Articles tagged "Jodi Picoult"

Happy #BookBday (10/3/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these outstanding new releases!

FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides
Longlisted for the 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, plus two starred reviews! “These stories skillfully explore the often elusive quest for happiness and self-knowledge, along with the many complexities that attend relationships with family, friends, and lovers. Essential for all fans of literary fiction.” — Library Journal, starred review

HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
Longlisted for the 2017 National Book Award in Fiction, the #1 October 2017 Indie Next pick, one of Kirkus’s “Fiction Debuts & Breakthroughs That Live up to the Hype,” and two starred reviews! “Machado creates eerie, inventive worlds shimmering with supernatural swerves in this engrossing debut collection. Her stories make strikingly feminist moves by combining elements of horror and speculative fiction with women’s everyday crises… Machado’s slightly slanted world echoes our own in ways that will entertain, challenge, and move readers.” — Publishers Weekly, starred & boxed review

THE STOLEN MARRIAGE by Diane Chamberlain
An October 2017 LibraryReads pick! As young nurse Tess works to save the lives of her polio-stricken patients, she must untangle her husband’s mysterious behavior. “Combines the issue-driven style of Jodi Picoult, the romantic tension of Nora Roberts, and the life-defining-mistake motif of Amy Hatvany’s IT HAPPENS ALL THE TIME.” — Booklist

THE ORPHAN OF FLORENCE by Jeanne Kalogridis
In this irresistible historical novel set in the turbulent world of the Medicis, a young woman finds herself driven from pick-pocketing to espionage when she meets a mysterious man. “Betrayal, magic, and murder drive the brisk pace and create a dark atmosphere of uncertainty. Kalogridis’ clever inclusion of historical detail brings Florence to life (as she did in THE DEVIL’S QUEEN, 2009), while characters shift alliances, becoming ever more treacherous and violent.” Booklist, starred review

LONDON AND THE SOUTH-EAST by David Szalay
Never before published in the United States, the debut novel by the wildly talented author of Man Booker Prize finalist ALL THAT MAN IS. “Written with intense psychological acuity and inventive detail, the author turns a humdrum account of male malaise into an experience far more affecting—and universal—than it has any right to be.” — Publishers Weekly

Teen Talk Tuesday (6/21/16 Edition)

Hey hey YA Librarians! We can’t wait to chat with y’all later today during Early Word YA Galley Chat (starts at 5pm EST, hashtag: #ewgcya) about this month’s new teen and YA-OK adult titles.
Also, did you see Entertainment Weekly‘s exclusive cover reveal & excerpt for Roshani Chokshi’s new book, A CROWN OF WISHES?! #swoon

AMERICAN GIRLS by Allison Umminger
THREE STARRED REVIEWS & a Booklist Read ‘n Rave selection! “Setting her tale against the glittery, gritty backdrop of modern-day Los Angeles, the author deftly weaves together multiple story strands to create a razor-sharp commentary on our culture, observed with keen wit from the perspective of one honest and complex American girl. An insightful, original take on the coming-of-age story, this novel plumbs the depths of American culture to arrive at a poignant emotional truth.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

YOU KNOW ME WELL by Nina LaCour & David Levithan
A powerfully moving story about navigating the joys and heartaches of first love, told in alternating viewpoints through a friendship forged over the course of one fateful pride week in San Francisco. “Popular authors LaCour and Levithan tell their heartfelt story seamlessly in chapters that alternate between Mark’s and Kate’s respective points of view and invite readers’ emotional engagement with these two empathetic teens.” — Booklist

738 DAYS by Stacey Kade
A BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” pick! A young, washed up Hollywood star and a former kidnapping victim form an alliance to revamp his image, but their simple arrangement becomes more complicated when the past resurfaces. “Skillfully weaving Chase’s troubled history into the story, Kade drops just the right amount of humor into the mix of regret, shame, determination, and love.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

LAST NIGHT A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives by Liesa Mignogna
A “Good Morning America” Summer 2016 Must-Read BookAn anthology of essays exploring the origins of bestselling and award-winning authors’ relationships to their favorite superheroes. “This is a collection with a lot of heart and variety; each piece takes the premise in a different direction and unveils in compelling ways why these superheroes are so revered. Soul-searching teens will find these essays ruminating on familiar cultural touchstones particularly illuminating.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Sci-Fi/Fantasy Roundup

These new & forthcoming science fiction & fantasy titles will transport you to another world:

SPELLS OF BLOOD AND KIN by Claire Humphrey
“Human warmth underlies this exciting and furiously paced fable of fur, fangs, and family. Emphasizing intricate family dynamics alongside shape-changing and magic, Humphrey’s debut merges victim and victimizer, reality and the occult. This paranormal tale stands out even in its very crowded field.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE BIG SHEEP by Robert Kroese
Sherlock meets Blade Runner in this novel that explores society’s fascination with celebrity in a futuristic dystopic LA, with a genetically modified sheep in the center of it all. “Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Douglas Adams’s ‘Dirk Gently’ novels will find things to love in Kroese’s latest.” — Library Journal, starred review

TIME SIEGE by Wesley Chu
“In this engrossing sequel to TIME SALVAGER, Chu continues a futuristic saga that pits fugitive time traveler James Griffin-Mars and his allies, who seek to rescue a ravaged Earth from utter destruction, against Valta, the megacorporation that rules the galaxies. The story’s intricate plotting, breathtaking battles, and hefty doses of cruelty, betrayal, sacrifice, courage, and hope culminate in a cliff-hanger that will leave readers longing for the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

INFOMOCRACY by Malka Older
Little Brother meets The West Wing in this “sparkling debut”* high-tech political cyberthriller about a global information monopoly attempting to prevent election sabotage and world war. “This intriguing thought experiment is perfectly timed to leave readers pondering the meaning of voting and representative government in the run-up to the 2016 elections.” — *Publishers Weekly

LAST NIGHT A SUPERHERO SAVED MY LIFE: Neil Gaiman!! Jodi Picoult!! Brad Meltzer!!…and an All-Star Roster on the Caped Crusaders That Changed Their Lives by Liesa Mignogna
An anthology of essays exploring the origins of bestselling and award-winning authors’ relationships to their favorite superheroes. “This is a collection with a lot of heart and variety; each piece takes the premise in a different direction and unveils in compelling ways why these superheroes are so revered.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Happy Belated #BookBday (1/20/16)

We’re a day late to wish these new releases happy #BookBday, but it’s only to keep the party going!

THE THINGS WE KEEP by Sally Hepworth
A January 2016 LibraryReads pick and a February 2016 Indie Next pick! Librarians across the country are gushing over this novel reminiscent of Nicholas Sparks’s THE NOTEBOOK and Lisa Genova’s STILL ALICE about a 38-year-old woman with early onset Alzheimer’s who falls in love with another care home resident. “Sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up.” — Library Journal, starred review

WHAT BELONGS TO YOU by Garth Greenwell
A Kirkus Reviews’ Most Anticipated Book of 2016! Two stars for this literary debut about an American expat living in Bulgaria and the young gay hustler his life intersects with. “This is a project of rare discernment and beauty, and it is not to be missed. A luminous, searing exploration of desire, alienation, and the powerful tattoo of the past.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday

Tuesday might not seem like a day worth celebrating, but an author will tell you otherwise. Once a year (or every other year, or a decade, or a month if you're James Patterson), there's one Tuesday that's more exciting than any other:

The book birthday! 

Today we wish a happy #BookBday to:

NECESSARY LIES by Diane Chamberlain

Bestselling author Chamberlain delivers a breakout book, mining the appalling, little-known history of North Carolina’s Eugenics Sterilization Program, in effect from 1929 to 1975. Called "Absorbing and haunting" (Booklist), and "Socially conscious melodrama at its best” (Kirkus Reviews), NECESSARY LIES is great for "Book groups and fans of Jodi Picoult....” (Library Journal, starred review) and a SIBA Fall 2013 Okra Pick
This debut novel from Finch creates a beguiling, disturbing world about a mysterious man who enters an internationally renowned refuge for writers in exile. In a starred review, Kirkus called it "Satiric, tough and very funny" and Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story says, “Once I got into The House of Journalists I couldn’t leave! In fact, I think I’m still there. Someone please call the fire department. This prose is flammable!”
BITTER RIVER by Julia Keller
Pulitzer Prize-winning author Julia Keller counts Michael Connelly, Dennis Lehane, Scott Turow, Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, and C.J. Box among her fans (talk about great company!). BITTER RIVER is a September Indie Next selection and Michael Connelly said, “BITTER RIVER has an elegiac force to it that is powerful and gripping. I just turned the last page on this one and I want more.”
Kitty Birthday
css.php