA in the Macmillan booth (#1958-1959), and at these great ​events.​

*As always, our schedule is subject to change.  Please check back often!

Wednesday, May 11

Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog
9:00am–6:00pm
UIC Forum, 725 Roosevelt Road, Chicago, IL 60607
RSVP required, space is limited

ADULT LIBRARIANS: Click here to RSVP.

Scheduled to speak:
Amy Einhorn, Senior VP, Publisher (Flatiron Books) | Editor’s Picks Panel
Jonathan Safran Foer, HERE I AM | Choice Fiction Panel
Luvvie Ajayi, I’M JUDGING YOU | The Art of Nonfiction Panel

Plus free Macmillan ARCs & personalized readers’ advisory recommendations from Talia Sherer! Full schedule available here.

School Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog
9:00am–6:00pm
UIC Forum, 725 Roosevelt Road, Chicago, IL 60607
RSVP required, space is limited

YA/TEEN LIBRARIANS: Click here to RSVP.

Scheduled to speak:
Roshani Chokshi, THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN | Mind-bending Women of YA Panel

Plus free YA Macmillan ARCs & personalized readers’ advisory recommendations from Anne Spieth! Full schedule available here.


The 10th Annual BEA Adult Librarians Dinner, co-hosted by LibraryReads and the AAP

6:30-9:30pm
The Palmer House Hilton | Empire Room
RSVP required, space is limited

Don’t miss this annual dinner featuring a panel of high-profile authors, including Glennon Doyle Melton, who shares the story of her journey of self-discovery after the implosion of her marriage in her highly anticipated memoir, LOVE WARRIOR.

Details and RSVP here by April 29. You will receive an e-confirmation if your request is accommodated.

Macmillan Galley Giveaways and Author Signings – Wednesday (Booth #1958-1959):

***1:00pm Ticket Drop for all Wednesday in-booth signings***
1:00pm Giveaway: Macmillan Audio Louise Penny tote bags
2:00pm In-Booth Signing: Jonathan Safran Foer, HERE I AM (FSG)
2:00pm Galley Giveaway: CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein (Picador)
2:30pm In-Booth Signing: Loren D. Estelman, SHOOT (Forge)
3:00pm Galley Giveaway: THE RISING by Jon Land & Heather Graham (Tor)
3:30pm Galley Giveaway: EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS by Lian Hearn (FSG)
4:30pm Galley Giveaway: PANACEA by F. Paul Wilson (Tor)
4:30pm Galley Giveaway: I WILL SEND RAIN by Rae Meadows (Holt)

Thursday, May 12

Libraries Transform™: ALA@BEA Publisher Marketing Teams Helping You Help Readers
11:00-11:50am
McCormick Place | Room W183

Join this fun, fast, and fabulous panel about publishers helping librarians to help readers! Representatives from publisher library marketing departments will share what they do and how they support librarians in efforts to delight readers. Learn about different programs, tools and materials that are available to librarians. Join Macmillan’s Talia Sherer & Anne Spieth, as well as Nora Rawlinson of Earlyword.com fame and other publishers for the marketing support that will help you help patrons!!

BEA Young Adult Editors’ Buzz
10:00–10:50am
McCormick Place | Room W184bc

Stephanie Garber discusses her debut YA novel, CARAVAL with Flatiron Books editor Sarah Dotts Barley, as part of this YA book buzz panel.

The AAP’s Annual Librarians Book Buzz, Part I
1:45-3:15pm
McCormick Place | Room W184b

Come hear Anne Spieth highlight her favorite forthcoming Macmillan titles at this very popular annual Publishers Book Buzz! readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/17/16 Edition)

History + mystery = new #ThrillerThursday picks!

THE ELOQUENCE OF THE DEAD by Conor Brady
In former Irish Times editor Brady’s “stellar second whodunit set in Victorian Dublin,”* Sergeant Joe Swallow investigates the murder of a pawnbroker and his missing sister, who might be to blame. “The astute Swallow is a particularly well-rounded lead, and he’s matched with a complex, but logical, page-turner of a plot.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE MIDWIFE AND THE ASSASSIN by Sam Thomas
Midwife Bridget Hodgson and her deputy Martha Hawkins are forced into service under Jonathan Marlowe, Oliver Cromwell’s chief spymaster, to seek out Parliament’s enemies in London. “Thomas expertly integrates the tumult of the time into a fair-play mystery.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

DEADLY JEWELS by Jeannette de Beauvoir
“In Martine’s second outing (after ASYLUM), de Beauvoir transforms a historical tidbit (the shipping of British gold reserves and securities to Canada for safekeeping during World War II) into a fascinating premise; an absorbing endnote details the historical record. An intriguing choice for readers of James Houston’s THE BLOOD FLAG or Jon Land’s THE LAST PROPHECY.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Library Journal’s Best Books 2011:

And wrapping up our week of annual best books lists is Library Journal's Best Books of 2011! Here are all of the Macmillan titles you should check out (library pun totally intended):

The Top Ten

Midnight Rising by Tony Horwitz
Tides of War by Stella Tillyard

More of the Best

The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides
Pulphead: Essays by John Jeremiah Sullivan
Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward

Mystery

Now You See Me by S.J. Bolton
Killed at the Whim of a Hat by Colin Cotterill
Wicked Autumn by G.M. Malliet
Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton

SF/Fantasy

Leviathans of Jupiter by Ben Bova
The Unremembered by Peter Orullian
The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi
The Children of the Sky by Verner Vinge

Street Lit

Eviction Notice by K'wan

Women's Fiction

Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews

Historical Fiction

Pacific Glory by P.T. Deutermann
The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin

Thrillers

You’re Next by Gregg Hurwitz
Strong at the Break by Jon Land

Excellent picks, Library Journal! If you readers want to see all of Library Journal's great picks from 2011, you can see their "best of" lists right here.

readmoreremove

css.php