Articles tagged "JoJo Moyes"


We’ve adored Katherine Center ever since we read HAPPINESS FOR BEGINNERS, and we think her new novel, HOW TO WALK AWAY, will be a breakout book perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Don’t believe us? Then read these starred reviews:

“Center knows how to keep the pages turning, ensuring readers will be completely swept up in Margaret’s story. With its appealing characters and wisdom about grappling with life’s challenges, Center’s sixth novel has all the makings of a breakout hit.” — Booklist, starred review

“A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“So, I just finished HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center. I loved, loved, loved this book. It was involving, and funny, and touching, and romantic. The voice of the main character, Margaret reminded me so much of Louisa Clark from ME BEFORE YOU.Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Library, Raleigh NC

Going to TxLA 2018? Don’t miss your chance to meet Katherine at the Authors for Your Book Club Panel on Thursday, April 5 from 2:45-3:45pm. readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (7/12/16 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

The must-read summer thriller of 2016 with movie rights snapped up by Reese Witherspoon is also a July 2016 Library Reads & Indie Next pick, and a Maximum Shelf Awareness selection! In a small affluent town, a teenage girl is attacked at a local party and in the hours immediately after is given a controversial drug to medically erase her memory of the violent assault. Except she can’t really forget and the person narrating the story wants her to remember what happened. But why? “Exceptional… While secret after secret about the residents of Fairview add to the suspense, Forrester’s secrets may be the most stunning of all.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

HEARTBREAKER by Maryse Meijer
A scarily brilliant debut story collection in the vein of Lindsay Hunter and Katherine Faw Morris. “The edgy stories in Meijer’s debut collection cut like so many wild teeth: sharp, deep, and unforgiving. A dark and surprising new voice in short fiction.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (4/12/16 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these hot new titles on (or flying off) shelves now:

ONE WITH YOU by Sylvia Day
From the #1 international bestselling author, the final chapter in the global blockbuster Crossfire quintet!

MOST WANTED by Lisa Scottoline
An April 2016 Indie Next pickIn the bestselling author’s latest novel of suspense and emotional justice, an infertile couple becomes pregnant, only to learn that their sperm donor has been arrested for a series of blood-chilling murders. “Scottoline has mastered the art of writing the story of an average mom forced into extraordinary action. Her relatable characters inspire empathy, which lets readers find themselves sucked into typically unbelievable situations. As has come to be expected, this is a page-turner that will satisfy the Scottoline faithful.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Happy Belated #BookBday (1/20/16)

We’re a day late to wish these new releases happy #BookBday, but it’s only to keep the party going!

THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth
A January 2016 LibraryReads pick and a February 2016 Indie Next pick! Librarians across the country are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.” — Library Journal, starred review

WHAT BELONGS TO YOU by Garth Greenwell
A Kirkus Reviews’ Most Anticipated Book of 2016! Two stars for this literary debut about an American expat living in Bulgaria and the young gay hustler his life intersects with. “This is a project of rare discernment and beauty, and it is not to be missed. A luminous, searing exploration of desire, alienation, and the powerful tattoo of the past.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review


D Things We Keep 2*Sniffle, honk* Excuse us while we wipe away the ugly-cry mess on our faces after reading THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth.

We love—and I mean, LOVE—this book. Even Baby Daniel loves this book (mostly how it tastes). We’ll let EarlyWord’s Robin Beerbower tell you why:

“If you…have leftover tissues, put them to good use by reading Sally Hepworth’s THE THINGS WE KEEP. Marika Zemke from Commerce Township Public Library stayed up all night to finish this moving story of a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. Marika said ‘What follows is a story about all types of love…romantic love, mother/daughter love, compassionate love and more.’ I’ll add reading this gave me the same feeling as when I first read Nicholas Sparks’ THE NOTEBOOK.

We want you to love THE THINGS WE KEEP, too, so we’re giving away ARCs to adult librarians currently employed in the U.S.!*

To request a copy, please email from your library-issued email account with the subject line “The Things We Keep” and make sure to include your library’s mailing address.

Now grab those tissues and get reading! Remember, if you love it, it’s never too early to nominate it for LibraryReads!

For Your Consideration: October LibraryReads titles

Download, read, and nominate our favorite titles now for the October 2014* LibraryReads list!
*Nominations are due September 1

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
Pulitzer Prize-winning author “Robinson has created a tour de force” (Booklist, starred review) with the final volume in her Gilead trilogy, LILA. It’s already received two starred reviews and has a major media line-up.

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss


FULL MEASURE by T. Jefferson Parker
Parker, a three-time Edgar Award winner, delivers an exceptional, insightful, and contemporary stand-alone literary novel. Fans of the author’s crime novels and Tim O’Brien’s war novels will enjoy this story, which highlights the impact of war on a community. In addition, Steinbeck fans will appreciate the description of the setting and intricate plot.” Library Journal, starred review

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss


We love this Golden Age–style debut from librarian Weaver featuring a spunky heiress, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday at an exquisite seaside resort, and a MURDER. Bryant Library’s Janet Schneider loved it too: “Great beach reading. Sort of a Dorothy L Sayers/Downton Abbey combo.”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss


If you were at Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog you heard Picador’s publisher Stephen Morrison talk about this creepy horror novel about a young boy whose drawings of monsters take on a life of their own. Dominique Jenkins of Penguin Library Marketing is OBSESSED: “Have you guys read THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS? Holy WOW!”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss


THE SILENT SISTER by Diane Chamberlain
A longtime best-selling author who got even wider attention with last year’s NECESSARY LIES, Chamberlain returns with the story of a sister’s shocking discovery. Riley McPherson had always been told that her sister committed suicide, but when she cleans out her deceased father’s house, she discovers that Lisa is alive and hiding under an assumed identity. What dark events led to Riley’s having ‘a silent sister’?” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss