Articles tagged "Joe Gunther series"

Thriller Thursday (9/28/17 Edition)

This #ThrillerThursday we’re reading two new series mysteries and a chilling true crime account involving the Coors brewery.

SLEEP LIKE A BABY by Charlaine Harris
In the next installment of the #1 New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Charlaine Harris’s Aurora Teagarden series, Roe has a newborn to care for, a vulnerable new marriage to nurture, and a new puzzle—who is this mystery woman dead in their backyard, and what happened to their home nurse, Virginia? “Engrossing… Harris smoothly weaves together several seemingly unrelated threads to create a richly layered tale of how the bad choices people make in life can come back to haunt them. ” — Publishers Weekly

TRACE by Archer Mayor
Two starred reviews for the newest book in the Joe Gunther series! “Outstanding… Mayor keeps the suspense high as he showcases each of his detectives’ special talents—Spinney’s patience and doggedness, Kunkle’s unorthodox but effective rule-bending, and Martens’s bravery and resourcefulness—in this welcome addition to the long-running series.” – Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/29/16 Edition)

Joe Gunther and Detective Inspector Francis Sadler return to investigate new crimes this #ThrillerThursday:

PRESUMPTION OF GUILT by Archer Mayor
Two starred reviews for the 27th book in the Joe Gunther series! A skeleton found encased in concrete at a site of a newly decommissioned nuclear power plant solves a 40 year old missing persons case and opens up a murder investigation. “PRESUMPTION OF GUILT is another fine entry in a wonderful series—well plotted, as always, and featuring one of the best ensemble casts in the genre.” — Booklist, starred review

A DEADLY THAW by Sarah Ward
New from LibraryReads author Ward! “As she did in her accomplished debut, IN BITTER CHILL, Ward draws a connection between old and current crimes and puts them in the context of societal problems, all the while delving into the private lives of her well-drawn characters. With Sadler and company, Ward has a winning series going.” — Booklist

Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib this #ThrillerThursday.

Oh My (Mystery) Stars!

The *stars* are piling up for these six outstanding mysteries:

BECAUSE I’M WATCHING by Christina Dodd — THREE STARS!
“Dodd continues her flawless pivoting from romance to suspense with the third book in her riveting series set in the small Washington town of Virtue Falls. Scary, sexy, and smartly written, BECAUSE I’M WATCHING is Dodd at the top of her game.”
Booklist, starred review

“Two emotionally damaged characters find hope, self-forgiveness, and love in this exquisitely crafted, modern version of Gaslight that hooks readers and keeps them mesmerized until the end. A chilling and gripping tale, beautifully done. ” — Library Journal, starred review

“Romantic suspense favorite Dodd heads back to Virtue Falls for another smart, dramatic mystery that will keep readers flipping pages until the very end, with unexpected twists, psychological tension, and emotional depth. Another Virtue Falls winner.” Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE WHITE MIRROR by Elsa Hart — THREE STARS!
“Hart seamlessly melds the complex politics of 18th-century Asia with a superior fair-play plot in her second whodunit featuring Chinese librarian Li Du. The isolated and eerie manor setting is reminiscent of a classic golden age puzzle mystery, and Hart populates it with well-rounded characters.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Fans of the first book who wished to know more about the enigmatic Li Du will be well rewarded here. Readers who appreciate historical mysteries, especially the classic ‘Judge Dee’ series by Robert van Gulik, will be enthralled by this fascinating mystery.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Hart is a gifted storyteller… Her writing is intensely detailed, and vivid images range from the bells and bright red plumes of the caravan donkeys to the demon-inspired ornamentation of a mountaintop monastery. Highly recommended for fans of Robert Van Gulik’s venerated Judge Dee stories, and readers lamenting the conclusion of Laura Joh Rowland’s Sano Ichiro series.” — Booklist, starred review

BEHIND CLOSED DOORS by B.A. Paris
An August 2016 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick! “Debut-novelist Paris adroitly toggles between the recent past and the present in building the suspense of Grace’s increasingly unbearable situation, as time becomes critical and her possible solutions narrow. This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” — Booklist, starred review

“Making her smash debut, Paris switches chapters between the present and the recent past, taking us along on Grace’s journey and keeping the suspense level high. In the same vein as GONE GIRL or GIRL ON THE TRAIN, this is a can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE DRY by Jane Harper
A Library Journal “Summer Promise — Debut Novels” pick!A stunner… It’s a small-town, big-secrets page-turner with a shocker of an ending… Recommend this one to fans of James Lee Burke and Robert Crais, who mix elements of ‘bromance’ into their hard-boiled tales.” — Booklist, starred review

“From the ominous opening paragraphs, all the more chilling for their matter-of-factness, Harper, a journalist who writes for Melbourne’s Herald Sun, spins a suspenseful tale of sound and fury as riveting as it is horrific.” — Publishers Weekly, boxed & starred review
readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (10/1/15 Edition)

Check out these #ThrillerThursday goodies from a rookie and a vet:

IN BITTER CHILL by Sarah Ward
libraryreads logo squareAn October 2015 LibraryReads pick and a BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! A story of loss, family secrets, and how the darkest truths are often hidden nearest to you, this page-turning debut is perfect for fans of Sharon Bolton and Louise Penny. “Ward skillfully weaves a compelling plot in this police procedural with a genealogical bent. An accomplished debut by a writer to watch.” — Booklist

THE COMPANY SHE KEPT by Archer Mayor
In his 26th(!) case, Vermont Bureau of Investigation field force commander Joe Gunther investigate the murder of a politician who had several secrets to hide. “This is another fine entry in a series that has been engaging crime devotees for more than a quarter century.” — Booklist

What’s tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday?

Thriller Thursday & 2014 Shamus Award Nominees

Not only do we have a new batch of fabulous mysteries & thrillers, we’ve got the scoop on Shamus Award nominees!

The Private Eye Writers of America announced the finalists for its 2014 Shamus Awards and we’ve got 4 mysteries in the running:

Best Hardcover P.I. Novel:
THE GOOD COP by Brad Parks
NEMESIS by Bill Pronzini

Best First P.I. Novel:
A GOOD DEATH by Christopher R. Cox
BLOOD ORANGE by Karen Keskinen

Winners will be named during a banquet at Bouchercon in Long Beach, California, on Friday, November 14. See the full list of nominees here.

MEAN BUSINESS ON NORTH GANSON STREET by S. Craig Zahler
Cop Jules Bettinger is forced out of sunny Arizona and into a frigid rust-belt town in Missouri where a cop killer is on the loose. It’s been optioned by Warner Bros with Leonardo DiCaprio and Jamie Foxx attached to star! “Zahler’s mean streets are bizarrely mean. But MEAN BUSINESS is often mordantly funny, too—and not to be missed.” — Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

css.php