Articles tagged "John Green"

Day’s YA – UNSTOPPABLE MOSES

Hello, YA librarians! 

Welcome to the 20th edition of Day’s YA!! (20?! Holy guacamole!) If you’d like to go back and read past reviews (like THE HAZEL WOOD, SKY IN THE DEEP, HOW I RESIST, or LEGENDARY), check out the archives here or at the bottom of this post. Otherwise, let’s get right to it!

UNSTOPPABLE MOSES by Tyler James Smith
9781250138545
Available September 11, 2018 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

Moses Hill is a high school junior living in the Midwest with his cousin / best friend, Charlie. Moses and Charlie grew up together and are notorious for pulling mostly-harmless pranks. One night their prank goes horribly awry and burns down a building. Moses is blamed and as punishment ends up spending a week as a camp counselor. He can either use the time to “prove [he’s] a responsible member of society” or lose his shot at Duke. But, when Moses is assigned as a “buddy” to younger camper, Lump (yes, Lump), he begins to truly learn who he is and how to heal from his own trauma.

I love when a book grabs me from the get-go. The first sentence, “Charlie Baltimore murdered me when we were eight years old,” was just the hook I needed! As the story progresses, it becomes a beautiful (and, at times, hilarious) coming-of-age story about dealing with the effects of trauma and putting the broken pieces of your life back together. In the vein of John Green and Stephen Chbosky, this debut novel is one that will grab onto you with all its might. readmoreremove

John Green & NYT Love THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST!

Oh boy, do we have a super #FridayReads pick today: THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST by Daniel Torday.

The New York Times and some author named John Green (!) love Torday’s novel about a young man recounting the idolization of his Uncle Poxl, a Jewish, former-RAF pilot.

“It’s Mr. Torday’s ability to shift gears between sweeping historical vistas and more intimate family dramas, and between old-school theatrics and more contemporary meditations on the nature of storytelling that announces his emergence as a writer deserving of attention.” — Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times

And although it won’t be out until March 15, THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST will shine brightly on the cover of the New York Times Book Review! Here’s a sneak peek at what they’ve got to say:

readmoreremove

Friday Reads: Entangled Edition

Happy Friday, friends! Today we’ve got two Entangled Teen titles waiting for you to download over at Net Galley!

LOVE AND OTHER UNKNOWN VARIABLES by Shannon Alexander
A love story in the vein of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. High school senior Charlie Hanson is a rising physics star bound for MIT when he falls for Charlotte Finch, who was recently diagnosed with cancer. When Charlotte asks Charlie to orchestrate the biggest prank campaign in Brighton history, it puts his bright future in jeopardy and Charlie realizes he must choose between the familiar formulas he’s always relied on, or the girl he’s falling for (at far more than 32 feet per second).

NetGalleyLogoClick here to download the e-galley of LOVE AND OTHER UNKNOWN VARIABLES.

 

THE WINTER PEOPLE by Rebekah L. Purdy
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, this engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy stars Salome Montgomery, a young woman haunted by her near drowning in winter. When she’s left in charge of her grandparents’ estate, Salome discovers she’s a key player in a strange world where two young men try to protect her from an evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

NetGalleyLogoClick here to download the e-galley of THE WINTER PEOPLE.

readmoreremove

css.php