Articles tagged "John Green"

Day’s YA – ELEANOR & PARK

Hey, YA friends!

Have you ever loved a book so much that you read it again and again and it just keeps getting better? ELEANOR AND PARK is just that book…

ELEANOR & PARK by Rainbow Rowell
9781250012579
Ages 13 to 18

Eleanor & Park weren’t always Eleanor & Park. Their only connection was that they were both high school-aged teenagers that didn’t fit in.

Eleanor is the new girl in a school full of kids who’ve been together since Kindergarten. Tall, red haired, and always in mismatched outfits, Eleanor stands out. Her home life is no picnic either… Park (a half-Korean student in a predominantly white school) spends his time blasting The Smiths and ignoring everybody else around him.

Then one day, Eleanor sits next to Park on the school bus. And during their bus rides, our two favorite misfits slowly fall in friendship—and ultimately in love—while sharing comics and trading mixtapes.

ELEANOR AND PARK is heartwarming and heartbreaking. Eleanor and Park’s transition from seat mates to friends to lovers is seamless and authentic. Rowell truly captures the all-consuming intensity of first love and immediately transports readers back to high school (for better or worse). Kirkus Reviews describes the book best as “funny, hopeful, foulmouthed, sexy, and tear-jerking.” This beautiful novel is all of those things and more, and is perfect for fans of Rowell’s other work, as well as Jandy Nelson and John Green. readmoreremove

Teen Talk (9/26/2018 Edition)

Hey, YA librarians!

Check out our latest & greatest YA titles out this month, then join us on Twitter today at 2:30pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading & loving!

SADIE by Courtney Summers
9781250105714
Ages 13 to 18
FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!
When Sadie’s little sister, Mattie, is found dead, Sadie hits the road on a mission to find her sister’s killer. But when West McCray—a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America—overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.

“It’s impossible to not be drawn into this haunting thriller of a book. A heartrending must-have.” —School Library Journal, starred review

I DO NOT TRUST YOU by Laura J. Burns & Melinda Metz
9781250052308
Ages 12 to 18
I DO NOT TRUST YOU is a thrilling young adult suspense novel full of dangerous secrets and dark mythology that threaten to destroy everything seventeen-year-old Memphis holds dear. With Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz’s signature plot twists, and uneasy, ever-changing alliances, this novel is an exciting journey that asks at every turn—what would you do to save the ones you love?

“ . . . a fast-paced, modern adventure with hints of The Da Vinci Code, packed with tidbits about world mythology and fanciful touches of the macabre.” —School Library Journal

UNSTOPPABLE MOSES by Tyler James Smith
9781250138545
Ages 12 and up
In this coming-of-age debut by Tyler James Smith, a seventeen-year-old boy has one week in the aftermath of a disastrous prank to prove to the authorities, and to himself, that he’s not a worthless jerk who belongs in jail.

“Smith’s style is reminiscent of John Green’s oeuvre. He balances the characters’ tragic stories with offbeat humor and deftly timed pop culture references.” —Booklist readmoreremove

Day’s YA – UNSTOPPABLE MOSES

Hello, YA librarians! 

Welcome to the 20th edition of Day’s YA!! (20?! Holy guacamole!) If you’d like to go back and read past reviews (like THE HAZEL WOOD, SKY IN THE DEEP, HOW I RESIST, or LEGENDARY), check out the archives here or at the bottom of this post. Otherwise, let’s get right to it!

UNSTOPPABLE MOSES by Tyler James Smith
9781250138545
Available September 11, 2018 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

Moses Hill is a high school junior living in the Midwest with his cousin / best friend, Charlie. Moses and Charlie grew up together and are notorious for pulling mostly-harmless pranks. One night their prank goes horribly awry and burns down a building. Moses is blamed and as punishment ends up spending a week as a camp counselor. He can either use the time to “prove [he’s] a responsible member of society” or lose his shot at Duke. But, when Moses is assigned as a “buddy” to younger camper, Lump (yes, Lump), he begins to truly learn who he is and how to heal from his own trauma.

I love when a book grabs me from the get-go. The first sentence, “Charlie Baltimore murdered me when we were eight years old,” was just the hook I needed! As the story progresses, it becomes a beautiful (and, at times, hilarious) coming-of-age story about dealing with the effects of trauma and putting the broken pieces of your life back together. In the vein of John Green and Stephen Chbosky, this debut novel is one that will grab onto you with all its might. readmoreremove

John Green & NYT Love THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST!

Oh boy, do we have a super #FridayReads pick today: THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST by Daniel Torday.

The New York Times and some author named John Green (!) love Torday’s novel about a young man recounting the idolization of his Uncle Poxl, a Jewish, former-RAF pilot.

“It’s Mr. Torday’s ability to shift gears between sweeping historical vistas and more intimate family dramas, and between old-school theatrics and more contemporary meditations on the nature of storytelling that announces his emergence as a writer deserving of attention.” — Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times

And although it won’t be out until March 15, THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST will shine brightly on the cover of the New York Times Book Review! Here’s a sneak peek at what they’ve got to say:

readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Entangled Edition

Happy Friday, friends! Today we’ve got two Entangled Teen titles waiting for you to download over at Net Galley!

LOVE AND OTHER UNKNOWN VARIABLES by Shannon Alexander
A love story in the vein of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. High school senior Charlie Hanson is a rising physics star bound for MIT when he falls for Charlotte Finch, who was recently diagnosed with cancer. When Charlotte asks Charlie to orchestrate the biggest prank campaign in Brighton history, it puts his bright future in jeopardy and Charlie realizes he must choose between the familiar formulas he’s always relied on, or the girl he’s falling for (at far more than 32 feet per second).

NetGalleyLogoClick here to download the e-galley of LOVE AND OTHER UNKNOWN VARIABLES.

 

THE WINTER PEOPLE by Rebekah L. Purdy
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, this engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy stars Salome Montgomery, a young woman haunted by her near drowning in winter. When she’s left in charge of her grandparents’ estate, Salome discovers she’s a key player in a strange world where two young men try to protect her from an evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

NetGalleyLogoClick here to download the e-galley of THE WINTER PEOPLE.

readmoreremove

css.php